12x ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Mining System + GPU tweaks

ctp9ctp9 Member Posts: 10
Hi guys,

I'm a computer technician who is new to mining, however - I just built a 12x GPU system (this is what I'm good at). The hardware was funded by my work partner, who rushed me into doing this... and as a result we ended up purchasing ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme cards (Radeons and GTX 1070 were sold out from literally every store we inquired with).

I'd like to ask for advice on how I can increase the hashrates on the GTX 1080... because right now - I'm getting 23 MH/s (which is exactly what these card are supposed to push right out of the box).

It's a little discouraging, to say the least... that such power hungry, bank breaking GPUs are performing so poorly.

My system specs:

ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme [GPU]
Biostar TB250-BTC PRO Ver. 6.x [motherboard]
Intel Celeron G3930 2.90GHz 2MB LGA1151 Kaby Lake [CPU]
Crucial 4GB DDR4 2133 Unbuffered Memory [RAM]
Intel SSD DC S3520 Series (150GB, 2.5in SATA 6Gb/s) [SSD]
EVGA SuperNOVA 1300W G2 ATX 80 PLUS GOLD [PSU]
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G3 ATX 80 PLUS GOLD [PSU]
Windows 10 Pro

My page file is set to Custom Size 16GB. The operating system is bare bones and I haven't overclocked the cards (mind you, this system is generating so much HEAT... that I was reluctant to try to overclock it).

Is MSI Afterburner the preferred solution for improving performance?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Comments

• wirelessnet2wirelessnet2 Member Posts: 385 ✭✭✭
    not really much you can do. Try pushing some memory clocks, and push the power limit back to reduce the voltage. Otherwise, you're stuck with that hashrate. The Ethash algorithm does not run well over GDDR5X latency characteristics. GDDR5 is much better for that purpose. You should try Zcash on those cards, it might be more profitable.
  • ctp9ctp9 Member Posts: 10