Fail to create my first contract

JohnZhangJohnZhang Member Posts: 4
I am new to Ethereum, and following the guide in ethereum website step by step to setup and try.

Now I am blocked in create the first greeter contract...
I use the online Solidity compiler, https://chriseth.github.io/browser-solidity/, to compile the sample greeter contract, and get the content from "Web3 deploy" field in the right.
Then type in the following in geth console:
> var _greeting = "Hello from John";
it prompted "undefined"

> var greeterContract = web3.eth.contract([{"constant":false,"inputs":[],"name":"kill","outputs":[],"type":"function"},{"constant":true,"inputs":[],"name":"greet","outputs":[{"name":"","type":"string"}],"type":"function"},{"inputs":[{"name":"_greeting","type":"string"}],"type":"constructor"}]);
it prompted "undefined"

> var greeter = greeterContract.new(
_greeting,
{
data: 'the compiled data...',
gas: 3000000
}, function(e, contract){
console.log(e, contract);
if (typeof contract.address != 'undefined') {
console.log('Contract mined! address: ' + contract.address + ' transactionHash: ' + contract.transactionHash);
}
});
Then it asked me to input passphrase, after it, it prompted "Account is now unlocked for this session."
After this, it again prompted "undefined", but not the expected "Contract mined! address: .............."

Could you please help tell me what's wrong? many thanks!

Best Regards

John

Comments

• JohnZhangJohnZhang Member Posts: 4
    As indicated in https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/3455/how-to-use-online-solidity-compiler

It is resolved by merge the 2 contracts in tutorial into 1, and then it went well.
  • silly_nsilly_n Member Posts: 7
    Is the Greeter tutorial even (still) valid?

After I deploy it (greeterContract.new) and mine it, I never seem to be able to get greeter.address ... it is always undefined.
    However, I do see contractAddress via web3.eth.getTransactionReceipt???