Mining Ether on a Mac

tsultsul Member Posts: 6
Is there an alpha mining client for mac? I've downloaded the "Proof of Concept client #3 for mac and I've got it running but I don't see anything connecting or working. And there are no "mining" options that I can see. And I don't see a link or info about the test mining clients.

Could someone please point me in the right direction or explain the current status of test mining with a mac.

Please and Thanks for any help or comments on subject matter!

tsul

Comments

  • 0xff0xff Member Posts: 22
    For CPU minig you can use go-ethereum.

    Instructions are available here: https://github.com/ethereum/go-ethereum/wiki/Installation-Instructions-for-Mac

    Will iterate over them with some additions and comments:

    1) Install XCode from App Store (it may require OS X update)
    2) Run XCode just to approve its licence
    3) Install brew with command

    ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)"

    4) update brew - this will be necessary also later when you will want to install later versions of go or cpp ethereum

    brew update
    brew doctor

    5) install ethereum

    brew tap ethereum/ethereum
    brew install ethereum

    6) verify version of geth and have a look at options

    geth --help

    6) start mining

    geth account new
    geth --mine

    This will
    1) create DAG
    2) start downloading blockchain
    3) mine


    I will follow this up with instructions for GPU mining. That is how far I've got by now.
  • 0xff0xff Member Posts: 22
    GPU mining is trickier, at least atm while go-ethereum does not support it. This is research in progress for me so do not be too harsh :)

    To start execute all the steps from my previous post, except "geth --mine" in the step 7

    Then execute

    1) Install cpp-ethereum project

    brew install cpp-ethereum
    brew reinstall cpp-ethereum --devel --with-gpu-mining

    This step may take an hour - depending on your system performance.

    2) Execute some metrics

    ethminer -G -M

    if this does not show you nice mega hashes, then you probably have the same issue as me

    3) Start geth with --rpc option and also start up ethminer which will communicate with it over port 8545

    Console 1:
    geth --rpc

    Console 2:
    ethminer -G

    Theoretically this should be it.


    I am now struggling with "ethminer -G" (alternatively "ethminer -G --opencl-device 0") step which either segfaults or warns about memory fragmentation.


  • tsultsul Member Posts: 6
    i've got Console 1: geth --rpc and Console 2: ethminer -G running and this is a sample of the output i'm getting. I'm also getting the memory frag warning as you can see but i do think i'm getting a higher hash so it must be working somewhat. any ideas?

    ✘ 18:29:41|gpuminer0 Error GPU mining. GPU memory fragmentation?
    ℹ 18:29:44|gpuminer1 workLoop 1 #d705bfce… #d705bfce…
    ℹ 18:29:44|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 524288 H/s = 262144 hashes / 0.5 s
    ℹ 18:29:45|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1046483 H/s = 1048576 hashes / 1.002 s
    ℹ 18:29:45|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1220085 H/s = 1835008 hashes / 1.504 s
    ℹ 18:29:46|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1307451 H/s = 2621440 hashes / 2.005 s
    ℹ 18:29:46|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1255278 H/s = 3145728 hashes / 2.506 s
    ℹ 18:29:47|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1307234 H/s = 3932160 hashes / 3.008 s
    ℹ 18:29:47|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1344711 H/s = 4718592 hashes / 3.509 s
    ℹ 18:29:48|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1372823 H/s = 5505024 hashes / 4.01 s
    ℹ 18:29:48|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1394382 H/s = 6291456 hashes / 4.512 s
    ℹ 18:29:49|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1359613 H/s = 6815744 hashes / 5.013 s
    ℹ 18:29:49|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1378454 H/s = 7602176 hashes / 5.515 s
    ℹ 18:29:50|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1394382 H/s = 8388608 hashes / 6.016 s
    ℹ 18:29:50|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1407862 H/s = 9175040 hashes / 6.517 s
    ℹ 18:29:51|main Mining on PoWhash #3d10d9a6… : 1419215 H/s = 9961472 hashes / 7.019 s
    ℹ 18:29:51|main Got work package:
    ℹ 18:29:51|main Header-hash: 336179714ac9314bcf32f470012f3a224a281d5c50d8ad357f407d766d84f738
    ℹ 18:29:51|main Seedhash: d705bfceb18862841d146b65702167152de74c08a4c1821a1698fcc414d8978e
    ℹ 18:29:51|main Target: 000000019986ce4852d1555139d6a7df68466a236f5bf7a8ef3bc9aaff2b559e
    ℹ 18:29:54|gpuminer0 workLoop 1 #d705bfce… #d705bfce…
  • tsultsul Member Posts: 6
    the error is always for gpuminner0 then it jumps to gpuminer1.
  • mcmike313mcmike313 Member Posts: 27
    ive followed all the steps i can find and when running geth --mine or geth --rpc all i see is:

    I0516 11:37:32.733685 34904 chain_manager.go:628] imported 1 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored) in 4.282471ms. #348146 [8bcf3205 / 8bcf3205]
    I0516 11:37:40.740744 34904 chain_manager.go:628] imported 1 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored) in 3.734766ms. #348142 [2bef1b06 / 2bef1b06]
    I0516 11:37:47.169750 34904 chain_manager.go:628] imported 1 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored) in 3.752827ms. #348147 [c9a39a6b / c9a39a6b]

    there is no way to see my hash rate, i know this would only be CPU but unable to get it to work

    when i follow the above steps i get the following message:
    ethminer: command not found

    can you please help me
  • mcmike313mcmike313 Member Posts: 27
    edited May 2015
    Running this:
    eth -M -G
    Ethereum (++) 0.8.2
    Code by Gav Wood, (c) 2013, 2014.
    Based on a design by Vitalik Buterin.

    *N* [ 11:42:45 | main ] IP Address: 10.0.0.1 = [LOCAL]
    *N* [ 11:42:45 | main ] Id: e5208d58749927cf098b4db00df33a995bc2a6103146f3fd3eccf649440bd8eb828862a15c712e1cde76f9cb86580f57892ded465e07f099f2f5dbd875ef3804
    *** [ 11:42:45 | main ] Opened blockchain DB. Latest: 32d9162f861a01bc8274e70b3cdb9d688fd7d8566f2f8c25cf1a882f244081c4
    *** [ 11:42:45 | main ] Opened state DB.
    Address:
    74aeeadef0a50a6e533f937976c1e18b3c2a4a91
    *** [ 11:42:45 | eth ] noteChanged( { 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 } )
    *** [ 11:42:47 | p2p ] UPnP device: http://10.0.0.138:8000/pe082szfdjm/IGD/upnp/IGD.xml [st: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:InternetGatewayDevice:1 ]
    *N* [ 11:42:47 | p2p ] Punched through NAT and mapped local port 51632 onto external port 51632 .
    *N* [ 11:42:47 | p2p ] External addr: XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
    *P* [ 11:42:47 | p2p ] refreshing buckets
    *N* [ 11:42:47 | p2p ] p2p.started id: e5208d58…
    *P* [ 11:42:47 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    *P* [ 11:43:17 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    *P* [ 11:43:47 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    *P* [ 11:44:18 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    *P* [ 11:44:48 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    *P* [ 11:45:18 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.
    *P* [ 11:45:48 | p2p ] Terminating discover after 0 rounds.



    UPDATE: So i have been able to see my through the geth console my hashrate and ether balance
    I think i mined 1 block, ether balance = 1.5 hashrate states 384(sounds pretty poor)
    still would be good to get my dual gpus mining
    Post edited by mcmike313 on
  • minerworker2014minerworker2014 Puerto RicoMember Posts: 25


    IS THIS REAL ETH I'M MINING? WHERE CAN I CHECK IF ITS GENERATING ANT ETH?

    Thanks in advance!
  • Michael_AMichael_A LondonMember Posts: 61
    its look like you are not synchronised with the main chain dude
  • AlexNaAlexNa Member Posts: 32
    All 0's... What am I doing wrong? I use all the latest versions.

    Alexandres-iMac:lll alexn$ eth -M
    Benchmarking on platform: 4-thread CPU
    Preparing DAG...
    ℹ 13:53:27|main Loading from libethash...
    ℹ 13:53:27|main Done loading.
    Warming up...
    Trial 1... 0
    Trial 2... 0
    Trial 3... 0
    Trial 4... 0
    Trial 5... 0
    min/mean/max: 0/0/0 H/s
    inner mean: 0 H/s
    Phoning home to find world ranking...
    Error phoning home. ET is sad.
    Alexandres-iMac:lll alexn$
  • rickwrickw Brooklyn, NYMember Posts: 1
    edited January 2016
    Tried to install with brew and it complained it needed llvm 3+ I have llvm 7 are there any other guides? I have a MacPro with 2 D700s

    Thank you....

    EDIT: found the brew issue list on github....
  • criptobitcriptobit Member Posts: 1
    any can help me, and tell me if all is ok to mining in my MAC?

    http://screencast.com/t/HScuit6rI0E



    many tanks
  • gkothiagkothia Member Posts: 2
    edited March 2016
    I0327 16:06:39.043494 29166 ipc.go:112] IPC service started (/Users/parthkothia/Library/Ethereum/geth.ipc)
    I0327 16:06:39.049611 29166 nat.go:111] mapped network port tcp:30303 -> 30303 (ethereum p2p) using UPNP IGDv1-IP1
    I0327 16:06:59.048564 29166 downloader.go:288] Block synchronisation started
    I0327 16:07:02.244353 29166 blockchain.go:1251] imported 1 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored) including 1 txs in 772.72479ms. #244237 [f62a4b14 / f62a4b14]
    I0327 16:07:02.266158 29166 blockchain.go:1251] imported 14 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored) including 13 txs in 21.66649ms. #244251 [2ab9d270 / 754cdb61]
    I0327 16:07:02.440203 29166 blockchain.go:1251] imported 1 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored) including 1 txs in 6.205261ms. #244252 [e9871515 / e9871515]
    I0327 16:07:02.570742 29166 blockchain.go:1251] imported 7 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored) including 8 txs in 12.539501ms. #244259 [cd35eed0 / 29622a3b]
    I0327 16:07:02.585729 29166 blockchain.go:1251] imported 1 block(s) (0 queued 0 ignored)


    Am i GPU mining? Please help!

    Thanks
  • gkothiagkothia Member Posts: 2
    @G416G what would you suggest to do ethereum Gpu mining?
  • robinminerrobinminer ParisMember Posts: 38
    I have not been able to mine on my Macbook Pro. I have set one other rig with multiple cards, but getting it to work in my Mac is a real pain... if anyone has a formula for Macbook Pro mining. Please can u share every step?
  • tindolini17tindolini17 Member Posts: 1
    edited June 2016
    Following theses steps, where is the blockchain saved at, and where do mined ethers go? (sorry, I'm bloody new to this)

    Edit: nvm, the wallet is visible in the ethereum wallet app. B)
  • i2343i2343 Member Posts: 1
    Hi all! i have
    miner 11:56:30.331| Mining on PoWhash #17056b8a… : 18362743 H/s = 7602176 hashes / 0.414 s
    miner 11:56:30.760| Mining on PoWhash #17056b8a… : 18987065 H/s = 8126464 hashes / 0.42

    but on mining pools my "workers" are 0. What can cause this problem?
  • ShanghaiTimesShanghaiTimes Member Posts: 25
    How to get it all going.
    For those like me who are getting their feet wet in this Ethereum mining ... pool, as with Bitcoin mining, there are lots and lots of people who say "Dont' bother. Run away. You will never make any money." Well "yaa, boo, sux" to them. I'm investigating this because it's interesting, and will be as big as the Internet in a day or so.
    And things change. Things change daily. And there is money to be made. Not much admittedly, but some.

    So after much head scratching - because yes, there are no DOCs, and what there is is often out of date by days, or even years at worst.
    So this is what I have finally managed.
    I have the Mist, Ethereum-Wallet installed on my Mac Mini. 16Gb RAM, 2TB Storage. A built up Late 2012 model. Not the fastest kid on the block, but what I can afford.
    That unpacks into it's own directory, that you can put anywhere you like. In that directory is two programs. One is called Ethereum-Wallet - with a Diamond as the icon. That's the GUI. Don't run that first actually, although you can if you want to have a look at it. It starts up in Test mode anyway. That's fine. Create your valid account later. But the big secret is. Nothing will happen usefully until the whole thing synchronises the blocks. And there are millions ... it can take days. So here's what you do. You use the other program that comes with it called 'geth' to start the synchronising. It's command line, so you need to be in a Terminal window.
    First: Start Ethereum-Wallet to create the required system storage directories, then stop it.
    Now.
    cd to the directory where you put your unpacked program bundle, and type this in.
    ./geth --fast --ipcpath /Users/robert/Library/Ethereum/geth.ipc
    Press enter.
    Note the --ipcpath option. Replace my name - robert - with your user account name on your mac. It's your home directory. ok.

    Now, go away for a few days. Go 5,000 miles away. Change your name. Begin a new life. ... because synchronising will take like - forever.

    Once it settles down, and starts pulling in blocks. You can watch the count by starting Ethereum-Wallet. Point Finder at it and double click. Once it starts, It will show you a running count of what is done, and what is left to do.
    You can't mine until it's finished.....
    When you come back in a few days, months, years...

    The next thing is Mining. Ahhh, show me the money. For this I will be using AlethZero. And guess what. A really nice package is available that contains AlethZero - a nice Ether mining app that runs ONLY on ElCaptain, and Yosemite. If you are pre that, forget it. Roll your own with that sodding Homebrew thing. Which I hate. Upgrade dude.
    So these are pre-built DMG packages that jstt install right out of the bag. Nice. You also get Mix-ide. Forget that for now. What's so nice about AlethZero, is that it's Ether mining for the GPU, as well as the CPU, and I think mining rigs, although I haven't investigated that yet. Like everything else to do with Ethereum and Bitcoin - There are NO instructions. One rubbish Video clip on Youtube that is like two years old. Shees.
    You see, that's what happens when everyone starts saying "No point now, the Chinese made all the money, don't bother."
    But having said that, it's actually pretty easy to figure out, and a nice GUI interface to go with it.
    Again - don't bother until your blocks are synchronised.

    You will note that so far - I haven't installed anything with Homebrew. That is so last year. If this is the technology that is taking over the world - then someone had better get off their butt, and create some decent software to run it all, and Instruction manuals.

    The bottom line is. Yes, mining is slow, even for Bitcoin and Ethereum. But given the prices for both now, even small grains are becoming expensive. Look at it this way. No one throws out the gold dust in the bottom of the pan, just because its not a 5oz nugget do they...


  • zedzednovazedzednova Member Posts: 53
    I'm running on my Mac Mini (mid-2011 model) w/ 2.3GHz core i5, 16GB RAM, and the original 500GB internal HDD and an 1TB extern FW800 drive.

    I installed geth and cpp-ethereum both using homebrew because I already use that for other things. I also downloaded mist from github. I started trying to sync with mist and that was a serious mistake. It was taking forever, and was constantly hanging. I tried running geth and cpp-ethereum to see which was faster, but it seemed to be about equal. I have also upgraded both geth and cpp-ethereum several times with hombrew and not had any issues. I am running geth 1.4.5-stable-a269a713.

    To make sure that I had a clean blockchain DB I deleted the existing DB (geth removedb), then ran geth --fast (taking the default DB location so there would be no issues later) and let it go. The sync took maybe 25-30 minutes and now I usually leave geth running in it's own terminal window to keep the blockchain DB up to date.

    When I run mist now, it determines that I already have geth running and automatically uses it. I have conducted a number of transactions and voted on a number of TheDAO proposals with no problems.

    For mining I am using a separate GPU mining rig with a single MSI R7 370 Gaming 4G GPU. It runs ethOS which is a tweaked version of ubuntu 14.04. The mining rig points directly to the pool and is earning me a bit over 1 ETH per week. I see the deposits from the mining pool in my mist mining account with a dedicated wallet so I can see the transactions.

    Cheers,

    - zed
  • ShanghaiTimesShanghaiTimes Member Posts: 25
    0xff said:

    For CPU minig you can use go-ethereum.

    Instructions are available here: https://github.com/ethereum/go-ethereum/wiki/Installation-Instructions-for-Mac

    Will iterate over them with some additions and comments:

    1) Install XCode from App Store (it may require OS X update)
    2) Run XCode just to approve its licence
    3) Install brew with command

    ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)"

    4) update brew - this will be necessary also later when you will want to install later versions of go or cpp ethereum

    brew update
    brew doctor

    5) install ethereum

    brew tap ethereum/ethereum
    brew install ethereum

    6) verify version of geth and have a look at options

    geth --help

    6) start mining

    geth account new
    geth --mine

    This will
    1) create DAG
    2) start downloading blockchain
    3) mine


    I will follow this up with instructions for GPU mining. That is how far I've got by now.


    Sorry, but I get this now. Homebrew failed for some reason ...

    ==> Installing ethereum/ethereum/cpp-ethereum
    ==> Downloading https://build.ethereum.org/cpp-binaries-data/brew_receipts/cpp-ethereum-1.2.7.el_capitan.bottle.470.tar.gz
    ==> Downloading from https://builds.ethereum.org/cpp-binaries-data/brew_receipts/cpp-ethereum-1.2.7.el_capitan.bottle.470.tar.gz

    curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
    Error: Failed to download resource "cpp-ethereum"
    Download failed: https://builds.ethereum.org/cpp-binaries-data/brew_receipts/cpp-ethereum-1.2.7.el_capitan.bottle.470.tar.gz
    Warning: Bottle installation failed: building from source.
    ==> Installing dependencies for ethereum/ethereum/cpp-ethereum: cmake
    ==> Installing ethereum/ethereum/cpp-ethereum dependency: cmake
    ==> Downloading https://homebrew.bintray.com/bottles/cmake-3.5.2.el_capitan.bottle.1.tar.gz
    ######################################################################## 100.0%
    ==> Pouring cmake-3.5.2.el_capitan.bottle.1.tar.gz
    ==> Caveats
    Emacs Lisp files have been installed to:
    /usr/local/share/emacs/site-lisp/cmake
    ==> Summary
  • ShanghaiTimesShanghaiTimes Member Posts: 25

    I'm running on my Mac Mini (mid-2011 model) w/ 2.3GHz core i5, 16GB RAM, and the original 500GB internal HDD and an 1TB extern FW800 drive.

    I installed geth and cpp-ethereum both using homebrew because I already use that for other things. I also downloaded mist from github. I started trying to sync with mist and that was a serious mistake. It was taking forever, and was constantly hanging. I tried running geth and cpp-ethereum to see which was faster, but it seemed to be about equal. I have also upgraded both geth and cpp-ethereum several times with hombrew and not had any issues. I am running geth 1.4.5-stable-a269a713.

    To make sure that I had a clean blockchain DB I deleted the existing DB (geth removedb), then ran geth --fast (taking the default DB location so there would be no issues later) and let it go. The sync took maybe 25-30 minutes and now I usually leave geth running in it's own terminal window to keep the blockchain DB up to date.

    When I run mist now, it determines that I already have geth running and automatically uses it. I have conducted a number of transactions and voted on a number of TheDAO proposals with no problems.

    For mining I am using a separate GPU mining rig with a single MSI R7 370 Gaming 4G GPU. It runs ethOS which is a tweaked version of ubuntu 14.04. The mining rig points directly to the pool and is earning me a bit over 1 ETH per week. I see the deposits from the mining pool in my mist mining account with a dedicated wallet so I can see the transactions.

    Cheers,

    - zed

    This is really useful stuff. So it looks like I'm going to be better off buying a good PC, one of these cards, and setting up the same way.
    Clean and straight forward.
    Thanks.

    Meantime, I'm still struggling with trying to get cpp-ethereum built on the Mac.
  • zedzednovazedzednova Member Posts: 53
    @ShanghaiTimes if you want to set up a rig, try working with gpushack.com. They have some nice MOBO bundles that includes everything you need to mine except GPU and PSU. If you can source PC stuff cheaper/easier do yourself a favor and order the download version of ethOS from gpushack.com and write it to an SSD (16GB is enough). I purchased this MOBO bundle http://gpushack.com/collections/gpushack/products/mobo-cpu-ram-ssd-bundle-for-4-gpus and with the GPU and PSU I bought elsewhere, was up and running very quickly. The miner has been up almost 3 weeks non-stop. It would have been longer except we lost power here. Here is a link to some info about the miner: http://d9c53b.ethosdistro.com

    Regarding the home-brew error, try running brew update, then brew doctor and see if anything is not quite right. If all is well, try to install cpp-ethereum again. I installed the latest cpp-ethereum a few minutes ago with no problems at all.
    $ brew install cpp-ethereum
    ==> Installing cpp-ethereum from ethereum/ethereum
    ==> Downloading https://build.ethereum.org/cpp-binaries-data/brew_receipts/cpp-ethereum-1.2.7.el_capitan.bottle.473.tar.
    ==> Downloading from https://builds.ethereum.org/cpp-binaries-data/brew_receipts/cpp-ethereum-1.2.7.el_capitan.bottle.47
    ######################################################################## 100.0%
    Warning: SHA1 support is deprecated and will be removed in a future version.
    Please switch this formula to SHA256.
    ==> Pouring cpp-ethereum-1.2.7.el_capitan.bottle.473.tar.gz
    ==> Caveats
    To have launchd start ethereum/ethereum/cpp-ethereum now and restart at login:
    brew services start ethereum/ethereum/cpp-ethereum
    ==> Summary
  • ShanghaiTimesShanghaiTimes Member Posts: 25
    @zedzednova Thanks, that's invaluable advice. Much appreciated.
    The Homebrew error was because - probably just at that time - the git hub repo had been moved to webthree-umbrella from cpp-ethereum on git. I eventually got it installed by pulling down the webthree-umbrella repo and just building that by hand. If the Homebrew maintainers havent fixed it already, I'm sure they will soon.
    I am definately going to have to go the way you did, explained above.
    Meantime I struggle on to understand this lot. :-)
    Thanks.
Sign In or Register to comment.