Using Ethereum to build a lottery system

Hi,

I was wondering if it would be possible to build such a system using Ethereum.

A participant can either text or email the numbers they would like to buy. The money is then automatically deducted from their linked account. Using information from actual lottery operators, the system will then pay out automatically if the numbers are a match.

There are a few advantages to doing this.

1. Automation
2. a truly worldwide system

I'm totally new to this system and I'm just wondering about the possibilities.

Thank you.

Comments

• dittoditto Member Posts: 139 ✭✭
    You mean more like:

> User sends Ethereum to lottery wallet with message (the numbers in this case)
    > Lottery wallet draws numbers (or pulls them from existing system?)
    > Winner is sent the Ethereum to the original source of funds.
  • shafiq87shafiq87 Member Posts: 3
    Hey,

Yeah something like that.

But i was thinking of using an already existing lottery system. Like the National Lottery in the UK or Singapore Pools in Singapore.

I guess it's something very do-able. The thing here is how to collect the bets (money) and disperse the winnings.

I'm not even sure where to start looking into this.
  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod
    @shafiq87 There are already quite a number of provably fair gambling contracts on Ethereum. A typical scenario is where the contract will take bets and then some time later look to some future block's 'nonce' (an effectively random number) then calculate and send payouts.