What can my Crap-hardware do?

Hi guys,

I'm new to the topic of crypto-currencies and I've been reading quite a bit over the last few days and several questions came up of which the most important is the aforementioned one: What is possible with an Asrock G31m-gs, a Intel E5200 Dual Core, running at 2.3 Ghz, and a Geforce 9400gt.

- Is the geforce 9400gt capable of mining (ANYTHING)?
- --> mainly for learning, I'm planning to update after Christmas( I thought one or two geforce 750ti would be a good idea) (they cost ~130€ in germany)
- As The MoBo does not do any work, I'd first upgrade the Graphics Card (and add another one) and change the MoBo later on, correct?
- I won't have to pay for Electricity

I'm a student and not one of those whose parents are super rich, so I'm on a budget.

I'm not hoping to become rich via mining (why would I be so naive?), certainly not, with what is affordable for me, but I like the conept of decentralization and anonymity. (banks are not generally bad, but I've learned that people who want my money are not of the good kind! :-D)

My Machine is:

Linux Mageia 5 (should be nearly up-to-date, haven't worked on it for a few days ...)
--> I'm open for alternatives, as long as it's not Windows --> sadly enoguh, I have Windows on my Laptop for games etc.
Intel E5200
Geforce 9400gt
4gb Ram
AsRock G31m-GS

Thanks in Advance,
I hope these questions are not too naive/dumb and I'll receive answers :-D

best wishes,
karanda

Comments

• ethereumnickethereumnick Member Posts: 49
    Me too. I want to set up a FreedomBox with Etherium running and I want to add to the security of the network. I'm not even that bothered if I don’t mine anything as long as I know that my mining power is helping to secure the system against fraud. Will running it on crappy hardware (more like an old Pentium with no Graphics card) help support the system at all?
  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod