Long Term Planning and DACs

One critical flaw in shareholder-controlled corporations is that they have a strong attractor to short-term profits at the expense of long-term growth and stability. As a foresight consultant I typically find most corporations completely unable to think or plan more than two years ahead. How can we avoid this phenomenon with DACs? Or, to flip it around, how can a DAC reward long-term strategic thinking among its shareholders?

Comments

• LeanLean Member Posts: 28 ✭✭
    Good point Karl. We have to look on smart-contracts and the blockchain as possible solutions for long-term vs. short-term.

Also, I think DACs maybe will have a different mentality. Maybe short-term and long-term will have not all the sense they have today... who knows? I'll keep an eye on the first DACs and hope to create and experiment with one soon.
  • RussRuss Member Posts: 4
    @Karl_Schroeder

Perhaps in the economy of decentralize organization, users could gain extra "corp-coins" if they plan projects in the far future--and successfully tie mini-projects to that end-objective?
    I can imagine a whole mini-economy of time and influence "corp-coins" developing as a significant part of the operations of future corporations...
  • giannidalertagiannidalerta Miami, FLMember Posts: 76 ✭✭✭
    Different Vesting Periods? Time released shares?
  • Karl_SchroederKarl_Schroeder Member Posts: 37 ✭✭