Need some help to begin mining

Yaseeny15Yaseeny15 Member Posts: 4
Hi everyone
I am new to ethereum mining and to this community.
I am hoping that someone may help me out with a few things.
1.) So basically I have got a MSI GeForce GTX980. According to their website they say this can reach speeds of 1200MH/s is this correct? Is this the speed it will be mining at?
2.) I have used the guide on the following site to setup my miner https://cryptocompare.com/mining/guides/how-to-mine-ethereum/Is this guide correct and still viable or are there better ways to do it. I am currently syncing the blockchain.
3. Should I go at it alone or join a mining pool?

I thank you in advance for your help and please excuse me if I made any newbie mistakes with wording etc.

Comments

• mine_ethmine_eth Member Posts: 45
    Yaseeny15 said:

Hi everyone
    1.) So basically I have got a MSI GeForce GTX980. According to their website they say this can reach speeds of 1200MH/s is this correct? Is this the speed it will be mining at?
    2.) I have used the guide on the following site to setup my miner https://cryptocompare.com/mining/guides/how-to-mine-ethereum/Is this guide correct and still viable or are there better ways to do it. I am currently syncing the blockchain.

I thank you in advance for your help and please excuse me if I made any newbie mistakes with wording etc.

I am not that experienced to answer all of your questions, but what I can tell you for sure is that you will not be mining at 1200 MH/s with that card! In fact, I am not even sure that you can hit 10MH/s
  • Yaseeny15Yaseeny15 Member Posts: 4
    mine_eth said:

Yaseeny15 said:

Hi everyone

I am not that experienced to answer all of your questions, but what I can tell you for sure is that you will not be mining at 1200 MH/s with that card! In fact, I am not even sure that you can hit 10MH/s
    Thank you for your input and honesty
  • retherrether Member Posts: 258 ✭✭