Cannot get contract data using storageAt()

givemecreditgivemecredit Member Posts: 20
edited July 2015 in web3-js
Hi all.

I just started learning about Ethereum development.

I am trying to display values from a contract using the dappsforbeginners tutorial as a reference. It was stated that i must "grab the contracts address" from the pending pane. There were several addresses listed, i'm guessing the "contracts address" is the one under "Creates" right?

e.g.
var contractAddress = "0x7AF909A9F6E5BFC0F3F45F25C13D300A86D186661D10FFF26AD5D32EE11328E0";

However, the following code returns nothing...

var contractString = JSON.stringify(web3.eth.storageAt(contractAddress));

Without JSON.stringify i am able to return an object (although i am unable to extract any useful info from it).

I looked at the API docs and i couldn't find the storageAt() method. Although i did find getStorageAt(). I assume getStorageAt() is out of date as it returns "TypeError: undefined is not a constructor". Is that right?

I'm confused. Any ideas what i can try?

Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

----------------------------------------

EDIT: I seem to get the error message "TypeError: undefined is not a constructor..." on many of the API calls.
Post edited by givemecredit on

Comments

• KenKKenK Member Posts: 44 admin
    Dapps for beginners is a bit outdated I am afraid - generally most of the api calls won't work if you are running the latest version of alethzero.

I am working on updated tutorials - but they take time. In the meantime here is the API documentation:

https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/JavaScript-API

• givemecreditgivemecredit Member Posts: 20
    Thanks Ken. Although i'm having issue getting any of the new api calls to work. I get "TypeError: undefined is not a constructor..." when i log it to the console. Is there something important that i'm missing?
  • linageelinagee Member Posts: 31 ✭✭