Mining Stability (nanopool) , gpu0 not detected and gpu 1 not mining

BobpoundmaxBobpoundmax Member Posts: 7
Hello everyone,

Sorry for the long title, but after some research I wanted to be sure that if it happen to someone else he could find some tips in this post.
I've recently mount a rig with H81 Pro BTC R2.0 and six GeForce GTX 1060 6GB, ready to mine some ethereum and other altcoin.
I use ethOS with ethminer.
more info here [http://paste.ethosdistro.com/raw/ihidegipes]

After setting up everything right and double check it , I've started it.
So far it seems to be quite ok but with some problem, It will only detect 5 out of 6 GPU plug on the board (GPU0 is not detected but is working for the display) and only 4 out of the 5 gpu detected are hashing.

I've tried to updade ethOS, check my risers and the powering of cards and riser and everything seems fine.
I've read that it is not adviced to use the SATA powering for the riser , any opinions on that. (I will soon try to power the riser with 4pin from main alimentation.)

Any idea how to solve the detectino and non mining GPU?


Another subject is about the mining stability, My rig is telling me it's mining at 82MH/s but on nanoppol I only got 22 in 2hours SMA and 68MH/s max in peak for calculated hash, any idea what's going on?

Any help is welcomed

Comments

  • BobpoundmaxBobpoundmax Member Posts: 7
    Well, in the end I helped myself.

    For those who encounter some similar problem:
    I've done several things, don't know wich one worked:

    1- Power off the riser and card directly from main alimentation (not sata adaptater)
    2 - Fresh up the local.config, I've deleted all the comment line and kept only what's needed.
    3 - Change of the pool, switch from nanopool to dwdarfpool, I've read that Nanopool is not using the right algo for now

    That leaves me with 5GPU detected out of 6 plugged.
    5GPU minning around 100MH/s on ethOS, I'll be waiting a little bit more to check on Dwarfpool but for now 116.85MH/s calculated by Dwarfpool.

    Remaining problems:
    A - Despite the Hasrate annouced, miner eth are low (around 0.0028 per day)
    B - The first GPU plugged to the mother board is still not detected by EthOS.


  • BobpoundmaxBobpoundmax Member Posts: 7
    Well I will continue to speak tom myself because this subject still has some view.

    Hashrate is now right , with very simple local.conf

    maxgputemp 75
    globalminer claymore
    stratumproxy enabled
    proxywallet 0x41dfafd5a2e7faf3c020cee4be9387ab7621c761
    proxypool1 eth-eu.dwarfpool.com:8008
    flags --cl-global-work 8192 --farm-recheck 200
    globalfan 90
    globalmem 4000 # by default
    dualminer enabled
    dualminer-coin sia
    dualminer-pool sia-eu1.nanopool.org:7777
    dualminer-wallet 10d8737cf8cee678c760429a9d6f8bacc7c4a4d5b0d9aaf9f9b6ec9ca20a87286abd243dfc86
    autoreboot 5
    flags --cl-global-work 8192 --farm-recheck 200
    claymore=flags -dcri 21



    just one thing if like me you use a lot of ssh , use dos2unix /home/ethos/local.conf to ensure your local.conf is right for your system with some reboot should be ok


    I still cannot us my gpu on pci1, I've tried to set up my bios right but didn't suceed
    If anyone has a suggestion I'm all for it (motherboard is H81 Pro btc R2.0 with bios 1.2
  • rmhrmh Member Posts: 410 ✭✭✭
    Check lspci and /etc/X11/xorg.conf.
    H81 Pro btc R2.0 should work with any 6 card. PCIE1 is the x16 slot? Are you using a x1-x16 riser in the x16 slot also?
  • BobpoundmaxBobpoundmax Member Posts: 7
    Hi, pciE1 is the one before the x16 slot. And in the x16slot , I'm not using a x16 riser but it work fine.
    I don't think it is physical
  • BobpoundmaxBobpoundmax Member Posts: 7
    Hello again I've checked Ispci, here is the results
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor PCI Express x16
    Controller (rev 06)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Po
    rt #1 (rev d5)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Po
    rt #2 (rev d5)
    00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Po
    rt #3 (rev d5)
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Po
    rt #4 (rev d5)
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Po
    rt #5 (rev d5)
    00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Po
    rt #6 (rev d5)
    07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gi
    gabit Ethernet Controller (rev 11)
    01:33 PM [email protected] 192.168.1.57 [113.5 hash] /home/ethos # lspci | grep VGA
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] (rev a1)
    03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] (rev a1)
    04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] (rev a1)
    05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] (rev a1)
    06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] (rev a1)



    In /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    I only have 5 gpu

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce GTX 1060 6GB"
    BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device1"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce GTX 1060 6GB"
    BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device2"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce GTX 1060 6GB"
    BusID "PCI:4:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device3"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce GTX 1060 6GB"
    BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device4"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce GTX 1060 6GB"
    BusID "PCI:6:0:0"
    EndSection


    Should I create the 5th device manually?

Sign In or Register to comment.