Teach me and you can teach anyone!

Hello People!
Please excuse my lack of knowledge and understanding of Ethereum and probably crypto currencies in general for that point. I am a good old fashioned manual labourer, a traditional carpenter by trade. I would say i am fairly switched on, no academic genius but i don't think i miss much. I am a musician, a songwriter, i sculpt, and i'm pretty good at general Maths etc but i certainly am missing a trick here! I began to educate myself on BTC about a year or so a go, and although i kind of get that, i really am struggling with this. So if anyone kind of feels like trying to help a lay-man understand this somewhat exciting movement, i am all ears, and i am sure my entrepreneurial, inquisitive mind can come up with something outside of the box, and help those of you with the knowledge to better communicate that to us 'standard-breed' Many thanks! ;-)

Comments

• StephanTualStephanTual London, EnglandMember, Moderator Posts: 1,282 mod
    Well, in a very quick nutshell:

When you use facebook, a bank or dropbox you basically agree to 'trust' them with your data or your funds.

For example, when you put money in the bank, you don't think about it, but what you're actually doing is trusting the bank to not: a) steal your money b) lose your money.

When you upload a file on dropbox you trust dropbox developers to a) not give your documents to the government b) not to read your documents

In fact, when you give this is a bit of thought, it's very scary: absolutely every service we use today is based on implicit trust. And more often than not, an awful lot is at stake without having any view as to what was put in place to protect your money or your privacy.