ethminer benchmark = 0 hashes on both CPU & GPU !

TechnologovTechnologov Member Posts: 102 ✭✭
The problem happens on this host, but not on my other host.

[email protected]:~/cpp-ethereum/build$ ethminer/ethminer -V
ethminer version 0.9.38
Build: Linux/g++/JIT/RelWithDebInfo

[email protected]:~/cpp-ethereum/build$ ethminer/ethminer -G -M
[OPENCL]:Found suitable OpenCL device [Hawaii] with 4110417920 bytes of GPU memory
◇ 19:25:47|ethminer #00004000…
Benchmarking on platform: GPU
Preparing DAG...
...
DAG 19:23:38|ethminer Generating DAG file. Progress: 98 %
DAG 19:23:47|ethminer Generating DAG file. Progress: 99 %
DAG 19:23:55|ethminer Generating DAG file. Progress: 100 %
Warming up...
ℹ 19:23:56|gpuminer0 workLoop 0 #00000000… #00000000…
ℹ 19:23:56|gpuminer0 Initialising miner...
[OPENCL]:Using platform: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
[OPENCL]:Using device: Hawaii(OpenCL 2.0 AMD-APP (1729.3))
Trial 1... 0
Trial 2... [OPENCL]:Printing program log
[OPENCL]:
[OPENCL]:Creating one big buffer for the DAG
[OPENCL]:Loading single big chunk kernels
[OPENCL]:Mapping one big chunk.
0
Trial 3... 0
Trial 4... 0
Trial 5... 0
[OPENCL]:Creating buffer for header.
[OPENCL]:Creating mining buffer 0
[OPENCL]:Creating mining buffer 1
min/mean/max: 0/0/0 H/s
inner mean: 0 H/s
Phoning home to find world ranking...

[email protected]:~/cpp-ethereum/build$ ethminer/ethminer -C -M
◇ 19:25:54|ethminer #00004000…
Benchmarking on platform: CPU
Preparing DAG...
Warming up...
Trial 1... 0
Trial 2... 0
Trial 3... 0
Trial 4... 0
Trial 5... 0
⚡ 19:26:20|ethminer Terminate worker 257 ms
min/mean/max: 0/0/0 H/s
inner mean: 0 H/s
Phoning home to find world ranking...

Comments

  • hangabershangabers Member Posts: 63
    use geth to mine using the cpu, and use ethminer to mine GPU. geth will mine on top of ethminer.
  • TechnologovTechnologov Member Posts: 102 ✭✭
    The question is -- why in benchmark mode, without geth, ethminer gives me 0 hashes in both GPU and in CPU mode ?
  • credsXXCcredsXXC Member Posts: 7
    In the first terminal window:

    geth --rpc console

    In a second terminal window:

    ethminer -G

  • EniacEniac Member Posts: 3
    I have what sems like the same problem: ethminer gives "0 hashes" in CPU mining mode, and the cores are not busy. This is my command line:

    ethminer -F http://eth1.nanopool.org:8888/e2d3843535c3b626290289b0ca4302f26eca9c54

    There are no errors, everything looks good, except it says 0 hashes and the CPU is not busy:

    miner 02:19:37|ethminer Getting work package...
    miner 02:19:37|ethminer Grabbing DAG for #f2e59013…
    miner 02:19:43|ethminer Got work package:
    miner 02:19:43|ethminer Header-hash: fb39b2404086fe0b1ed9ad1d23f07e512c141f9f31f76a84a92c1b6eb7c5d074
    ℹ 02:19:43|ethminer Loading full DAG of seedhash: #582b0644…
    miner 02:19:43|ethminer Seedhash: f2e59013a0a379837166b59f871b20a8a0d101d1c355ea85d35329360e69c000
    miner 02:19:43|ethminer Target: 00000000dbe6fecebdedd5beb573440e5a884d1b2fbf06fcce912adcb8d8422e
    miner 02:19:43|ethminer Mining on PoWhash #fb39b240… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.5 s
    ℹ 02:19:49|ethminer Full DAG loaded
    miner 02:19:49|ethminer Mining on PoWhash #fb39b240… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 5.803 s
    miner 02:19:50|ethminer Got work package:
    miner 02:19:50|ethminer Header-hash: 50355ae35ffddde0053cf5458d81dbbbf0b5eac642b67b962c6e19adea476d14
    miner 02:19:50|ethminer Seedhash: f2e59013a0a379837166b59f871b20a8a0d101d1c355ea85d35329360e69c000
    miner 02:19:50|ethminer Target: 00000000dbe6fecebdedd5beb573440e5a884d1b2fbf06fcce912adcb8d8422e
    ⚡ 02:19:51|ethminer Stop worker 920 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:51|ethminer pause 920 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:51|ethminer Stop worker 118 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:52|ethminer Stop worker 1511 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:52|ethminer pause 1511 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:54|ethminer Stop worker 1774 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:54|ethminer pause 1774 ms
    miner 02:19:55|ethminer Mining on PoWhash #50355ae3… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 0.5 s
    miner 02:19:56|ethminer Mining on PoWhash #50355ae3… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 1.12 s
    miner 02:19:57|ethminer Mining on PoWhash #50355ae3… : 0 H/s = 0 hashes / 1.107 s
    miner 02:19:58|ethminer Got work package:
    miner 02:19:58|ethminer Header-hash: abae265a56f77a2553f2198899a92f432b1a37f1263b79bae89052955e8371c8
    miner 02:19:58|ethminer Seedhash: f2e59013a0a379837166b59f871b20a8a0d101d1c355ea85d35329360e69c000
    miner 02:19:58|ethminer Target: 00000000dbe6fecebdedd5beb573440e5a884d1b2fbf06fcce912adcb8d8422e
    ⚡ 02:19:58|ethminer Stop worker 313 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:58|ethminer pause 313 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:58|ethminer Stop worker 161 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:59|ethminer Stop worker 1229 ms
    ⚡ 02:19:59|ethminer pause 1229 ms
    ⚡ 02:20:01|ethminer Stop worker 1524 ms
    ⚡ 02:20:01|ethminer pause 1524 ms


    I tried compiling the newest version of ethminer, but that one won't even build:

    CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:9 (include):
    include could not find load file:

    EthPolicy


    CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:10 (eth_policy):
    Unknown CMake command "eth_policy".

    What's up with this? Any ideas, anyone?
  • EniacEniac Member Posts: 3

    Even the simplest case does not work:

    $ ethminer -M
    Benchmarking on platform: CPU
    Preparing DAG...
    Warming up...
    Trial 1... 0
    Trial 2... 0
    Trial 3... 0
    Trial 4... 0
    Trial 5... 0
    ⚡ 02:46:40|ethminer Terminate worker 1685 ms
    ⚡ 02:46:44|ethminer Terminate worker 3963 ms
    ⚡ 02:46:47|ethminer Terminate worker 2988 ms
    ⚡ 02:46:48|ethminer Terminate worker 727 ms
    min/mean/max: 0/0/0 H/s
    inner mean: 0 H/s
    Phoning home to find world ranking...
  • EniacEniac Member Posts: 3
    It appears the problem has corrected itself after running ethminer for a day or so. Curious, since I did not see that mentioned anywhere, but it seems that you have to wait a while before mining really starts?

    If anyone from the dev team is listening: it would be nice to have a warning of some sort about this, and maybe the software should not behave as if it is mining when it is not.

Sign In or Register to comment.