ethOS / Ubuntu ETH/ETC Auto-Switch script anyone?

cascadia_coincascadia_coin Member Posts: 67
edited August 2016 in Mining
As it is, with both ETC and ETH being volatile I was wondering if anyone has come up with something to help us miners mine whatever is most profitable?

For instance: Has anyone come up with a script to check a site like WhatToMine.com and then based on whichever currency is most profitable to automatically change local.conf to one of two configs (one set up for mining ETH or one for ETC).

I'm not a coder but I imagine the process would be something like this

1. Check WhatToMine - determine whether ETH or ETC is more profitable.
2, If the current currency is unchanged from the last time the script checked then do nothing. If it has changed then proceed to steps 3-7.
3. If ETH is more profitable save a copy of local-eth.conf as local.conf / If ETC is more profitable save a copy of local-etc.conf as local.conf
4. Stop mining with command: disallow
5. Remove the DAG with command: rm -f /home/ethos/.ethash/full*
6. Restart the proxy with command: restart-proxy
7. Allow mining with command: allow
8. Wait a specified time (30 mins? 1 hour? 2 hours? 3 hours? 1 day?)
9. Repeat step 1.

Any thoughts on how to do this in a script?

Comments

• ihacksihacks Member Posts: 61
    Theoretically this is possible, if you setup a cron job(ex each 1h) to do a curl on https://www.whattomine.com/coins.json and parse the JSON response to reach the "profitability" of each coin(ETH vs ETC) and then do what you've said on steps 3-7...I could do that but I'm too lazy to do it, and after that to share for free :wink:
  • atorrenteatorrente Member Posts: 47
    @cascadia_coin
    great idea !
    but i think you should check between all the ethash coins (eth, eth and exp)
    the profitability on exp is not bad and the hashrate is higher because exp are at epoch #10 (smaller dag )
    check yoursel ;)
  • cascadia_coincascadia_coin Member Posts: 67
    atorrente said: