Why you SHOULD NOT MINE Ethereum now with more rigs

Comments

• ddfm1781ddfm1781 Member Posts: 9
    I dont think we will see 30% increases every month.
  • Marvell9Marvell9 Member Posts: 593 ✭✭✭
    Fk the Irs lol
  • thesmokingmanthesmokingman Member Posts: 152 ✭✭
    edited April 2016
    dlehenky said:

@thesmokingman We'd like to hear what the CPA has to say on the ETH part. :) Self-emplyoyment tax (FICA+) is paid on wages/salaries, i.e. earned income, not capital gains. I was a self-emplyed consultant for years. If you have your mining business set up in such a way that the business pays you a wage to oversee the operation, then you would pay self-emplyment tax on those wages. If mining ETH is an investment in ETH, another way of acquiring that asset, and you're going to pay cap gains, then you wouldn't pay self-employment tax, just as you wouldn't if you were trading stocks in your pajamas. That's been my experience, anyway.

@dlehenky Just got back from talking with my CPA/Tax Attorney. He only had a chance to read the first 3 pages of the IRS ruling from the link below, so take this with a grain of salt. From what he was able to read, miners who are running their operation as a business, must record the value of the coins on the day they are paid out (since you aren't rewarded for your efforts until you are paid like with any business). Whatever the sum of your payouts are each day is what you will be taxed on. So in essence you are taxed each time you receive a payout from the mining pool at whatever the value of the coin is at that point in time. This requires a spreadsheet to be maintained documenting every payout and the current exchange rate. That's not the crazy part.