DAO hard-fork voting on ethpool & ethermine

dr_pradr_pra Member Posts: 445 ✭✭✭
As a pool operator I believe that it is important to gauge the opinion of the miners before making any important decision on the future of the pool. That is why we held a voting on the DAO soft-fork proposal and we intent to carry out the same type of voting for the hard fork proposal.

Starting from now voting will be enabled again and, similar to the soft fork vote, you can select your preference in the settings section of your account page. All votes are weighted by the current effective hashrate of each miner that has voted. The vote requires no quorum meaning that the position the majority of hashrate has voted for will decide the way the pool will take. Not voting will neither be interpreted as pro or against the fork.

We still reserve the right to act against the voting result in case there are security issues identified in the hard fork code or the pool will end up on the non-winning chain.

Comments

• dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    Although I know the vote is the right thing to do, not taking the hard fork would be suicide, for both the pool and the network, in my opinion.
  • BubbaPumpsBubbaPumps Member Posts: 31
    Destroying the integrity of the blockchain to bailout some gamblers is suicide.
  • MrYukonCMrYukonC Member Posts: 627 ✭✭✭
    edited July 2016

Destroying the integrity of the blockchain to bailout some gamblers is suicide.

You need to look up the definition of 'bailout'.

Also, it sounds like Bitcoin might be what you seek -- i.e. the inability to innovate, adapt, and overcome, in addition to rewarding actions like theft rather than punishing them.
  • workwork Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2016