Ether mining "rig" discussion for dagger algorithm

EicosapentaenoicEicosapentaenoic Member Posts: 14
edited March 2014 in Mining
I don't mine anything now and I'm no expert, but I've been thinking about optimal setups for dagger mining and so I thought I'd start a discussion about hardware. My conclusions are that one would want the highest speeds per core possible, and the most amount of these cores per motherboard because memory at current prices and motherboard ram limits are the biggest bottleneck when considering anything GPU-like.

An overview of the algorithm: https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/[English]-Dagger

First I'll discuss what I don't understand. I don't know much about multi-core systems, whether they will actually scale well for dagger mining, as in, does an 8 core CPU really perform around twice as well as a 4-core with the same speeds. Is it possible for any part of the algorithm to be computed in parallel? There seem to be different "levels" to the algorithm which must be done in order. However, could each of these "levels" be done in parallel? I assume no because that is the point, but I don't completely understand the algorithm in the first place.

Also, there is randomness in the algorithm, forcing many computations to be done but only using a subset of the results of each level. Is this subset deterministic? If not, how can the result be verified unless one must actually calculate the entire algorithm again?