MSI R7 370 - How to get the maximum hashrate possible!

adasebadaseb ✭✭✭Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
Just picked this bad boy up for cheap and also got long warranty with it.

What is the maximum hashrate that you guys are getting with this card?

Mine is at 1150/1500 and I am getting almost 17MH/s.

Thinking about OVERvolting this even since its runs very cold.
«13

Comments

  • MrYukonCMrYukonC ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 627 ✭✭✭
    @adaseb

    That's probably the max. I just got a bunch of 370's in this week that I'm currently setting up. Haven't tweaked any core or memory clocks yet. They are all running 15 Mh/s out of the box.

    Did you test yours before overclocking it? If so, was it at 15-ish Mh/s?
  • adasebadaseb ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    It was slower even like 14.5MH/s. At 1040/1400
  • happytreefriendshappytreefriends ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 537 ✭✭✭
    17MH is very good for that card even at that OC speeds.

    Some R7-370's seem to run better than others. Maybe a memory latency and timing issue as with the 2xx cards before.

    My XFX double dissipation cards at stock 1050/1400 hit 16-17MH stock but get hot.
    ASUS STRIX card at 1050/1400 hits 15.5MH stock but is very cool. Overclocking nets 16MH max.
    XFX standard cards at stock 995/1400 gets 14.5MH and get 16MH overclocked but is cool.

    I'm going to try some R9-380/380x's over the weekend I just got in.
  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o mod Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod
    @happytreefriends, nice to hear. Am also looking at 370's
  • adasebadaseb ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    Yeah I played around with it some more but it seems the max is 1150/1500. Setting the engine or memory clock any higher results in a slower hash.

    Only way is maybe to modify the vbios and increase the voltage but I am worried this might void the warranty.
  • Varun916Varun916 Member Posts: 24
    edited March 2016
    @adaseb , @o0ragman0o - have you measured how much power they consume when overclocked? I just picked up some of these and am curious if I'd be able to run 6 with a 1300W psu overclocked
  • adasebadaseb ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    They probably don't use any more then 110Watts or so since its only 1 PCIe.
  • BiodomBiodom ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 693 ✭✭✭
    msi r7 370 makes less sense to me at ebay prices, which are above $200.
    If you can get them cheap, yeah, but I don't see them readily available.
    In fact, I see that pretty much ALL cards, used or new are at ~$10/Mh/s.
    It almost does not matter which one you get. why not r9 390 with 30-30.8Mh for $300?
  • adasebadaseb ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    I bought one brand new retail for only $120
  • BiodomBiodom ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 693 ✭✭✭
    $155 on both Amazon (plus tax) and newegg (no tax) for 4g card.
    As i said, no matter what, it is ~$10/Mh/s.
  • adasebadaseb ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    The 4g card is overpriced and will be hard to resell. Just get the 2g, by the time DAG file grows over 2gb, i highly doubt we will be mining ETH. Probably will go back to mining BTC then.

  • leetizzleleetizzle Member Posts: 8
    What are your settings? Mine out of the box are hashingle around 10MH and 13.3 OC'do with 1150 core and 1550 memory, I've got the strix 4gb version x6
  • keugerekeugere Member Posts: 38
    edited April 2016
    I have msi 370 too.

    Set 1150/1500 and and still having same result with dwarf proxy - 15 m/s.

    I use ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.0.4b3

    setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
    setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
    setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
    SET GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT = 100
    ethminer.exe --farm-recheck 200 -G -F http://127.0.0.1:8080/dw1 --cl-local-work 128 --cl-global-work 8192


    What can i do to gain more performane?
  • rdnkjdirdnkjdi ✭✭ Member Posts: 135 ✭✭
    How much electricity are these pulling? Has anyone put a killowatt to them?
  • stoonstoon ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 337 ✭✭✭
    rdnkjdi said:

    How much electricity are these pulling? Has anyone put a killowatt to them?

    My 6 msi R7 370's 4gb at 1050,1500 use 780w at the wall and hash 90+
  • stoonstoon ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 337 ✭✭✭
    keugere said:

    I have msi 370 too.

    Set 1150/1500 and and still having same result with dwarf proxy - 15 m/s.

    I use ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.0.4b3

    setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
    setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
    setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
    SET GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT = 100
    ethminer.exe --farm-recheck 200 -G -F http://127.0.0.1:8080/dw1 --cl-local-work 128 --cl-global-work 8192


    What can i do to gain more performane?

    I dont' think your "SET GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT = 100" is correct
  • keugerekeugere Member Posts: 38
    edited April 2016
    stoon said:

    keugere said:

    I have msi 370 too.

    Set 1150/1500 and and still having same result with dwarf proxy - 15 m/s.

    I use ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.0.4b3

    setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
    setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
    setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
    SET GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT = 100
    ethminer.exe --farm-recheck 200 -G -F http://127.0.0.1:8080/dw1 --cl-local-work 128 --cl-global-work 8192


    What can i do to gain more performane?

    I dont' think your "SET GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT = 100" is correct
    changed to setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100.

    still 20 m/s
  • bitmaxtbitmaxt Member Posts: 81
    @keugere,@adaseb
    test this in nanopool and tell me..
    --------------------------------------
    setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
    setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
    setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
    SET GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT = 100
    ethminer.exe --farm-recheck 100 -G -F http://127.0.0.1:8080/dw1 --cl-local-work 32 --cl-global-work 64
  • KythKyth Member Posts: 10
    bitmaxt said:

    @keugere,@adaseb
    test this in nanopool and tell me..
    --------------------------------------
    setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
    setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
    setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
    SET GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT = 100
    ethminer.exe --farm-recheck 100 -G -F http://127.0.0.1:8080/dw1 --cl-local-work 32 --cl-global-work 64

    @bitmaxt I can confirm these settings are great! I just went from 14MH to 17+ MH per card ! Thanks!!
  • workwork ✭✭✭✭ Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    Very interesting that those tiny cl-work values have a positive impact on hashrate.
  • workwork ✭✭✭✭ Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    @bitcanuck ya, I don't have r7 370s tho. My R9 cards increase in hashrste output the longer the kernel runtime is. Lower kernel runtimes decrease hashrate. Might be a quirk with certain cards tho.
  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o mod Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod
    edited May 2016
    I tried it on my 8x rig and it completely crash out hash and was only getting 7.3Mhs. And that's the entire rig!
  • adasebadaseb ✭✭✭ Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    Most I can get out of the 370 right now is 16.3MH/s
  • bitmaxtbitmaxt Member Posts: 81
    @Kyth its great..
    great...
    if you want to have better earnings
    you should divide your gpu on 2 computers ,
    the idea is to have 2 workers.
    so when a worker hasrate down , the other goes up ,
    so the average hashrate line ( which is what gives the gain )
    approaches to the line of , the real hashrate ,
    increasing the gain .
  • workwork ✭✭✭✭ Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    @bitmaxt that doesn't actually make sense at all. One worker or two will ultimately produce identical results.
  • un4givenun4given ✭✭ Member Posts: 172 ✭✭
    does any1 know if undervolting works on MSI R7 370 Gaming 4 GB? What settings to get the most MH/s?
  • blueboxbluebox ✭✭ Member Posts: 181 ✭✭
    @un4given There isn't any way I've seen from those who do/can undervolt or make bios changes. Might want to try the settings noted above (local-work 32, global-work 64) if there's anything to it. I'll give it a shot later but I'm mining other coin these days. I ran the MSI 370 gaming cards with global-work at 4096, 8192, and 16384, made no difference — still 15.5 on each...
  • bitmaxtbitmaxt Member Posts: 81
    edited May 2016
    @work Posts:
    May 1
    @bitmaxt that doesn't actually make sense at all. One worker or two will ultimately produce identical results

    -------------------------------------------------------------
    heeey @work........................
    see with your eyes in Approximated Earnings
    hashrate for just one worker:eth.nanopool.org/account/0xefa8becf5a1f7817a01556559bd3fb2e1f6eadee/D5-2x280

    see with your eyes , as hashrate . I was normalized thanks to all workers:eth.nanopool.org/account/0xefa8becf5a1f7817a01556559bd3fb2e1f6eadee

    the blue line is the average hash rate
    Post edited by bitmaxt on
  • workwork ✭✭✭✭ Member Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭✭
    @bitmaxt looks identical, considering obvious variance. You clearly can't compare the chart for 50MH/s vs 1GH/s. The variance in the GH chart will be nearly lost as minor noise.

    Number of workers/machines makes NO difference.
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    edited May 2016
    I got 13 x MSI OC Gamer 2GB - R7 370 cards. 2 machines with 6 x USB - PciE risers, running Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, 4gb ram, dual core CPU. At stock clock in Ubuntu, I get about 14 MH/s with the fglrx-updates driver. In Windows 10, the same 370 card will pull 15 to 15.5 MH/s
    The system total is about 770-780 watts/hour. So 780/6 = Less than 130 watts per card (plus subtract power to run cpu, mboard, fans, hd, memory, etc.) I'd say this card uses about 120 watts. The computer uses about 50 watts or less.

    I use ATITweak to overclock the cards to 1150mhz GPU and 1500mhz RAM.
    A 6 card system now uses about 850-900 watts (depending on temperature) on gold PSUs.

    In total I think I run a max of 22 GPUs. My 12,000 BTU AC is cranked on full blast and I have a ceiling duct for hot air.
    12,000 BTC = about 3500 watts of cooling. Heat generated by GPU is close to 12,000 BTC

    I have to keep all electronics under 3500 watts of use or the place will heat up :P.

    In the future I think I will get rid of my 7950, 7990, and 380 cards. The MSI 370 has been my best experience GPU mining. I've been GPU mining since 2012 BTW. :)

    I have 370, 380, 7990, 7950. The 370 runs much cooler than the 380. I get 16-16.5 mh/s @ 1150/1500.
    Ubuntu will not let me OC my 380 Sapphire cards. :( Or at least I still have to figure it out :pensive:

    Random thoughts everywhere....the only way I can reduce heat is to downvolt the GPU cores, so far the voltage changes will reset immediately in Ubuntu. Only way I can reduce wattage and increase performance is if I move to Windows.

    And oh yes, I do use Kill A watt meters :P Don't want to put more than 80% strain on my 20A circuits.

Sign In or Register to comment.