what subjects would give me a better understanding of ethereum?

frequencypusherfrequencypusher Member Posts: 1
Hi, I don't have a technology background, but I'm about to enter into school for it. What subjects should i study to have a well rounded foundation to be involved with ethereum?
thanks.

Comments

• 0b10n30b10n3 Member Posts: 1
    Hi frequencypusher this suggestion is considering that a basic topic will be bitcoin and blockchain.. and the MOOC DFIN-511 of the university of nicosia will be a good foundation, about ethereum please someone give us more information , I'm a beginner also.
  • jesus666jesus666 Member Posts: 62 ✭✭
    Computer networking, security, cryptography, general programming stuff (OOP, functional, best practices etc.). Most of this stuff would likely be covered by any CS major in most decent universities.

Don't focus on that too much. If you want to work with this tech, then start playing with it today. Try and deploy someone else's smart contract. Send transactions and make calls to it. Try building your own contract. There's plenty of examples all over the web. You'll realise, most of what makes a good soft. engineer is the simplest ability to google (and read!) ;)
  • roz303roz303 Member Posts: 66
    I'd say, at the very least, take a course on object-oriented programming. But I highly recommend a Computer Science major. Not only will it give you insight to Ethereum and computer programming, but it'll open up a LOT of career opportunities as a side result :wink:

And I'd like to second Jesus666's suggestion of playing with it today - deploying contracts, sending and calling them, and building your own. Even if you don't have a programmer's background, there are plenty of tutorials that'll go through and explain a contract line by line enough to introduce you to contract programming. The language I prefer, Solidity, actually isn't as different as normal programming with Java/Javascript, so there's another side result...