Novice Ethereum / Dapp Question

eaks77eaks77 Member Posts: 11
Hello everyone,

I've been involved in ethereum for the past couples months mining.... and I hate to admit, I'm not sure I fully understand the intent of Ethereum and Dapps. I'm hoping to understand more with the communities help.

Just some background... I am not a developer, coder, engineer... etc. I understand computers and tech well enough, but i'm lost when it gets to the back end.

BUT... I am currently in the process of creating a company revolving around an application and web based software. Everything right now is hosted and ran through a server. We will eventually need to upgrade to a Virtual Private Server or to a designated / private server. What I'm interested in... is how Ethereum can play a part in this? Is ethereum like a cloud based network, but supported by miners? Can I somewhat eliminate the server and run my app on Ethereum? If i actually understand that correctly... what are the advantages and disadvantages?

I've looked up other apps that run on the ethereum network and they're very focused around ethereum. My app/software is geared towards a specific industry to optimize operational efficiencies.

I look forward to your feedback. Thanks!

Comments

• eaks77eaks77 Member Posts: 11
    I'll take it from the silence that i'm clearly out to lunch!.........?
  • HippoClipHippoClip Member Posts: 16
    You could think of ethereum as a distributed system to replace a cloud server. However, you probably would not want to do general computation using an ethereum contract like you would a normal server in the cloud. This would be inefficient and probably rather expensive.