Solo Mining vs Pool mining

SmooveSmoove Member Posts: 6
I am getting about 180 Mh/s should I be solo mining or pool mining? if so which pool is the best for this rate?

Comments

• samsam San FranciscoMember Posts: 9
    It depends. Can you manage a geth node and keep it running? If so, solo mining should yield higher rewards.
  • cduchesnecduchesne Member Posts: 3
    I am solo mining and find it a bit exciting to see blocks come through every 3-5 days. I actually mined 2 blocks on Sunday (1 was an uncle though). My hashrate is ~45 Mh/sec.

What sam said is accurate... I do have to maintain my own geth server, which isn't too hard, although waiting between payouts makes me question if everything is working right. At 4x my hashrate, you should be getting a block every day or so though!
  • rush9119rush9119 Member Posts: 3
    Is it better for a complete noob to settle on pool mining?
  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod
    @rush9119 Solo mining has the highest returns, it's just a head game waiting for the first block to come in and confirm your setup
  • suryawonosuryawono Member Posts: 63
    I have no luck with solo mining, i switch back to pool mining
  • descartedescarte Member Posts: 25
    u have to prepare to pay for the price with solo. it is very demoralising when u spend days and u dont get anything.
    And then it's just as demoralizing when when Dwarf pool glitches and take 99% and leave you the 1% fee.
  • philakonephilakone Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    edited March 2016
    Here's my two cents my friend.