Windows Mining

carloscarlsoncarloscarlson Member Posts: 10
Has anyone had any luck with this?

I have been trying to set up a GPU miner for days. I had troubles with my GPU drivers in Ubuntu, so I just did a clean Windows install, only to find that the cpp client seems to be less supported than Ubuntu and OSX?

Should I be using Alethzero, or command line cpp? The guides don't really seem to be up to date.

Comments

  • StephanTualStephanTual London, EnglandMember, Moderator Posts: 1,282 mod
    Hi @carloscarlson , right now the best way to mine going forward on Olympic and Frontier is Geth + Ethminer.
    I've updated my FAQ here: https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/197/mining-faq-live-updates

    Similar instructions should work on Windows. If you encounter a bug however, please raise on the relevant github issue section (https://github.com/ethereum/cpp-ethereum/issues for Ethminer and https://github.com/ethereum/go-ethereum/issues for Geth)
  • carloscarlsoncarloscarlson Member Posts: 10
    Thanks Stephan,

    But the guide is not particularly helpful with Windows.

    I can see one person here that is mining with windows.

    But most of the Windows posts are people seemingly trying to figure it out.

    I have raised questions in the relevant chocolatey github, because the Chocolatey install doesn't work.

    I have also tried the many manual ways to install cpp, but right now geth seems to work, but cpp (particularly ethminer) just doesn't install.

  • StephanTualStephanTual London, EnglandMember, Moderator Posts: 1,282 mod
    @carloscarlson - Future releases of Ethereum will definitely officially support Windows, especially as Go allows for portable client builds across all major operating systems.

    We’d love to support Windows as early as Frontier, and we will likely be releasing windows releases to provide the best support that we can... however we cannot guarantee it.

    Using a workaround such as Virtualbox or Vmware is probably recommended for the time being. As for mining, it is best done on Linux.
  • jesus666jesus666 Member Posts: 62 ✭✭
    Apparently, setting up a PC for mining isn't hard, and definitely not impossible.

    @PascalVerst managed to do it on Windows 7:

    Hi, simply put what I did was:
    https://github.com/ethereum/cpp-ethereum/wiki/Building-on-Windows
    Changed libcurld.dll to libcurl.dll in the ethminer folder

    And followed Stephan 's guide:
    https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/197/mining-faq-live-updates
  • CanaryInTheMineCanaryInTheMine Member Posts: 41

    Thanks Stephan,

    But the guide is not particularly helpful with Windows.

    I can see one person here that is mining with windows.

    But most of the Windows posts are people seemingly trying to figure it out.

    I have raised questions in the relevant chocolatey github, because the Chocolatey install doesn't work.

    I have also tried the many manual ways to install cpp, but right now geth seems to work, but cpp (particularly ethminer) just doesn't install.

    i ran into choco scrip issues too... then i figured out that it was pointinh to an incorrect file name for 7zip exe... then i gave up on it
    right now im battling with geth + ethminer combo so far on win 10 with single 270x gpu it mines for a little bit (under a min) and the driver crashes. mining seizes.
  • CanaryInTheMineCanaryInTheMine Member Posts: 41
    waiting on blockchain download on a win 10 with 5 GPUs. everything is ready to go just waiting on download ...
  • CanaryInTheMineCanaryInTheMine Member Posts: 41
    gave up on downloading... exported the blockchain from another system and imported it instead.
    i got 1 out of the 5 GPUs to mine... attempting to start another ethminer instance specifying next card crashes that specific instance (while the first one keeps hashing away)... so no dice with getting all 5 running on win10
    the error is:
    R6010
    - abort() has been called
    (press retry to debug the application)
    abort, retry,ignore
  • CanaryInTheMineCanaryInTheMine Member Posts: 41
    got it working on win10!! it turns out I needed a new CPU with more cores
  • quantumgravityquantumgravity Member Posts: 13
    How many cores per GPU does a Windows system need?

    Does anyone have this CPU problem on an Ubuntu machine?
  • eupraxiceupraxic Member Posts: 16


    Does anyone have this CPU problem on an Ubuntu machine?

    My mining servers run Ubuntu on single-core AMD Sempron 145 CPUs

    The geth server runs on a two-core VM under Ubuntu
  • TheoCoyneTheoCoyne IowaMember Posts: 6
    The choco install works if you just add 7z to your system PATH variable.
  • AlexNaAlexNa Member Posts: 32
    I managed to start my Windows GPU mining two days ago. It shows about 17MH/s. But I still have not mined a single ETH.... What could be wrong?

    I have the get/ethminer combination. Latency is good. I can see on the network status page (Node: AlexNa). The miner is working constantly on 17MH/s level.

    If the status hash rate is correct (about 1.8GH/s) and if my calculation is right I should mine at least once an hour or even better.

    Any idea?

  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @AlexNa I have roughly the same experience, altough I was testing my CUDA miner rather than the OpenCL one. I did manage to mine 1 block though and two uncle payouts (1 of them on OpenCL).
  • AlexNaAlexNa Member Posts: 32
    @Genoil I am not sure I understand. CUDA is OpenCL from NVIDIA.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited June 2015
    @alexna no, opencl for nvidia is built on top of CUDA.

    - edit -

    Well not really but on the low level OpenCL and CUDA for NVidia are the same.
    Post edited by Genoil on
  • BripsBrips Member Posts: 52
    edited June 2015
    Hello and thanks you Genoil for your work, i have 17,9MH/s with opencl 1.1 with a GTX 970, i'll try with your cuda version when it could be build on ubuntu :) I'm wondering how much i could get :)
    thanks again ! :)
    i think it could be better (the nvidia driver on ubuntu refuse to set the powermizer on level 3 with the mem speed to 7000MHz (under windows, i can have the level 3 :-/)
    i precise that i have remove the 3 second's pause too ;)
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @Brips somebody else tested my CUDA miner on a GTX980 and the result wasn't spectacular, roughly the same speed as OpenCL. On my todo list now first is getting the CMake config right, so you guys can build it for Ubuntu, and after that adding additional kernel tuning parameters so you can achieve maximum thread occupancy depending on the card you use.

    I removed the 3 second pause from my miner as well. With a block time of 9 seconds, it's just throwing away 33% hashing power.
  • ProximusProximus Member Posts: 1
    What I am doing wrong? Please help I stuck on this screen for past 2 days

    C:\Users\Iskren Sabev\Downloads\openclminer\eth_pp_ua-openclminer\ethminer-opencl-0.9.41>ethminer -G --cl-global-work 16384 -F http://pool.eth.pp.ua/[email protected]
    Found suitable OpenCL device [Cayman] with 2147483648 bytes of GPU memory
    miner 07:32:54|main Getting work package...
    miner 07:32:54|main Grabbing DAG for #5197b2a3…
    miner 07:32:55|main Got work package:
    i 07:32:55| Loading full DAG of seedhash: #39238891…
    miner 07:32:55|main Header-hash: e9be4ceaa7bc04e0d39602928ade505950b10f69d7992c70b3ff2a11b9f3ff87
    miner 07:32:55|main Seedhash: 5197b2a3898b31d4d8afb33e2216b2ef6e166b09122e514323701e9af3b09643
    miner 07:32:55|main Target: 00000000b7407f019e46321eec8ab8b6a0c6eaebfd1f307d56ce4e629a098c7c
    i 07:32:55|gpuminer0 workLoop 0 #00000000… #5197b2a3…
    i 07:32:55|gpuminer0 Initialising miner...
    miner 07:32:56|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.5 s
    Using platform: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
    i 07:32:56| Full DAG loaded
    Using device: Cayman(OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1800.11))
    miner 07:32:57|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 1.205 s
    miner 07:32:57|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.592 s
    Printing program log

    Creating one big buffer for the DAG
    Allocating/mapping single buffer failed with: clCreateBuffer(-61). GPU can't allocate the DAG in a single chunk. Bailing.
    clEnqueueWriteBuffer(-38)
    miner 07:32:58|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.595 s
    miner 07:32:59|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.59 s
    miner 07:32:59|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.599 s
    miner 07:33:00|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.592 s
    miner 07:33:00|main Mining on PoWhash #e9be4cea… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.594 s
    miner 07:33:00|main Got work package:
    miner 07:33:00|main Header-hash: 8d95d81de75ef1185e61737ff771dfc3f87bf1b1b90423b7c7ff88f35bdb908a
    miner 07:33:00|main Seedhash: 5197b2a3898b31d4d8afb33e2216b2ef6e166b09122e514323701e9af3b09643
    miner 07:33:00|main Target: 00000000b7407f019e46321eec8ab8b6a0c6eaebfd1f307d56ce4e629a098c7c
  • guntisvitolinsguntisvitolins Member Posts: 24
    Found this on youtube hopefully will help somebody
  • th00berth00ber Member Posts: 213 ✭✭
    How to mine on windows in 1 hour ?

    1- Install windows on HDD/SSD (30min)
    2- Install essential driver if needed (network driver) (5min)
    3- Install GPU driver (10min)
    4- Reboot and finalize installation (5min)
    4- Install MSI AfterBurner and set clock + fan speed of GPU (5min)
    5- Download Geniol or Claymore miner (5min)
    6- Edit .bat file and mining on a pool with payout address on your exchange account (poloniex, bittrex ...) (5min)

    Easy, simple ... no wallet, no peer connection, no blockchain sync issue :)
    If you want to store your coins locally, create a local wallet ... but for a short-term miner that sell or trade, mining on exchange address is easier.
    It's what I do ... and What I have always done for a quick setup in a lot of altcoin (mining since dec 2013)

Sign In or Register to comment.