Motherboard for 4 GPU

syaoran99syaoran99 Member Posts: 204
Hi I'm pretty new to the ETH mining thing, I'm just wondering if my motherboard with 2 GPU slots is able to hold 4 GPU using any sort of "extension" adapters?

For example attaching risers to each GPU and have another GPU connected to it? Would that work somehow? or would I need to buy a new 4GPU slot MOBO?

Comments

• dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭
    You'll have a hard time running GPUs slammed next to each other in every MB slot without serious heat issues. Miners generally use PCIe x1-x16 powered risers. You can find them on the Web, although they vary widely in price, quality, and availability. They all come from China. I do not recommend the cheap ribbon cable type. You want the powered USB type. This allows you to mount you GPUs external to the PC case. Google around - there's plenty of info out there on the various mining sites. I have some risers that are working very well for me. I have extras, if you're interested, or I can give you the info on where I got mine, although I ordered in bulk directly from China using AliExpress.

-Best Care
    David
    Btw, this is the MB I'm using: ASRock H97 Anniversary LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard. It's a new MB intended (it seems) to replace Asrock's older (and problem-prone) BTC mining MB. I have had great results, so far (I'm running 5 of them). And they're cheap: Newegg $79 qty 1, $71 qty 2-5. You get 1 x16 PCIe2 slot and 5 x1 slots. I run one GPU in the MB x16 slot and use 5 risers in the x1 slots, so 6 GPUs per rig. I use a Intel i3 4160 processor, which I consider to be the best buy for CPUs - 2 cores, 4 threads, 3.6 GHz, for about $121. It's still a bit of overkill for mining, but it's a very capable processor for the money. HTH.

-Best Care
    David
  • syaoran99syaoran99 Member Posts: 204
    dlehenky said: