So how do I backup wallet?

ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
I've been mining a while and I want to make sure I backup my (Olympic) wallet.

I have an idea of how to do that, but I REALLY don't want to mess this up.

Can anyone walk me through that so that I can make sure I haven't lost anything?

Comments

• oliverkxoliverkx Member Posts: 85
    I am a newb myself in this area, but I imagine that all the info you need to keep control of those mined ethers is the 40 character address you specified in you geth command line, and the password you gave when you created the address. The address itself can be public - you can email it to yourself, so you'll have it even if your computer goes up in flames (which is completely possible with a mining rig). For the password, the best would be to write it down on paper, and not keep it anywhere on file, as you just expose yourself to hacking attacks.

If more knowledgeable people would like to chime in, I would love to hear what the pros recommend...
  • jesus666jesus666 Member Posts: 62 ✭✭
    @ConradJohnson In your datadir (e.g. on OSX the default is ~/Library/Application Support/Ethereum) you have a subdirectory called keystore. This something you'd want to back up.

However, please make sure your backup works (e.g. remove the keys and copy them back) before you decide to overwrite your datadir.
  • fostergfosterg Member Posts: 1
    how do I back up my ETHER? tia
  • dlehenkydlehenky Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭✭