CJLWMiningCJLWMining Member Posts: 9
Hi Community :) ,
I ran into a Problem while building my ETH mining rig. Setup:

4 x XFX Radeon RX480 Black edition
Equipped with (as of yet) 3 x Artic Accelero Hybrid III 140mm
Asus P10S WS
Intel i3 6100
1000W BeQuiet! Dark power Pro
Kingston HyperX fury 8Gb DDR4 something or other (I believe this is not important)

While doing some initial test runs, one of the cards gave out and I received a BSOD with "Thread_stuck_in_device_driver_error". Since then I cannot get windows going, with the card plugged in and drivers installed (it works with generic Windows drivers or in safe mode). I am confused about the fact, that the card itself isn't ignored at start up, and the rest of the hardware would keep going. Even the internal GPU doesn’t work when the card is plugged in.
The Microsoft Bug Check Website about the Error message is too specific for me as I am not a programmer.

Before this, the Mboard was already showing CPU over voltage error, which I ignored since all seemed fine in CPU-Z.

I reran the miner with the three remaining GPUs. In the night (coincidentally around the same time as the other one) the PC caved and another GPU showed similar symptoms. Surprising result: This time around, the GPU with the stock fan was the problem, causing me to believe that there is something wrong with either the PSU, the Mboard, or the miner (Up to this point, I blamed overheating of one of the VRMs or VRAMs in the GPU). Another weird thing: The second broken card continued to work for about a day in my old PC. When it stopped, it still worked in the second PCIe slot, but without any display output (I could access windows through TeamViewer, but the card was not recognised as a display adapter in windows’ device manager). Now I am properly confused about the whole thing.