Power Consumption Questions and comparisons : 445w with 3 MSI 480s: hashing 80mh/s (stable)

narba88narba88 Member Posts: 85
Hey Guys,

Im new to mining but Ive purchased 8 cards already. I have 3 running right now at home until the rest of the equipment arrives. Im using a kill-o-watt tool to measure my power consumption. I was tweaking the settings while watching the tool spit out the watt usage

I am running: (this is not going to be my build but im waiting for stuff to come in the mail)
i7-4790k 88w
2x 8GB DDR3
Samsung 840 SSD
3x MSI RX 480 Gaming X 4GB
1 EVGA P2 850w
ASrock z97 Extreme4

I'm hashing over 80mh/s constant

My watt measuring tool is telling me 445w give or take a few watts

Is this correct? Does that mean I can run potentially 5 cards on here given the statistics I'm receiving or is my tool measuring wrong? How much can be account for just the system? I don't feel like taking all of the cards out just yet...

Comments

• MrN1ce9uyMrN1ce9uy Member Posts: 190 ✭✭
    What mining program are you using? I know with Claymore Dual-Miner I can disable a GPU by pressing the associated number for it, and by looking at my kill-a-watt it will tell me how many watts it was using after I see how much lower the total watts are.
  • orinityorinity SingaporeMember Posts: 84
    The numbers look fine to me. Are you going to build a new rig when your other GPUs arrive?
  • listmanlistman Member Posts: 51
    Narba88 - 0 to addiction in 3 days LOL
  • narba88narba88 Member Posts: 85
    orinity said:

The numbers look fine to me. Are you going to build a new rig when your other GPUs arrive?

Yes, I have 8 cards now. 3 more on the way. I also came across some motherboards,cpu,ram setups that are ready to go.
  • listmanlistman Member Posts: 51