Modded r9 380 4gb and r9 380x giving you ~ 25mh(while consuming 150w)

ailiaili Member Posts: 5
Modded r9 380 4gb and r9 380x, for all gpu brands that have elpida memory.
Tested and tuned, so all you have to do is flash it and mine.
(Gpus with hynix ram, could also be fine tuned, pm me for details)

Proof:
Modded version: https://s31.postimg.org/8t54rb21n/Screen_Shot_2016_07_19_at_19_40_26.png

This mod will give you a rough 10-15% increase in performance. 21-22 MH/s (stock) vs ~25 MH/s (Modded).
While consuming ~150w from the wall.


Currently, only available for r9 380 4gb and 380x.

Price: Available upon request.
«1

Comments

  • heandog69heandog69 Member Posts: 278 ✭✭
    my asus 380's dont respond to any overclocking what so ever
  • heandog69heandog69 Member Posts: 278 ✭✭
    is it easy to do ?
  • ailiaili Member Posts: 5
    edited July 2016
    Yes, its easy to do.
    4 clicks, and your card is mining much faster.
  • luthorluthor Member Posts: 34
    And for the 2gb version of the r9 380?
  • theneogeo1982theneogeo1982 Member Posts: 530 ✭✭✭
    I've tried to set clocks on my 4gb gigabyte 380 over 1600 it drops the MHS lol because i guess I undervolted
  • algol68algol68 Member Posts: 4
    @bitcanuck is not samsung memory on msi 380 cards?
  • algol68algol68 Member Posts: 4
    I've seen some MSI 4gb have hynix AFR R0C chips.
    What chips on your overclocked at 1750 cards ?
  • theneogeo1982theneogeo1982 Member Posts: 530 ✭✭✭
    I have gigabyte r9 380 ( 8 pin pcie ) the best I have is 20.8 MHS with after burner how you getting it lol
  • ailiaili Member Posts: 5
    You have to mod it..
    Without modding it, you will get 21-22mh.
  • heandog69heandog69 Member Posts: 278 ✭✭
    aili said:

    Yes, its easy to do.
    4 clicks, and your card is mining much faster.

    how do i find out what memory i have thanks
  • SmokyishSmokyish Member Posts: 203 ✭✭
    On Windows, GPU-Z.
  • newmznewmz AustraliaMember Posts: 299 ✭✭✭
    Thanks for posting this. I never would've thought to try 1750 (1625 was the highest I've tried before). I have a MSI R9 380 Gaming card that runs nicely at 1625 getting 23.5Mh/s. 1750 gives me 25.3!

    @bitcanuck does this require anything other than setting the numbers? are you overvolting somehow? Also have you tried this with underclocked core? I have my MSI gaming 380s set to core 800 mem 1500 and they hash about the same as stock core but at much lower power.
  • HelioxHeliox Member, Moderator Posts: 634 mod
    As posted already on bitcointalk.

    1750 mem is to high for 95% of the cards.

    As @bitcanuck said, he raised his mem to 1750 and gets that same hash rate.

    There is no rom mod needed to get that..

    + asking money for something that can be done without any modifications to the rom.. Funny :tongue:
  • zorvalthzorvalth Member Posts: 174
    Heliox said:

    As posted already on bitcointalk.

    1750 mem is to high for 95% of the cards.

    As @bitcanuck said, he raised his mem to 1750 and gets that same hash rate.

    There is no rom mod needed to get that..

    + asking money for something that can be done without any modifications to the rom.. Funny :tongue:

    @Bitcanuck said it gave him boost of 2mh from 1625 to 1750 which is a lot. I read in another thread that he edited the bios with the tonga reader tool, so probably he increased the voltage to get this mem clocks stable.
  • HelioxHeliox Member, Moderator Posts: 634 mod
    @zorvalth

    Perhaps.. the only thing that isn't possible on tonga is to raise the memory voltage ;)

    You can only raise the voltage given to the controller which gives the memory it's voltage :tongue:

    Anyhow, just tried it, raising mem to 1750, runs fine yeah, but i'm sure it will crash after a few hours..

    I'll be doing a mod for 380 later this week, (timings), for free! <-- yeah!

    Greetings!
  • HelioxHeliox Member, Moderator Posts: 634 mod
    bitcanuck said:

    newmz said:

    Thanks for posting this. I never would've thought to try 1750 (1625 was the highest I've tried before). I have a MSI R9 380 Gaming card that runs nicely at 1625 getting 23.5Mh/s. 1750 gives me 25.3!

    @bitcanuck does this require anything other than setting the numbers? are you overvolting somehow? Also have you tried this with underclocked core? I have my MSI gaming 380s set to core 800 mem 1500 and they hash about the same as stock core but at much lower power.
    It's as simple as setting the memory clock, if you're lucky enough to have a card with fast RAM (in this case Samsung). My other MSI R9 380 cards (Armor 2X) aren't stable at 1625, so I run them at 1500. As for underclocking, I've been doing it for a while. If you search through some earlier threads you'll find one where @Heliox had to figuratively eat his hat because he wouldn't believe that you could underclock them without reducing the hashrate.
    Haha, thanks for reminding me on that :tongue:

    But true none the less!

    Those Tonga's are quite interesting though.

    Will do A LOT of more testing on these, as well as bios mods. "definitely!" :)

    Greetings!
  • theneogeo1982theneogeo1982 Member Posts: 530 ✭✭✭
    What about the gigabyte r9 380 4gb with Hynix memory
  • theneogeo1982theneogeo1982 Member Posts: 530 ✭✭✭
    I got it stable at 1492 at 20.800 ish on the hash rate, which is way better than I was getting on ethOS
  • HelioxHeliox Member, Moderator Posts: 634 mod
    So i went ahead and applied some tighter timings to my380

    Results are clear enough.

    Stock, hashrate sometimes avarages down to 10Mh as you can see in the picture




    Now with tighter timings, speed is basically the same at the same clocks but avarage goes up by a mile, as you can see for yourself.



    So no rediculous high clocks, just pure timing edits :)

    If interested, let me know

    Ps. no claymore as well ;)
  • ailiaili Member Posts: 5
    Ok, guys this is not a spam field.
    I you want to talk to each other, please go to a different place.
    Thnx.
  • HelioxHeliox Member, Moderator Posts: 634 mod
    bitcanuck said:

    At 880/1625 you can get 23-23.5 on the 380 if your RAM is good. GDDR5 has parity for error detection, so when you push your RAM you start getting errors before seeing outright failures. Parity errors require re-transmits, which slows the effective hashrate. I suspect if you drop the clocks to 810/1500 you'll see almost the same hashrate.

    Yeah, if your ram is good, it's elpida and it sucks :tongue:

    Tried with 800-810, wasn't any better.. also tried to raise it to 1750, speed was 23.5.. yeah.. obviously..

    but again, card won't hold it..

    @aili

    Free world, free speech..

    + i made my point.. mine will last for years, yours will eventually crap out.. (trust me.. been around long enough..) ;)
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 329 ✭✭✭
    Heliox said:

    As posted already on bitcointalk.

    1750 mem is to high for 95% of the cards.

    As @bitcanuck said, he raised his mem to 1750 and gets that same hash rate.

    There is no rom mod needed to get that..

    + asking money for something that can be done without any modifications to the rom.. Funny :tongue:

    WRONG. I upped my memory voltage to get 1650 stable.
  • HelioxHeliox Member, Moderator Posts: 634 mod
    Wolf0 said:

    Heliox said:

    As posted already on bitcointalk.

    1750 mem is to high for 95% of the cards.

    As @bitcanuck said, he raised his mem to 1750 and gets that same hash rate.

    There is no rom mod needed to get that..

    + asking money for something that can be done without any modifications to the rom.. Funny :tongue:

    WRONG. I upped my memory voltage to get 1650 stable.
    @Wolf0

    WRONG it's not possible to raise your memory voltage.

    You can however raise the voltage for the memory controller. But not the Memory itself.

    + didn't you tell me in pm you did something on the timings?

    Greetings :)
  • trotoltrotol Member Posts: 102
    useless to buy: 1750MHz too high for 95% of eplida`s banks :'(
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 329 ✭✭✭
    Heliox said:

    Wolf0 said:

    Heliox said:

    As posted already on bitcointalk.

    1750 mem is to high for 95% of the cards.

    As @bitcanuck said, he raised his mem to 1750 and gets that same hash rate.

    There is no rom mod needed to get that..

    + asking money for something that can be done without any modifications to the rom.. Funny :tongue:

    WRONG. I upped my memory voltage to get 1650 stable.
    @Wolf0

    WRONG it's not possible to raise your memory voltage.

    You can however raise the voltage for the memory controller. But not the Memory itself.

    + didn't you tell me in pm you did something on the timings?

    Greetings :)
    Heliox said:

    Wolf0 said:

    Heliox said:

    As posted already on bitcointalk.

    1750 mem is to high for 95% of the cards.

    As @bitcanuck said, he raised his mem to 1750 and gets that same hash rate.

    There is no rom mod needed to get that..

    + asking money for something that can be done without any modifications to the rom.. Funny :tongue:

    WRONG. I upped my memory voltage to get 1650 stable.
    @Wolf0

    WRONG it's not possible to raise your memory voltage.

    You can however raise the voltage for the memory controller. But not the Memory itself.

    + didn't you tell me in pm you did something on the timings?

    Greetings :)
    You're actually right on that one. I misread. And I did.
  • plutoiscoldplutoiscold Member Posts: 1
    Good to see a discussion on the 380, I've got all varieties hynix, samsung & elpida. For me my target was minimal heat..so far, so good on the 800's. Stable temps in the 60's
  • Jotun70Jotun70 Member Posts: 107 ✭✭
    Sorry to bump this thread. Just wanted to find out if there was a modded bios out there for the 380... or if it is even worth messing with?

    I have 2 Sapphires (one with backplate with hynix vram, other older non-backplate with elpida). Both are 800/1500 with ~100mv less core voltage, hashing 21.1~. I used TongaBiosReader to do the bios changes, but I feel this program is confusing (2 voltage tables for core?) while at the same time limited, especially with the vram.

    So, do I leave it be with the 21.1mh/s, or am I missing out?
  • miner001miner001 Member Posts: 49
    How do you guys find out what vram mfg/brand such as hynix, elpida, etc is on your video card? And which one of these are the better ones?
  • toshi32767toshi32767 Member Posts: 2
    miner001 said:

    How do you guys find out what vram mfg/brand such as hynix, elpida, etc is on your video card? And which one of these are the better ones?

    you can try gpu-z.

    and I need a modded bios for my powercolor R9380X
  • mpereztrmpereztr Member Posts: 6
    does it works?
Sign In or Register to comment.