PSA: RX480 and unpowered risers (exceeds 75w ATX spec)

2»

Comments

• HarryBoyHarryBoy Member Posts: 1
    Hi guys. I tried to run 3 x Sapphire RX480s last night on an Asus P8P67 Pro motherboard (from i7-2600K days).

Using either unpowered PCIEx16 risers, powered PCIEx16 risers, or the fancy powered USB cable risers, I was unable to get anything other than 1 of the cards working. Sometimes I would get lockups in Windows, or endless reboot cycles.

After a few hours, I tried the cards directly in the PCIEx16 slots (no risers). This is working well. However, the main point was to use powered risers to avoid drawing too much power thru the motherboard.

I am using a 1600W Enermax power supply (something I had lying around from mining a few years ago). Has anyone else had problems with risers and the RX480 ? I have no history with this motherboard and multiple GPUs on risers, so I have no previous experience to go by.
  • Marvell9Marvell9 Member Posts: 593 ✭✭✭
    dlehenky said:

What I don't get is that the rx 480, a 14 nm process chip, is drawing as much power as the Nano, which is 28 nm process chip. It should have been a slam-dunk for AMD to get *magical* power reduction numbers for the rx 480, but apparently not. I can only assume, at this point, that the rx 480 represent AMD's first-pass effort at moving to the 14 nm chip process, and as such, the chip design is anything but optimized for the new process. In other words, it appears to me that the rx 480 is a "let's get something out the door quick" offering, and doesn't show anything near what can be accomplished on a robust/mature 14 nm process chip design. I'd call it a rev 0.9 type effort, if that.

Die shrink does not automaticlaly = lesser power. The newer chips actually pack far more silicon into a smaller area and the new chips are more powerful by a factor of 3 than the old 28nm chips.