Help, 10-15k dollar mining farm.

ZanderMZanderM Member Posts: 86
edited August 2016 in Mining
I took a loan of 125 000 NOK - 15000 ish usd.

I am thinking of creating a mining farm, do you think it's a good idea?

I have the space, power, and cooling capability.
Power is extremely cheap, around 0.01-0.02 KW/h ($)

I have some experience with mining, currently I have 2 rigs.

Rig 1: 6x 7970
Rig 2: 4x rx 470 4gb

I have a job to pay down the loan, so I'm not required to succeed.

What equipment should I buy?
Prices are a little different in Norway.
rx 470 4gb = 245usd
rx 470 8gb = 300usd
rx 480 4gb = 300usd
rx 480 8gb = 350usd

I'm thinking of buying
32 rx 470
8 mobo's
8 ssd's
8 ram sticks
8 cpu's
PSU's I'm not quite sure how many, or what quality to buy.

Then use the rest for shelving and cooling

Any thoughts?
Post edited by ZanderM on

Comments

• nathannnathann Member Posts: 72
    ZanderM said:

Who takes a loan out before figuring out if 'its a good idea'??????????
    Regardless, there are worse things you can invest in.

You wont have any luck being able to buy 470/480's for a while in large quantities and as you said power is cheap, id go and buy a truck load of 390's.
  • ZanderMZanderM Member Posts: 86
    edited August 2016
    nathann said:

ZanderM said:

Who takes a loan out before figuring out if 'its a good idea'??????????
    Regardless, there are worse things you can invest in.

You wont have any luck being able to buy 470/480's for a while in large quantities and as you said power is cheap, id go and buy a truck load of 390's.
    I will have no problem buying big quantities of 470/480's I have also arranged a volume discount, I will get around 8% off if i buy 30+ of them.
  • newmznewmz AustraliaMember Posts: 299 ✭✭✭