Questions about the future of Ethereum

Hi,

I have three questions:

1. Why would big banks & corporations implement Ethereum(open source) instead of creating their own copycat versions of it?
2. If the banks/corporations will create their own forks and standardize them will they have to use the current "ethers" as fuel or will they have their own "fuel". If latter then would in this case the value of the current decrease or even be rendered worthless?
3. VISA currently handles 2000 transactions/second. If Ethereum intends to be the base technology behind the "Internet of Everything" it should be able to handle millions of transactions per seconds. In this case the blockchain size would explode very quickly. Like +1TB/day. In other words: is Ethereum scalable for this amount of transactions?

Thanks.
Greg

Comments

• ToadieToadie Member Posts: 8
    Here's my 2 wei, I'm a blockchain noob so read with caution!
    #1. Banks will of course be required to fully secure any blockchain they use. So, yes, it will be private/closed distributed ledgers only available to trusted institutions (akin to SWIFT today). Certainly for investment/capital markets anyway. If they decide to offer BITCOIN/similar on a retail basis that would need to be more open obviously.
    #2. If you go to the trouble of created a closed private blockchain you might as well hijack the gas concept too and bend it/eliminate as required. I don't personally think this would necessarily diminish the value of Ether..
    #3. This is the elephant in the room right now AFAIK. I heard in a podcast Vitalik et al are working "flat out" on scalability. Personally, I'm confident scalability is surmountable problem. Well there's a will there's always a way (or wei) :smile:
  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod
    @ifreedom