relational vs distributed database

jskyjsky Member Posts: 8
When i was looking into distributed databases, this article came up:
http://www.sarahmei.com/blog/2013/11/11/why-you-should-never-use-mongodb/
which basically concluded that if your data is relational, it is alot better to choose a traditional rdb over a document store.
Is this problem the same with ethereum and blockchains in general?
Wouldn't this effect the ease of programming a social network and other apps on ethereum.
Would it be easy enough in ethereum to create "queries" on a directed graph?
I understand the benefits of decentralisation and distribution, but im trying to outweigh potential cost in implementation.
I am new to Ethereum so if i have overlooked something please inform me. Thanks.

Comments

• StephanTualStephanTual London, EnglandMember, Moderator Posts: 1,282 mod
    edited July 2014
    Moving you to general discussion because this a good question and is on-topic :)
  • jskyjsky Member Posts: 8
    edited July 2014
    The article i quoted was abit old and didnt return to graphDb's:

"But what are the alternatives? Some folks say graph databases are more natural, but I’m not going to cover those here, since graph databases are too niche to be put into production. Other folks say that document databases are perfect for social data, and those are mainstream enough to actually be used. So let’s look at why people think social data fits more naturally in MongoDB than in PostgreSQL."
    The article later concludes document stores are not as useful as relational db.

After watching a webinar on Neo4j i'm confident that graph db's are more useful here and can be scaled. Companies such as Foursquare have done it. (another potential graphdb is http://thinkaurelius.github.io/titan/) but i havent looked further at this one yet.
    Neo4j seems to be the leader still.