Sapphire RX 470 Nitro 4Gb Modded Bios for Samsung Memory

digitalsakuraukdigitalsakurauk Member Posts: 1
The Sapphire RX 470 Nitro 4Gb seems to be using the new Samsung Memory,has anyone released a modded bios for this?
«13

Comments

  • CalivetCalivet Member Posts: 194 ✭✭
    So they are no longer hynix? hmm.....You can search the forums. If you can't find your answer, You can pm me a copy of your bios. I can mod it and you can flash it to your card and try it out. Please remember to save a copy of your bios from atiwinflash or atiflash. Do not save a copy of your bios from GPUz!
  • fredeqfredeq Member Posts: 42
    If its samsung, then you can easily use PBE to do it?
  • Zorg33Zorg33 Member Posts: 220 ✭✭
    edited December 2016
    So i just heard about these new 4GB samsung 470s. What are the results so far? More overclockable than hynix/elpida or the best option is still the 1500 timing @ around 1950, giving 27-28mh?

    It would be interesting to see if it can be run above 2000mhz or not.
  • dddrgonzooodddrgonzooo Member Posts: 145 ✭✭
    I just got one in yesterday. Stock runs the same as my 470 nitro 8gb with Samsung memory (about 24.5 mh/s). I won't be able to test yet due to a busy schedule, but I read on bitcointalk to copy the timings from 1750 to 1900 and 2000, then set the tdp to 100. I'll report back when I have time to test it.
  • sicktrickysicktricky Member Posts: 4
    got a fix. no internet helped me. well its not that hard. guys just take the 1625 strap instead of the 1500 and copy. the timing are too tight on Samsung. you are welcome. it will hash as far as i have tested the same as hynix (oc'd)
  • HelloWorldHelloWorld Member Posts: 8
    edited December 2016
    Rx 470 4G, 1625--->2000 1150,2050 29.1Mh (Samsung mem) -10(offset)
  • Zorg33Zorg33 Member Posts: 220 ✭✭
    Nice.
    So its more similar to samsung 8gb than to hynix/elpida

    30+ mh possible with 1750 strap and 2100+ Mhz?
  • HelloWorldHelloWorld Member Posts: 8
    Zorg33 said:

    Nice.
    So its more similar to samsung 8gb than to hynix/elpida

    30+ mh possible with 1750 strap and 2100+ Mhz?

    Yes, just try it, 1750 str. 1200/2150 30.1
  • sicktrickysicktricky Member Posts: 4
  • HelloWorldHelloWorld Member Posts: 8
    just set, looks stable. at 0.98 cv.
  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    edited December 2016
    been running these samsung chip RX470 for 2 weeks. 1625 strap

    Best setup for ETH

    1150/2100 @ 950mV = FAILED (unstable) = GIVING almost 30MH
    1150/2050 @ 950mV = OK (some chip might not be able to do this) 29.6MH
    1150/2025 @ 930mV = Stable 29.3MH
    1150/2000 @ 930mV = Super Stable 29MH
  • prodigy2006prodigy2006 Member Posts: 15
    do we know how to tell if its a batch of cards with samsung memory on it? is there a way to tell without taking the fans off or plugging the card into computer to read memory brand with GPU-Z?
  • sicktrickysicktricky Member Posts: 4
    some cards are open and you can see the actual chips. it will say Samsung or otherwise. closed cooling you will have to GPUZ
  • prodigy2006prodigy2006 Member Posts: 15
  • hvalentinohvalentino Member Posts: 105

    Rx 470 4G, 1625--->2000 1150,2050 29.1Mh (Samsung mem) -10(offset)

    @cscheat
    guys please help me trying to understand straps... so all I need to do is copy 1625 settings and paste it on 2000 only or all the way to 2000? thanks!


  • dddrgonzooodddrgonzooo Member Posts: 145 ✭✭
    edited December 2016
    @hvalentino For my samsung 470 I copied the 1750 strap to only the 2000, then 1200/2150 and I get a solid 29.8
  • hvalentinohvalentino Member Posts: 105

    @hvalentino For my samsung 470 I copied the 1750 strap to only the 2000, then 1200/2150 and I get a solid 29.8

    thanks bud!
  • EdvinEdvin Member Posts: 13
    edited December 2016
    Hey guys.

    Every one here is talking of one or 2 things, and mostly only for the Mem Strap. But why does not any one talk about the Max watt for GPU and memory, max clock, max temp, ect.. i mean this settings in the bios modification.
    I think that only changing the mem straps isn't enough. So could someone give the hole setup, with a screenshot would be nice, and the results in the end. Thnx.
    I have an RX 470 4GB Saphire Nitro+ OC with Samsung memory.

    "if you are interested, i have another card with Elpida Memory, and i am using Sony 87 Bios Mode:
    - 1360/2100Mhz on the GPU/Mem
    - 105-110Watt use in ETH and 95-100Watt in Zcash
    - 55-60c temps (SemiOpened Case)
    - 50-60% fan speed
    - 30.5MH/s in ETH and 230H/s in Zcash
    - 24/7 from 4 November and never crashed
  • hvalentinohvalentino Member Posts: 105
    Edvin said:

    Hey guys.

    Every one here is talking of one or 2 things, and mostly only for the Mem Strap. But why does not any one talk about the Max watt for GPU and memory, max clock, max temp, ect.. i mean this settings in the bios modification.
    I think that only changing the mem straps isn't enough. So could someone give the hole setup, with a screenshot would be nice, and the results in the end. Thnx.
    I have an RX 470 4GB Saphire Nitro+ OC with Samsung memory.

    "if you are interested, i have another card with Elpida Memory, and i am using Sony 87 Bios Mode:
    - 1360/2100Mhz on the GPU/Mem
    - 105-110Watt use in ETH and 95-100Watt in Zcash
    - 55-60c temps (SemiOpened Case)
    - 50-60% fan speed
    - 30.5MH/s in ETH and 230H/s in Zcash
    - 24/7 from 4 November and never crashed

    Can you tell me please what OS and software that you use? I have Windows 8 with the latest software from amd and also claymore latest version and always crashed... please help me!
  • alex_beridzealex_beridze Member Posts: 19
    edited December 2016
    Hello my friends what is a part number Sapphire Nitro RX470 4gb with samsung memory?
  • EdvinEdvin Member Posts: 13

    Edvin said:

    Hey guys.

    Every one here is talking of one or 2 things, and mostly only for the Mem Strap. But why does not any one talk about the Max watt for GPU and memory, max clock, max temp, ect.. i mean this settings in the bios modification.
    I think that only changing the mem straps isn't enough. So could someone give the hole setup, with a screenshot would be nice, and the results in the end. Thnx.
    I have an RX 470 4GB Saphire Nitro+ OC with Samsung memory.

    "if you are interested, i have another card with Elpida Memory, and i am using Sony 87 Bios Mode:
    - 1360/2100Mhz on the GPU/Mem
    - 105-110Watt use in ETH and 95-100Watt in Zcash
    - 55-60c temps (SemiOpened Case)
    - 50-60% fan speed
    - 30.5MH/s in ETH and 230H/s in Zcash
    - 24/7 from 4 November and never crashed

    Can you tell me please what OS and software that you use? I have Windows 8 with the latest software from amd and also claymore latest version and always crashed... please help me!
    Hello. I am using win 7 64Bit, with AMD driver V. 16.10.2 beta. And i always use the latest versions of Claymore's miner for ETH and Zcash. This week i am using Nicehash, cos it is more confortable but it is a bit slower than Claymore's.
    I suggest you update to windows 10 and try again, or at least do a total removal of the drivers with DDU and install again.
    Another suggestion i give is that to undo any OC to the card.
  • EdvinEdvin Member Posts: 13

    Hello my friends what is a part number Sapphire Nitro RX470 4gb with samsung memory?

    why do you need this info???
    what can you do with it on mining coins???
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 329 ✭✭✭
    Edvin said:

    Hello my friends what is a part number Sapphire Nitro RX470 4gb with samsung memory?

    why do you need this info???
    what can you do with it on mining coins???
    he's trying to buy one with Samsung instead of Hynix or Elpida, most likely. He doesn't get that it doesn't change with part number.
  • squatsquat Member Posts: 4

    Hello my friends what is a part number Sapphire Nitro RX470 4gb with samsung memory?

    A wild guess but... Maybe if you can physically check the retail packaging...
    Again, I'm not sure it means anything at all.

  • alex_beridzealex_beridze Member Posts: 19
    Thank you bro... i must buy at the online shop. at our market is not locally this card....
  • alex_beridzealex_beridze Member Posts: 19
    do anyone know links where i can bought this card at reasonable price?
  • dddrgonzooodddrgonzooo Member Posts: 145 ✭✭
    @alex_beridze You can order from amazon with purse.io and name your discount.
  • alex_beridzealex_beridze Member Posts: 19
    edited December 2016
    @dddrgonzooo thank you
    Post edited by alex_beridze on
Sign In or Register to comment.