.json file extraction

comdcomd Member Posts: 2
Hi
I'm new to this. I have bought ether in the sale but don't know what to do with the .json files. I'm more used to downloading wallets.
Help with this would be appreciated..thanks

Best Answer

Answers

• DaruhshieDaruhshie Member Posts: 3
    comd said:

Hi
    I'm new to this. I have bought ether in the sale but don't know what to do with the .json files. I'm more used to downloading wallets.
    Help with this would be appreciated..thanks

I would also love to have a simple walk through of what I should expect, see and or do. I've bought 1 BTC worth of ETH through the website, downloaded the ethereal client (?) because I thought this was the wallet, waited and waited and did get an email with a ethereum_wallet_backup.json but now what? The blockchain indicates the BTC was send to the provided address, I have an Ethereum address how can I check what is actually in the wallet file? I never received a wallet.json file through the website (which I would presume would contain the private key to the 2000 ETH) or was able to download it (I was using firefox). The explanation of how to check via python scrypts in the trouble shoot section are methods a little over my head, Please advise.
    avsa said:

You don't do anything with the .json file. You store it and wait for the actual code to be released, sometime in the northern winter.

Hi Avsa, thank you for your reply. So untill then there is no easy way to check there is actually something like 2000 Ether fuel units reserved of which my per mail received json file is the key?
  • BittBurgerBittBurger Member Posts: 7
    Instructions were given on the screen when you purchased the Ether.

You have to sit and wait at least 10 minutes to 1 hour for 6 confirmations. While that was happening, this was on the screen:

Step 6: Download your wallet