[IDEA EXPLORATION] Website where all sellers get a distribution of total sales.

giannidalertagiannidalerta Miami, FLMember Posts: 76 ✭✭✭
edited May 2014 in Projects
There are some community marketplaces, like etsy, threadless, zazzle.com even ebay... where many sellers place their products draw people to the site for what they are selling, sell their product and give a cut to the marketplace. My ideas is that the marketplace should give a cut to the sellers for bringing in a customer. Lets take a curated site like threadless and break it down.

Not being a coder, I know most of the ethereum crew are concepting and building some crazy difficult things. However I feel that this idea based on an existing model which helps put ownership into the contributors hands could be something viable.

Example threadless model.
  1. A designer submits a design
  2. The community votes on their favorite design
  3. The winning design is then sold.
  4. Threadless pays the one designer a fee for his work.
  5. Threadless takes the biggest cut.
Basically work for hire.

Here is my proposed model for 51attack.com
  1. Same approach as above 1-3
  2. The winning design attracts people to the site and may result in other shirts being sold as well as the overall success of the site.
  3. My proposition: The revenue of the shirt is split 3 ways, (do not know the %)
Here is the theoretical split
(Have not come up with real %, would love for the %s to be dynamic based on site performance and contribution.)
  1. 1/2 of the revenue goes to the site. The site has to print the shirts, host the site, pay expenses.
  2. 1/4 goes to the artist work who got sold.
  3. 1/4 goes to a community pool.
The distribution model
(This needs help)
  1. At the end of each month. Depending on the total sold or revenue. Each artist whom has a selling/sold item for that month gets a cut of the community pool based on their performance.