ETHOS: An ethics-based approach to DACs, DAOs, and DAPPs

troytroy Member Posts: 9
When I first discovered Ethereum, I must admit, I was half joyous, and half pissed-off. You see, for the last few years, I've had this idea floating around in my head that an electronic marketplace could be entirely based on the idea of digital "contracts," complete with terms, tolerances, prerequisites, etc. I even had several conversations on aspects of this marketplace with a world-class LISP programmer with whom I work. Being a creative front-end developer, I lack the computer science foundation to pull this off myself, but have complete freedom to explore ideas. And I did -- big time.

Well... I'm going to buy into Ethereum as the platform from which to build ETHOS, an ethics-based, rules engine for building DACs, DAOs, DAPPs, smart contracts, and anything else that makes sense for stakeholders of a particular organization.

Think of an ETHOS as various Amazon EC2 images, built by various developers, and ready to activate. My ETHOS is probably different from your ETHOS. Yours is different from the next guy. However, just like oil and vinegar, certain sects of people will congeal around like-minded thinking. This congregation makes up its -- pardon the fun here -- ethos :)

Let me paint a detailed picture of reg3 -- my particular ETHOS:

The "reg" is an abbreviation of regenerative agriculture. I'm a big believer in the triple bottom line, otherwise known as "triple p." For those unfamiliar, this stands for people, planet, and profit.

For the past several years, I've studied permaculture, holistic management, and natural farming, to name a few... As you can imagine, I am the guy that buys organic food, believes in peak oil, supports local CSAs, and tries to reduce my footprint on this earth... OK... This is who I am, and these beliefs are what I share with friends and colleagues. They may not be yours.