Macbook GPU Mining

cphicphi Member Posts: 46
Anyone with a Macbook Pro had any luck GPU mining?
"eth -M -G --opencl-device 0" just returns benchmarks for my CPU.

I have an NVIDIA GeForce GT 650 with 1GB Ram in my Macbook.

Comments

  • jzenjzen Member Posts: 49
    edited May 2015
    Try:

    eth -M -G --opencl-device 1

    Also, 1GB of VRAM might no longer suffice as the DAG has grown over 1 GB.
  • cphicphi Member Posts: 46
    eth -M -G --opencl-device 1
    does the same thing as
    eth -M -G --opencl-device 0

    Do I have to install the NVIDIA development tools or should it work with the default drivers?
  • StephanTualStephanTual London, EnglandMember, Moderator Posts: 1,282 mod
    @cphi - 1GB ram in your GPU won't cut it - it needs 1+GB (that means two in practice) and it needs to be on board memory, not shared with your system like laptop GPUs often have. This is part of the measures to prevent the creation of cost-effective ASICs
  • mcmike313mcmike313 Member Posts: 27
    i just get:
    *P* [ 07:59:42 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    *P* [ 08:00:12 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    do i need to install drivers or something?

  • Michael_AMichael_A LondonMember Posts: 61
    I have a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M 2048 MB
    but eth -M -G --opencl-device 0 or eth -M -G --opencl-device 1 give me the same result
    Benchmarking on platform: 8-thread CPU
    Preparing DAG...
    ℹ 12:56:48|main Loading from libethash...
    ℹ 12:56:48|main Done loading.
    Warming up...
    Trial 1... 117842
    Trial 2... 107190
    Trial 3... 115179
    Trial 4... 118508
    Trial 5... 118175
    min/mean/max: 107190/115378/118508 H/s
    inner mean: 113625 H/s
    Phoning home to find world ranking...
    Error phoning home. ET is sad.

    Doesn't look good :(
  • minerworker2014minerworker2014 Puerto RicoMember Posts: 25
    Is this real ether I'm mining? And where can I check the balance of this account?
    MacBook Pro 2.4ghz i5
    4 gb ram
  • Wil611Wil611 Member Posts: 77 ✭✭
    edited May 2015
    @minerworker2014 - it looks like your client is still synchronizing with the main chain since you're only showing block #6549 the main testnet chain is at block #379114.
  • mcmike313mcmike313 Member Posts: 27
    edited May 2015
    I have the same issue where i am out of sync with the block chain and keep mining new blocks @ block #7200
    Post edited by mcmike313 on
  • minerworker2014minerworker2014 Puerto RicoMember Posts: 25
    But is not real ether right?
  • robertoroberto Member Posts: 2
    is this thread still alive?
  • RiskyFireRiskyFire Member Posts: 18
    I get this on my imac, any ideas?

    eth -M --opencl-device 1

    cropped for easier reading......

    DAG 14:49:21| Generating DAG file. Progress: 100 %
    Warming up...
    Trial 1... 0
    Trial 2... 0
    Trial 3... 0
    Trial 4... 0
    Trial 5... 0
    ⚡ 14:49:44| Terminate worker 4733 ms
    min/mean/max: 0/0/0 H/s
    inner mean: 0 H/s
    Phoning home to find world ranking...
    Lees-iMac:~ Owner$
  • robertoroberto Member Posts: 2



    hi there

    i just get "Abort trap: 6"?

    i'm guessing that's not good!

    any ideas welcome :-)



    ETH-MBPr:eth roberto$ eth -M -G --opencl-device 0
    (++)Ethereum
    Welcome to the Frontier!
    [OPENCL]:Found suitable OpenCL device [Iris] with 1610612736 bytes of GPU memory
    Benchmarking on platform: GPU
    Preparing DAG...
    DAG 16:05:41| Generating DAG file. Progress: 0 %
    DAG 16:05:45| Generating DAG file. Progress: 1 %
    DAG 16:05:50| Generating DAG file. Progress: 2 %

    ...

    DAG 16:13:31| Generating DAG file. Progress: 98 %
    DAG 16:13:35| Generating DAG file. Progress: 99 %
    DAG 16:13:40| Generating DAG file. Progress: 100 %
    Warming up...
    ℹ 16:13:40|gpuminer0 workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
    ℹ 16:13:40|gpuminer0 Initialising miner...
    [OPENCL]:Using platform: Apple
    [OPENCL]:Using device: Iris(OpenCL 1.2 )
    Trial 1... 0
    Trial 2... 0
    Trial 3... [OPENCL]:Printing program log
    [OPENCL]:
    [OPENCL]:Creating one big buffer for the DAG
    [OPENCL]:Loading single big chunk kernels
    [OPENCL]:Mapping one big chunk.
    Abort trap: 6
    ETH-MBPr:eth roberto$ eth -M -G --opencl-device 0
    (++)Ethereum
    Welcome to the Frontier!
    [OPENCL]:Found suitable OpenCL device [Iris] with 1610612736 bytes of GPU memory
    Benchmarking on platform: GPU
    Preparing DAG...
    Warming up...
    ℹ 16:15:24|gpuminer0 workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
    ℹ 16:15:24|gpuminer0 Initialising miner...
    [OPENCL]:Using platform: Apple
    [OPENCL]:Using device: Iris(OpenCL 1.2 )
    [OPENCL]:Printing program log
    [OPENCL]:
    [OPENCL]:Creating one big buffer for the DAG
    [OPENCL]:Loading single big chunk kernels
    [OPENCL]:Mapping one big chunk.
    Trial 1... Abort trap: 6
    ETH-MBPr:eth roberto$
    ETH-MBPr:eth roberto$
    ETH-MBPr:eth roberto$ eth -M -G --opencl-device 0
    (++)Ethereum
    Welcome to the Frontier!
    [OPENCL]:Found suitable OpenCL device [Iris] with 1610612736 bytes of GPU memory
    Benchmarking on platform: GPU
    Preparing DAG...
    Warming up...
    ℹ 16:18:10|gpuminer0 workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
    ℹ 16:18:10|gpuminer0 Initialising miner...
    [OPENCL]:Using platform: Apple
    [OPENCL]:Using device: Iris(OpenCL 1.2 )
    [OPENCL]:Printing program log
    [OPENCL]:
    [OPENCL]:Creating one big buffer for the DAG
    [OPENCL]:Loading single big chunk kernels
    [OPENCL]:Mapping one big chunk.
    Abort trap: 6


    ===

    for anyone curious as to the origins of 'DAG', as i was, click below:

    https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Ethash-DAG
    https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Dagger-Hashimoto
  • DedalusDedalus Member Posts: 6
    Is this thread alive? Did anyone manage to get their GPU online? Stuck at the same point as Michael_A...
  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    @Dedalus The first question would be: how much memory does the GPU have? Then: is it AMD or Nvidia?
  • DedalusDedalus Member Posts: 6
    I'm on a macbook with 2 GPU's - an Intel 1.6gb, and an Nvidia 2gb+. I can list devices from the ethminer command, showing that indeed there are 2 GPU's [0], [1]. However, when I try to specify the device, the second GPU (the one I think can handle the DAG) cannot be found.

  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    @Dedalus Try running the 'clinfo' command (it exist on Windows and linux, not sure about OS X - I don't mine on my laptop) and see what is identified as OpenCl-capable devices. You can also run 'ethminer --list-devices' to see what ethminer thinks are compliant devices on your system.
  • DedalusDedalus Member Posts: 6
    Thank you very much for trying to help. the clinfo command is getting no joy, but the ethminer command is showing that both GPU's are visible..

    Listing OpenCL devices.
    FORMAT: [deviceID] deviceName
    [0] Iris Pro
    CL_DEVICE_TYPE: GPU
    CL_DEVICE_GLOBAL_MEM_SIZE: 1610612736
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_MEM_ALLOC_SIZE: 402653184
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE: 512
    [1] GeForce GT 750M
    CL_DEVICE_TYPE: GPU
    CL_DEVICE_GLOBAL_MEM_SIZE: 2147483648
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_MEM_ALLOC_SIZE: 536870912
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE: 1024

    When I load the command:

    "ethminer -G"

    The first GPU bails with:

    "GPU can't allocate the DAG in a single chunk. Bailing."

    But when I specify the second GPU in the command line:

    "ethminer -G --opencl-device 1"

    something interesting happens, OPENCL picks the 1st GPU anyway..

    [OPENCL]:Found suitable OpenCL device [Iris Pro] with 1610612736 bytes of GPU memory

    but further down in the stack, tries to set the second GPU as well..

    [OPENCL]:Using platform: Apple
    [OPENCL]:Using device: GeForce GT 750M(OpenCL 1.2 )

    then I get a larger stack error:

    [OPENCL]:Using platform: Apple
    [OPENCL]:Using device: GeForce GT 750M(OpenCL 1.2 )
    ℹ 21:21:30.555| Full DAG loaded
    [OPENCL]:ptxas application ptx input, line 5633; error : Call has wrong number of parameters
    ptxas application ptx input, line 8448; error : State space mismatch between instruction and address in instruction 'st'

  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    @Dedalus The GT 750M is an Nvidia GPU. See the CUDA thread on the forum to get the Nvidia version of 'ethminer'. The release version of 'ethminer' only supports AMD GPUs.

    -Best Care
    David
  • DedalusDedalus Member Posts: 6
    Understood thanks David - although having read through the thread, there doesn't seem to be much down for Mac users - do you know if the Nvedia version that is forked form the official actually works on mac?
  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2016
    I think it does, although there are no pre-built binaries; you have to build it from source. (same for Linux, btw).
  • DedalusDedalus Member Posts: 6
    Many thanks for the help David.
Sign In or Register to comment.