How can you modify a contract after its creation?

Hello,

I read "How to make a contract updatable" post but my question is less technical and more general. I hired coders to work on my project and as a non coder I am trying to come up with the system architecture of how my DAO will actually work. I apologize in advance if I am posting in the wrong area or my prerequisite reading is missing a great deal. As an eager enthusiast I am trying to read as much as I can as quickly as I can :) or if this question has already been answered somewhere else please correct me / direct me to some links.

My logic tells me that a contract cannot be modified by its creator after it is created without the risk that a malicious creator could disadvantage the principle participants. How can you be sure that the modifications are provably fair and more beneficial to the participants? If you can't modify a contract after its created how could you fix bugs or mistakes in the contract code?

I would like to create a DAO and this DAO will create a pool of insurance funds. My concept is that there will be the need of several different modules in order to collect premiums and pay out claims. Perhaps any of these modules might need to be tweaked or fixed to improve their function.

My current plan is to create a core contract which appears in the app store that has very few lines of code and is coded as carefully as possible but which calls and relys on other sub contract modules. This is the contract that would hold all the premiums and from which claims would be paid as well as holding the database of participants thus modifying its code after people have started using the DAO / DAPP would be avoided if at all possible. But the subcontract modules which perform various tasks from solving shelling point problems to holding the logic for how claims are paid out I could modify because those contracts are not directly connected to the principle participants.