SSD necessary?

geraldbaeckgeraldbaeck Member Posts: 2
Hi,

I am fairly new to mining and I wonder if it is really necessary to use an SSD for mining. It would be cheaper to use an USB stick or an old magnetic harddisk. so what's the reasoning behind using SSDs?

thx, Gerald

Comments

• bbcoinbbcoin Member Posts: 377 ✭✭✭
    good thinking, I use USB3.0 sticks for all my rigs. SSD is a waste of money.
  • BalgunBalgun Member Posts: 29
    People use SSD´s because they are fast, quite cheap now and energy efficient.
    If you are fine with an usb stick, go for it.
  • garrett92895garrett92895 Member Posts: 39
    I use USBs on my Windows (using Windows to Go) rigs because they are cheaper and also less clutter than a hard drive.
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 591 ✭✭✭
    ssd, if I had to wait 1min between reboots tweaking and blue screening the box would be a nightmare.

I do most of mine remotely and ping the box while working on it so I know when its gone down, with using SSD I lose only 3 pings on a reboot, which is quite amazing really. This also means even if it were to reboot for any reason mining will start much quicker...time is money :)
  • mine_ethmine_eth Member Posts: 45
    Im gonna revive this thread by asking if its better to go for a kingston v300 60gb ssd, or any other HDD for that matter?

Which one is gonna be more reliable?
  • jsanzspjsanzsp Member Posts: 195 ✭✭
    The ones that you use windows of the go, how much memory ram you have installed? Tried using it with my rigs 6gpu and 4gb of ram and told me that I had insufficient memory for run claymore

I use USBs on my Windows (using Windows to Go) rigs because they are cheaper and also less clutter than a hard drive.

• breathesumetherbreathesumether Member Posts: 20
    jsanzsp said:

The ones that you use windows of the go, how much memory ram you have installed? Tried using it with my rigs 6gpu and 4gb of ram and told me that I had insufficient memory for run claymore