Pos your overclock stats and results

anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
I have

1 rig MSI 280x XFX2x280x at 1135/1575 with normal core voltage and power limit
1x390 at 1190/1700 with 75+ core voltage and +50 power limit
I have Antec 1300w Platinum

Second rig is XFX 5x280x at 1135/1575 with normal core voltage and power limit
Another Antec 1300w Platinum

Can I boost more the rigs with this psus?

Comments

  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2016
    My Sapphire R9 290 cards run at 1120mhz core, and stock 1250mhz memory clocks. -25mv undervolt. They run a modified BIOS with less ROPs then stock and modified timings. Each 5 card rig puts out 155MH/s.

    I wouldn't overclock your memory for ethash mining, it doesn't provide any benefit.
  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    edited March 2016
    work said:

    My Sapphire R9 290 cards run at 1120mhz core, and stock 1250mhz memory clocks. -25mv undervolt. They run a modified BIOS with less ROPs then stock and modified timings. Each 5 card rig puts out 155MH/s.

    I wouldn't overclock your memory for ethash mining, it doesn't provide any benefit.

    So I have to overclock? The mhz core or the memory clock not?
    Can I more overlock than I have ?
  • AlBoKaAlBoKa Member Posts: 11
    r9 380 strix from asus... from 990 to 1250mhz core.. but NO higher hashrate .... i dont understand this ..
  • chasewdchasewd Member Posts: 25
    AlBoKa said:

    r9 380 strix from asus... from 990 to 1250mhz core.. but NO higher hashrate .... i dont understand this ..

    I found that overclocking the 380 with ethminer still running causes the hash rate not to update. Stop ethminer, overclock, then start ethminer again.

    I was getting 21MH/s at 1100/1500 on my XFX 380
  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    chasewd said:

    AlBoKa said:

    r9 380 strix from asus... from 990 to 1250mhz core.. but NO higher hashrate .... i dont understand this ..

    I found that overclocking the 380 with ethminer still running causes the hash rate not to update. Stop ethminer, overclock, then start ethminer again.

    I was getting 21MH/s at 1100/1500 on my XFX 380
    For mining is important up the mhz core right? Not the memory?
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭

    For mining is important up the mhz core right? Not the memory?

    For ethash mining, yes. Other algorithms this is not true. But for ethereum mining, memory clock doesn't seem to matter.
  • 3esmit3esmit Member Posts: 23
    HD 7950 18.5 overclocked in MSI afterburner.

  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    Don't listen to work, he provides alot of false information.


    Memory clock is more important then engine clock with ETH mining because its memory intensive.

    You should overclock the memory as much as you can. However if you have Elpida memory then you might not be able to overclock because they are worse chips. But Hynix and Samsung are good for overclocking.

    Google your brand and model and try to read reviews about your card, whatever overclocking speeds they specified for engine and memory set those to your card.

    According to http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013/10/28/msi_r9_280x_gaming_video_card_review/3#.VvdFzuIrLR0

    You can run it at 1500Mhz for memory

  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    adaseb said:

    Don't listen to work, he provides alot of false information.


    Memory clock is more important then engine clock with ETH mining because its memory intensive.

    You should overclock the memory as much as you can. However if you have Elpida memory then you might not be able to overclock because they are worse chips. But Hynix and Samsung are good for overclocking.

    Google your brand and model and try to read reviews about your card, whatever overclocking speeds they specified for engine and memory set those to your card.

    According to http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013/10/28/msi_r9_280x_gaming_video_card_review/3#.VvdFzuIrLR0

    You can run it at 1500Mhz for memory

    Mine already is at 1575 is this a problem?
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2016
    adaseb said:

    Don't listen to work, he provides alot of false information.

    Memory clock is more important then engine clock with ETH mining because its memory intensive (storage vs r/w operations).

    You should overclock the memory as much as you can. However if you have Elpida memory then you might not be able to overclock because they are worse chips. But Hynix and Samsung are good for overclocking

    ... this guy...

    Ethash is not very memory intensive... there is a huge difference between using lots of memory and being memory intensive.

    Please provide ANY evidence of overclocked RAM increasing hashrate for ethash mining. At least on Hawaii chips, you can DOWNCLOCK your RAM and get exactly the same hashrates. Only core clock matters.

    @anonymous95 just experiment, see what your cards can manage while remaining stable, and see what increases your hashrate. Each card is different and can handle different clocks at different voltages.
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭

    adaseb said:

    Don't listen to work, he provides alot of false information.


    Memory clock is more important then engine clock with ETH mining because its memory intensive.

    You should overclock the memory as much as you can. However if you have Elpida memory then you might not be able to overclock because they are worse chips. But Hynix and Samsung are good for overclocking.

    Google your brand and model and try to read reviews about your card, whatever overclocking speeds they specified for engine and memory set those to your card.

    According to http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013/10/28/msi_r9_280x_gaming_video_card_review/3#.VvdFzuIrLR0

    You can run it at 1500Mhz for memory

    Mine already is at 1575 is this a problem?
    They got it running at 1550Mhz for memory. So you are pretty much at the memory limit.

    6200 is 1550
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    work said:

    adaseb said:

    Don't listen to work, he provides alot of false information.

    Memory clock is more important then engine clock with ETH mining because its memory intensive (storage vs r/w operations).

    You should overclock the memory as much as you can. However if you have Elpida memory then you might not be able to overclock because they are worse chips. But Hynix and Samsung are good for overclocking

    ... this guy...

    Ethash is not very memory intensive... there is a huge difference between using lots of memory and being memory intensive.

    Please provide ANY evidence of overclocked RAM increasing hashrate for ethash mining. At least on Hawaii chips, you can DOWNCLOCK your RAM and get exactly the same hashrates. Only core clock matters.

    @anonymous95 just experiment, see what your cards can manage while remaining stable, and see what increases your hashrate. Each card is different and can handle different clocks at different voltages.
    If by overclocking you get a slower speed its because you have Elpida memory.

    I have a few Gigabyte 7950 some have Elpina and some Hynix and there is a big difference. About 2MH/s worth between the memory chip manufacteur.
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2016
    @adaseb Googling overclocking results and just throwing those on your card is amazingly bad advice... You could use them as a base line and work up that range, but... You can't be serious? Every card is different.
    You sound like a full blown troll.

    And about memory clock mattering... see @3esmit 's results above - he's downclocked memory from 1250mhz stock (presuming a reference/non-OC card) to 867mhz.

    You're even wrong about elpida vs hynix/samsung... they aren't "worse chips" at all. Sure, they often don't overclock as well, but they are capable of tighter timings, which often matters more.

    I'm slightly in disbelief you are spreading such complete and utter nonsense and then saying I give false information lol. Troll... So... Real...
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    @work

    lol.

    You are too funny.
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2016
    Overclocking RAM may actually decrease hashrate because you'll be using a higher mem timing strap. Changing your RAM clock will init a strap change. On hawaii, most BIOS have these strapping:

    - 150-400MHz
    - 401-800MHz
    - 801-900MHz
    - 901-1000MHz
    - 1001-1125MHz
    - 1126-1250MHz
    - 1251-1375MHz
    - 1376-1500MHz
    - 1501-1625MHz
    - 1626-1750MHz

    By moving above 1250 on Hawaii cards, you'll probably lose a bit of hashrate with Ethash because the timings are increased.

    On Tahiti (280X for example), the relevant straps are
    800 MHz (401-800 MHz)
    1000 MHz (801-1000 MHz)
    1375 MHz (1001-1375 MHz)
    1550 MHz (1376-1550 MHz)

    So, 1375mhz or 1000mhz mem clocks are probably optimal for a 280X with Ethash (maybe even 800mhz, would need testing). Great example looking at memcopy on a HD 7970 (Tahiti ofc):

    AFR Memory Timings (1500MHz strap): 23,8299 MB/s
    AFR Memory Timings (1250MHz strap): 25,7351 MB/s

    That's right, memory performance increases with lower clockrate and optimized timings thru a modified BIOS.
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    3esmit said:

    HD 7950 18.5 overclocked in MSI afterburner.

    I have the same card. Set it to

    AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series (:0.5)
    engine clock 1000MHz, memory clock 1575MHz, core voltage 1VDC, performance l
    evel 2, utilization 93%


  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    work said:

    Overclocking RAM may actually decrease hashrate because you'll be using a higher mem timing strap. Changing your RAM clock will init a strap change. On hawaii, most BIOS have these strapping:

    - 150-400MHz
    - 401-800MHz
    - 801-900MHz
    - 901-1000MHz
    - 1001-1125MHz
    - 1126-1250MHz
    - 1251-1375MHz
    - 1376-1500MHz
    - 1501-1625MHz
    - 1626-1750MHz

    By moving above 1250 on Hawaii cards, you'll probably lose a bit of hashrate with Ethash because the timings are increased.

    On Tahiti (280X for example), the relevant straps are
    800 MHz (401-800 MHz)
    1000 MHz (801-1000 MHz)
    1375 MHz (1001-1375 MHz)
    1550 MHz (1376-1550 MHz)

    So, 1375mhz or 1000mhz mem clocks are probably optimal for a 280X with Ethash (maybe even 800mhz, would need testing). Great example looking at memcopy on a HD 7970 (Tahiti ofc):

    AFR Memory Timings (1500MHz strap): 23,8299 MB/s
    AFR Memory Timings (1250MHz strap): 25,7351 MB/s

    That's right, memory performance increases with lower clockrate and optimized timings thru a modified BIOS.

    So If that is right with 1200 at mem clock will get more hashes than 1700 mem clock?
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    edited March 2016

    work said:

    Overclocking RAM may actually decrease hashrate because you'll be using a higher mem timing strap. Changing your RAM clock will init a strap change. On hawaii, most BIOS have these strapping:

    - 150-400MHz
    - 401-800MHz
    - 801-900MHz
    - 901-1000MHz
    - 1001-1125MHz
    - 1126-1250MHz
    - 1251-1375MHz
    - 1376-1500MHz
    - 1501-1625MHz
    - 1626-1750MHz

    By moving above 1250 on Hawaii cards, you'll probably lose a bit of hashrate with Ethash because the timings are increased.

    On Tahiti (280X for example), the relevant straps are
    800 MHz (401-800 MHz)
    1000 MHz (801-1000 MHz)
    1375 MHz (1001-1375 MHz)
    1550 MHz (1376-1550 MHz)

    So, 1375mhz or 1000mhz mem clocks are probably optimal for a 280X with Ethash (maybe even 800mhz, would need testing). Great example looking at memcopy on a HD 7970 (Tahiti ofc):

    AFR Memory Timings (1500MHz strap): 23,8299 MB/s
    AFR Memory Timings (1250MHz strap): 25,7351 MB/s

    That's right, memory performance increases with lower clockrate and optimized timings thru a modified BIOS.

    So If that is right with 1200 at mem clock will get more hashes than 1700 mem clock?
    Honestly, just try it and report back the hashrate here.

    But I had to set my memoryclock as high as possible to get the best hashrate for Ethminer.

    All my 7950/7970/280x have a mem clockrate around 1500-1575Mhz and they all get around 20-22MH/s or so.

    At 1250Mhz memory clock I got like 17MH/s
  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    adaseb said:

    work said:

    Overclocking RAM may actually decrease hashrate because you'll be using a higher mem timing strap. Changing your RAM clock will init a strap change. On hawaii, most BIOS have these strapping:

    - 150-400MHz
    - 401-800MHz
    - 801-900MHz
    - 901-1000MHz
    - 1001-1125MHz
    - 1126-1250MHz
    - 1251-1375MHz
    - 1376-1500MHz
    - 1501-1625MHz
    - 1626-1750MHz

    By moving above 1250 on Hawaii cards, you'll probably lose a bit of hashrate with Ethash because the timings are increased.

    On Tahiti (280X for example), the relevant straps are
    800 MHz (401-800 MHz)
    1000 MHz (801-1000 MHz)
    1375 MHz (1001-1375 MHz)
    1550 MHz (1376-1550 MHz)

    So, 1375mhz or 1000mhz mem clocks are probably optimal for a 280X with Ethash (maybe even 800mhz, would need testing). Great example looking at memcopy on a HD 7970 (Tahiti ofc):

    AFR Memory Timings (1500MHz strap): 23,8299 MB/s
    AFR Memory Timings (1250MHz strap): 25,7351 MB/s

    That's right, memory performance increases with lower clockrate and optimized timings thru a modified BIOS.

    So If that is right with 1200 at mem clock will get more hashes than 1700 mem clock?
    Honestly, just try it and report back the hashrate here.

    But I had to set my memoryclock as high as possible to get the best hashrate for Ethminer.

    All my 7950/7970/280x have a mem clockrate around 1500-1575Mhz and they all get around 20-22MH/s or so.

    At 1250Mhz memory clock I got like 17MH/s
    yeah I was with the same problem and there is the reason I boost my 390 at 1700
    If you try something new with some commands tell us what happend!
    and another question I see in other thread and ask about it:

    What are doing these commands?
    setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
    export GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT=100

    I am only with these
    setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
    setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
    setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2016
    If you're running a stock BIOS on your cards, the memory straps are probably very poorly configured.

    @anonymous95 you want to use a memclock at the top of a strap. You need to examine your card's BIOS to determine the straps for sure, but the ranges I posted above are true for most cards.
  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    work said:

    If you're running a stock BIOS on your cards, the memory straps are probably very poorly configured.

    Is the stock bios yes what bios i have to put and how?
  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    work said:

    If you're running a stock BIOS on your cards, the memory straps are probably very poorly configured.

    Is the stock bios yes what bios i have to put and how?
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    Honestly, the only type of modifications most people do to the bios is to reduce the voltage or increase the voltage.

    Never heard of anyone doing anything like MemoryClock Strap Tweaking.

    There is no option even in the vbios editor to do such a thing. So unless "work" wants to post a bios for someone to test out, just ignore him.

    Either way you can't really go too much past 21.5-22.0MH/s on most 7950/7970/280X cards.

  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    edited March 2016
    adaseb said:

    Honestly, the only type of modifications most people do to the bios is to reduce the voltage or increase the voltage.

    Never heard of anyone doing anything like MemoryClock Strap Tweaking.

    There is no option even in the vbios editor to do such a thing. So unless "work" wants to post a bios for someone to test out, just ignore him.

    Either way you can't really go too much past 21.5-22.0MH/s on most 7950/7970/280X cards.

    Thats exactly what I am getting with my 280x rig 22mhs per card
    And whats mean undervold the card?
    Is this doing with the MSI afterburner?
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭

    adaseb said:

    Honestly, the only type of modifications most people do to the bios is to reduce the voltage or increase the voltage.

    Never heard of anyone doing anything like MemoryClock Strap Tweaking.

    There is no option even in the vbios editor to do such a thing. So unless "work" wants to post a bios for someone to test out, just ignore him.

    Either way you can't really go too much past 21.5-22.0MH/s on most 7950/7970/280X cards.

    Thats exactly what I am getting with my 280x rig 22mhs per card
    And whats mean undervold the card?
    Is this doing with the MSI afterburner?
    Some you can but most are voltage locked and you have to modify the bios. If you dont pay for electricity then just leave it the way it is, because if you undervolt too much it will crash more often.
  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    adaseb said:

    adaseb said:

    Honestly, the only type of modifications most people do to the bios is to reduce the voltage or increase the voltage.

    Never heard of anyone doing anything like MemoryClock Strap Tweaking.

    There is no option even in the vbios editor to do such a thing. So unless "work" wants to post a bios for someone to test out, just ignore him.

    Either way you can't really go too much past 21.5-22.0MH/s on most 7950/7970/280X cards.

    Thats exactly what I am getting with my 280x rig 22mhs per card
    And whats mean undervold the card?
    Is this doing with the MSI afterburner?
    Some you can but most are voltage locked and you have to modify the bios. If you dont pay for electricity then just leave it the way it is, because if you undervolt too much it will crash more often.
    I pay for electicity and you?
    Do you know some home method do not pay and get electricity?
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    @anonymous95 is that a serious question, lol? Stolen power by meter bypass... "borrowing" power from someome else... using the office... etc.
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    edited March 2016

    adaseb said:

    adaseb said:

    Honestly, the only type of modifications most people do to the bios is to reduce the voltage or increase the voltage.

    Never heard of anyone doing anything like MemoryClock Strap Tweaking.

    There is no option even in the vbios editor to do such a thing. So unless "work" wants to post a bios for someone to test out, just ignore him.

    Either way you can't really go too much past 21.5-22.0MH/s on most 7950/7970/280X cards.

    Thats exactly what I am getting with my 280x rig 22mhs per card
    And whats mean undervold the card?
    Is this doing with the MSI afterburner?
    Some you can but most are voltage locked and you have to modify the bios. If you dont pay for electricity then just leave it the way it is, because if you undervolt too much it will crash more often.
    I pay for electicity and you?
    Do you know some home method do not pay and get electricity?
    If you are a home owner then you have to pay for electricity. No legal ways around that.

    You can try undervolting them to save some power and less heat. But right now even if you pay like 0.10KWH power will only cost you like 40-50 cents a day, so you can worry about this later.

  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    work said:

    @anonymous95 is that a serious question, lol? Stolen power by meter bypass... "borrowing" power from someome else... using the office... etc.

    I mean legal method :D
  • anonymous95anonymous95 Member Posts: 248
    adaseb said:

    adaseb said:

    adaseb said:

    Honestly, the only type of modifications most people do to the bios is to reduce the voltage or increase the voltage.

    Never heard of anyone doing anything like MemoryClock Strap Tweaking.

    There is no option even in the vbios editor to do such a thing. So unless "work" wants to post a bios for someone to test out, just ignore him.

    Either way you can't really go too much past 21.5-22.0MH/s on most 7950/7970/280X cards.

    Thats exactly what I am getting with my 280x rig 22mhs per card
    And whats mean undervold the card?
    Is this doing with the MSI afterburner?
    Some you can but most are voltage locked and you have to modify the bios. If you dont pay for electricity then just leave it the way it is, because if you undervolt too much it will crash more often.
    I pay for electicity and you?
    Do you know some home method do not pay and get electricity?
    If you are a home owner then you have to pay for electricity. No legal ways around that.

    You can try undervolting them to save some power and less heat. But right now even if you pay like 0.10KWH power will only cost you like 40-50 cents a day, so you can worry about this later.

    I will try something when I go to my Village
Sign In or Register to comment.