Should ether contracts have GUIs? I'm a UI designer and here's why I don't think so.

avsaavsa Member Posts: 68 ✭✭
This discussion was inspired by comments from @Stephan_Tual? in two other recent posts so I though I'd put here because I really want to see what other people believe is the future of Etherum and the reference clients.

http://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/751/so-i-designed-a-concept-ui-for-the-alephzero-client
http://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/711/web-components-marketplace-for-ethereum-ui-markup

The question is either Smart contracts should, in the future, have UI information. I see mainly two ways this could evolve:

* Ether contracts start having more code related to UI and how to present the information to the final user. New GUI elements are created and can be reused. Ethereum evolves into a whole decentralized OS.

* Contracts have information on what commands they accept and what's the data format or options each command takes. Ether provides the apis, and data for the backend of any app, in any platform. Clients can use whatever native OS code they prefer, and use Ether as the cloud api, a decentralized always persistent network.

I truly believe the second one is by far a better approach. First, because it's simpler and isn't a boil the ocean kind of approach. You don't need to implement custom interface elements, reinvent the browser, recreate 30 years of GUI code from multiple platforms.

Also, it promotes a separation of code in the Data/Model/Controller layer and the View/Interface layers. This creates cleaner and easier to maintain code.

Finally, it allows UI to flourish and Ether to be future proof. A OS built for the desktop isn't necessarily good for tablets and smartphones, and a mobile OS might not be good for wearables, robots or microwaves. OS's and interface needs change and separating Ether as just the data api we allow it to flourish in any platform.