CUDA miner

1222325272869

Comments

  • DavBEDavBE Member Posts: 26
    @kenshirothefist @syaoran99 why don't you create another user, and run ethminer as this second user ?

    @Genoil a little bit off topic but anyways : my gtx750ti doesn't perform very well mining ether as you know. You said that other coins were more interesting for these gpus, would you mind telling me which ones ?
  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73
    @DavBE I'm aware of this solution, but it's really lame. Adding an option to ethminer to use specific DAG file folder location shouldn't be that hard, true, @Genoil?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @kenshirothefist @syaoran99 there used to be this --datadir option that you could use to specify an alternative directory for DAG files. I don't know where and when that went. Maybe it's time to bring it back.
  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73
    Genoil said:

    @kenshirothefist @syaoran99 there used to be this --datadir option that you could use to specify an alternative directory for DAG files. I don't know where and when that went. Maybe it's time to bring it back.

    @Genoil that would be great ... bring it back and surprise us with a new binary release ;) Thanks!
  • syaoran99syaoran99 Member Posts: 204
    Genoil said:

    @kenshirothefist @syaoran99 there used to be this --datadir option that you could use to specify an alternative directory for DAG files. I don't know where and when that went. Maybe it's time to bring it back.

    I think many people would appreciate it very much if that could happen! :D Currently i'm only able to mine on one card instead of two and it's very slow. :(
  • syaoran99syaoran99 Member Posts: 204
    @DavBE

    I managed to get the second instance to work! Thanks a lot! Didn't know it was this simple.

    @Genoil
    Thanks a lot for the help so far too! is 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d your ETH address?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2016
    @DavBE it varies from time to time. I would suggest you follow this well-known thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=826901. For example there's a lot of talk about VNL at the moment. And if they're not talking about the best coins to mine with Nvidia, they usually troll and flame about stealing eachother's code or endlessly debate about donations vs. selling private kernels. Very amusing from time to time.

    @syaoran99 yes it is.

    @kenshirothefist I'll see if I can add that for 1.0.2. (meh, too much boring c++ code, I'm skippign it ;)) I'm just wrapping up some code that lets you benchmark against different DAG files.
    Post edited by Genoil on
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2016
    1.0.2 is up, binaries here: https://github.com/Genoil/cpp-ethereum/blob/master/releases/ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.0.2.zip

    oh crap. the binaries don't have opencl enabled. will fix that. fixed.

    Changes:
    - You can add a blocknumber after -M and -S flags to benchmark against the DAG file that matches the given block: ethminer.exe -U -M 2000000 will first create the DAG that will be used when the blockchain hits 2000000 (it will take quite a while, just be patient) and then show the hashrate you will get by then.
    - disabled phonehome by default because nobody is listening anyway.

  • seifer48seifer48 Member Posts: 14
    @Genoil New build seems pro. 1-3MH/s improvement on each gpu I've tested with so far! Thanks! Tip inc!
  • davidrentaodavidrentao Member Posts: 60
    edited February 2016
    @Genoil ,"You can add a blocknumber after -M and -S flags to benchmark against the DAG file that matches the given block: ethminer.exe -U -M 2000000 will first create the DAG that will be used when the blockchain hits 2000000 (it will take quite a while, just be patient) and then show the hashrate you will get by then. ",

    what's mean of if using -M hits 2000000, it's effect of hahrate going up?
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @seifer48 compared to 1.0.1? Impossible, nothing was changed in the mining code.

    @davidrentao no just diagnostics.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @seifer48 compared to 1.0.1? Impossible, nothing was changed in the mining code.

    @davidrentao no just diagnostics.
  • seifer48seifer48 Member Posts: 14
    edited February 2016
    @Genoil Couldn't tell you what version. I was using the build that you had posted on page 1 of the Chunky Miner thread. All I know is going from whatever version that was to this build has made all 3 gpu's I've used it on increase their hashrate by ~1-3MH/s avg and their temperatures by ~3-5C
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @seifer48 the builds in the Chunky Miner thread were badly broken, so it's good you've upgraded. I have only begun with a proper versioning system after I had fixed that bug.

    But it's good you got more hash now and thanks for the tip!
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2016
    1.0.3 is up.

    Changes:
    - added cmd line option (-R [path-to-dir] or --dag-dir [path-to-dir]) to specify alternate DAG storage directory. This can be useful if you want to run multiple instances of ethminer with different configurations on the same rig. I.e. mixed CUDA/OpenCL mining. Or if your C:\ tends to run full.

    Example:

    ethminer.exe -U -R D:\Ethereum\DAG -F ...

    I haven't been able to test this on Linux, but it should be fine.

    Win64 binaries here:
    https://github.com/Genoil/cpp-ethereum/blob/master/releases/ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.0.3.zip?raw=true
  • davidrentaodavidrentao Member Posts: 60
    @Genoil, please let me know which DAG storage is best to running? it's meaning is we can make specify DAG by self and it's running by MOD DAG?
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    @Genoil
    Ran the 1.0.2 overnight. Can say that the rig is up from 48 to 50 Mh/s. Only ran it on one rig and you can see the pic below (hopefully I do it correct.) It is rig 2 in he pic but notice with the higher speed it gets less shares than the older version running which is ethminer20150902a.

    I see you just released 1.0.3


  • davidrentaodavidrentao Member Posts: 60
    antonio8 said:

    @Genoil
    Ran the 1.0.2 overnight. Can say that the rig is up from 48 to 50 Mh/s. Only ran it on one rig and you can see the pic below (hopefully I do it correct.) It is rig 2 in he pic but notice with the higher speed it gets less shares than the older version running which is ethminer20150902a.

    I see you just released 1.0.3


    what's cards your miner? very high hash rate of your cards.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    edited February 2016
    @davidrentao

    rig 1 is 1 970 and 2 960's
    rig 2 is 1 970 and 3 960's

    I guess decent for Nvidia cards.

    Edit 6 of 7 cards are EVGA's
  • davidrentaodavidrentao Member Posts: 60
    antonio8 said:

    @davidrentao

    rig 1 is 1 970 and 2 960's
    rig 2 is 1 970 and 3 960's

    I guess decent for Nvidia cards.

    Edit 6 of 7 cards are EVGA's

    ok, i c.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2016
    @antonio8 thanks for testing. Sept. 2, 2015 is quite a while ago :). Do you know if the pool you are mining to sets a different share difficulty based on hashrate? That would explain the decrease in shares. If not, then I would have to trace through all the changes since then, to see what's causing the lower share rate.

    @davidrentao I'm having diffculties understanding what you mean. The --dag-dir option could be useful for big farms. You could for instance run Linux with ethminer off a USB stick and point --dag-dir to a network share.
  • antonio8antonio8 Member Posts: 44
    @Genoil
    Not sure about how the pool runs. It's Dwarf Pool so I am pretty sure they do.

    I just wanted to test the miner out to see how it does.

    The rig one is on the Sept release. I wanted to compare to see how they did.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    edited February 2016
    @antonio8 so what you ideally would need to do is to run 02092015 for an hour and note the share count, then change to 1.0.3 and run for an hour again. Or, to save an hour of time, pull a 960 from rig 2 so they should get similar hashrate and therefore similar shares.
  • davidrentaodavidrentao Member Posts: 60
    Genoil said:

    @antonio8 thanks for testing. Sept. 2, 2015 is quite a while ago :). Do you know if the pool you are mining to sets a different share difficulty based on hashrate? That would explain the decrease in shares. If not, then I would have to trace through all the changes since then, to see what's causing the lower share rate.

    @davidrentao I'm having diffculties understanding what you mean. The --dag-dir option could be useful for big farms. You could for instance run Linux with ethminer off a USB stick and point --dag-dir to a network share.

    ok, i understand your words now.
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    any feature requests for 1.0.4? You can't say:

    - more hashrate
    - fix for slow hashing on win8/10
  • crsminercrsminer Member Posts: 75
    Maybe hash/card, as in ccminer? :)
  • kangjooekangjooe Member Posts: 2
    edited February 2016
    Genoil said:

    any feature requests for 1.0.4? You can't say:

    - more hashrate
    - fix for slow hashing on win8/10

    sir, if you can make a bit better hashrate per card (i'm using 970+win 7) i think that would be the best :D
    also... maybe you can give some color in hash just like ccminer so we can see it more clearly?

    also... do you know why suprnova pool show up and down for my hasrate? sometime it's show 8, then 18, then 22, then 26, then back to 8.... meanwhile the miner show constant number between 17.9 to 18.6 to 19.2 in repeat. i try other pools like eth.pp.ua and it give fix hashrate in 18 mH/s. i mining about 8 hours a day and get around 0.17 ether, is this correct?
    Post edited by kangjooe on
  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73
    Genoil said:

    any feature requests for 1.0.4? You can't say:

    - more hashrate
    - fix for slow hashing on win8/10

    @Genoil, the 1.0.3 release works great, thanks for adding the --dag-dir, here a small donation for you: 0x888bd0dc13b0444ad5a5a67b3e8ee254def07e35a36629bed9b11d684ae1b401 (approx 35 eths).

    Regarding the 1.0.4 wishlist:
    - GPUs monitoring (display hash/temps/vents per card, the possibility to set gpu threshold for auto-disable on overheat, etc.)
    - RPC API (get hash total/per card, etc.)
    (btw: I can live without all of this stuff, but it would be fun to have it ;) )

    Keep up the good work!
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @kenshirothefist thanks a lot, much appreciated! You know this all goes into my Pascal GP100 fund so ultimately it's a good investment for anybody ;)
Sign In or Register to comment.