GPU Mining is out, come and let us know of your bench scores!

13468947

Comments

  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73
    edited September 2015
    bartab said:

    trotol said:

    with the help of Stephan: :)
    win7 x64 professional sp1 /// 5*hd7950 (1050/1250) ///8Gb ram+12GB page
    geth + ethminer
    124000000 h/s - max
    120000000 h/s - typical

    120 MHs / 5 cards --> that would be 24 MHs per single 7950 card :o . Well, this is very high number. I see others (mostly on Linux) getting approx 14 Mhs per 7950 card. Is there any Windows/Linux trick with ethminer? Which Catalyst drivers (13.x, 14.x, 15.x) are best?
    I was asking myself the same, seems like those are overclocked no ?
    5*hd7950 (1050/1250)

    mine clocks at 850 MHz, dunno if that 1050 is the clock


    I did some tests myself with clocks 1100/1500 but couldn't get more then 14 MHs on Ubuntu 14.04, drivers fglrx 15.20.2 (latest from fglrx-updates, equal to Catalyst 15.7 on Windows: http://www2.ati.com/rss/catalyst.rss). So, any hints on how to get those 24 MHs?
  • trotoltrotol Member Posts: 102
    edited September 2015
    indeed,
    I have lowered to @950/1250 and it pulls @120mh/s now.
    all the 7950gpus are stilt-biosed B)

    PS 5*r9 290 /// @950gpu/1000mem /// Win7 x64 /// Cat 14.12
    132mh/s
  • ImAMiner?ImAMiner? Member Posts: 208 ✭✭
    trotol said:

    indeed,
    I have lowered to @950/1250 and it pulls @120mh/s now.
    all the 7950gpus are stilt-biosed B)

    PS 5*r9 290 /// @950gpu/1000mem /// Win7 x64 /// Cat 14.12
    132mh/s

    Interesting, stilt's back in play. So your 7950s on stilt make 24mh/s each but are your 290s on stilt's? You lowered the 290 memclock to 1000 and they do 26mh/s but that doesn't seem like much of an improvement.
  • eliy7eliy7 Member Posts: 14
    Ubuntu 15.04/ i5-2310/ 4GB RAM
    3xMSI R9-390 8GB RAM
    75 MH/s
  • sjenjasjenja Member Posts: 11
    edited September 2015
    Windows 7 / 15.7/i5-2500k/8GB RAM
    ASUS R9 280X DirectCU II TOP 3 GB
    @1150gpu/1625mem pulling 27.6MH/s ~230Watt on a silver PSU.
    @1070gpu/1600mem pulling 26MH/s ~200Watt on a silver PSU.
    more test coming as I will get more gpu' s home.
    Post edited by sjenja on
  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73

    bartab said:

    trotol said:

    with the help of Stephan: :)
    win7 x64 professional sp1 /// 5*hd7950 (1050/1250) ///8Gb ram+12GB page
    geth + ethminer
    124000000 h/s - max
    120000000 h/s - typical

    120 MHs / 5 cards --> that would be 24 MHs per single 7950 card :o . Well, this is very high number. I see others (mostly on Linux) getting approx 14 Mhs per 7950 card. Is there any Windows/Linux trick with ethminer? Which Catalyst drivers (13.x, 14.x, 15.x) are best?
    I was asking myself the same, seems like those are overclocked no ?
    5*hd7950 (1050/1250)

    mine clocks at 850 MHz, dunno if that 1050 is the clock


    I did some tests myself with clocks 1100/1500 but couldn't get more then 14 MHs on Ubuntu 14.04, drivers fglrx 15.20.2 (latest from fglrx-updates, equal to Catalyst 15.7 on Windows: http://www2.ati.com/rss/catalyst.rss). So, any hints on how to get those 24 MHs?
    OK, did some more testing. Switched to Ubuntu 14.10, drivers fglrx 14.20.7 (equal to Catalyst 14.4) and I now get 24 MHs on 7950 and 26 MHs on 7970. That's pretty decent.

    Btw: I have a total of apprx. 150 MHs ... is it worth to solo-mine or pool mining is actually only option with the current Network hashrate?
  • BitspenderBitspender Member Posts: 4
    Windows 10 / i7 4770k/ 32Gb RAM
    Sapphire R9 290 Trixx

    CORE +38 / CLOCK 1200 / MEM 1400
    min/mean/max: 30650414/30736763/3087628
    inner mean: 30719040 H/s
    Phoning home to find world ranking...
  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73
    Is there any way to check the hashrate of ethminer via API or any similar way? It's annoying to watch ethminer output to see the hashrate ...
  • taylor_luktaylor_luk Member Posts: 16
    @kenshirothefist I am wondering the same question.

    if there are some Ethminer or Geth API that exposes individual miners Hash rate like how they do it on nanopool?

    Taylor
  • frequencyfrequency Member Posts: 15
    UBUNTU / 15.04 / GETHv1.1.2/go1.5

    11x HD7970 3gb 22 mh 242mh total
    3x R9 280x 3gb 25 mh 75mh total
    2x R9 290 4gb 23.5 mh 47mh total
    1x HD7950 3gb 20 mh 20mh total




  • taylor_luktaylor_luk Member Posts: 16
    frequency said:

    UBUNTU / 15.04 / GETHv1.1.2/go1.5

    11x HD7970 3gb 22 mh 242mh total
    3x R9 280x 3gb 25 mh 75mh total
    2x R9 290 4gb 23.5 mh 47mh total
    1x HD7950 3gb 20 mh 20mh total




    What motherboard are you using to get 11 GPUs going? Are you using PCIe splitter? I am looking for mobo setup with 8+ cards.
  • DafaceDaface Member Posts: 9
    Windows10 64b/Eth 0.9.41/Ethminer

    2*R9 390 8GB 32mh 64mh total
  • frequencyfrequency Member Posts: 15
    edited September 2015

    frequency said:

    UBUNTU / 15.04 / GETHv1.1.2/go1.5

    11x HD7970 3gb 22 mh 242mh total
    3x R9 280x 3gb 25 mh 75mh total
    2x R9 290 4gb 23.5 mh 47mh total
    1x HD7950 3gb 20 mh 20mh total




    What motherboard are you using to get 11 GPUs going? Are you using PCIe splitter? I am looking for mobo setup with 8+ cards.
    I use 3mobo (asrocks 970extr) with 5 gpu and 1 mobo with 2gpu i use psu lepa1600w with 10/2x pci-e connections, and i use setup with 2x psu750w with splitter.
    All mounted in a aluminium rack connected with pci-e risers

    i wouldn't want to use more than 5 gpu per mobo but its possible bilding a rig.
  • taylor_luktaylor_luk Member Posts: 16
    edited September 2015
    I have a new HD7970 @ 26MH

    global-work @8192
    local-work @128
    [email protected]:~$ export DISPLAY=:0; sudo aticonfig --odgc --odgt
    [sudo] password for ubuntu: 
    
    Default Adapter - AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
                                Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
               Current Clocks :    1050           1400
                 Current Peak :    1050           1400
      Configurable Peak Range : [300-1200]     [150-1650]
                     GPU load :    99%
    
    Default Adapter - AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
                      Sensor 0: Temperature - 74.00 C
    I have seen it solved 3 blocks but reports GPU gave incorrect result.

    Are these params too aggressive that it returns incorrect result?

    ✘ 18:03:19| ethminer FAILURE: GPU gave incorrect result!
  • GenoilGenoil 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4dMember Posts: 769 ✭✭✭
    @taylor_luk I suspect this may have something to do with the mining thread still working on the previous block, while the thread that validates the solution is already on the next block. But it could also be a GPU glitch. Anyway, as long as you only get these sporadically, it isn't a big deal.
  • tuppydogtuppydog Member Posts: 26
    Miner1 = 3 R9 280x Toxics + 1 7970 = sapphire ~125Mh/s
    Miner2 - 3 R9 280x Toxics + 1 7970 sapphire ~ 107Mh/s
    Miner3 - 4 7970 Sapphires ~83Mh/s
    Miner4 - 1 R9 270x + 3 7970 sapphire ~97Mh/s
    Ave Range Total (depending how flaky my router and internet speed is): 375Mh/s - 500Mh/s

    All cards are used AMD Sapphire cards bought off of ebay.
    Board used for all is the Arock H81 BTC (horrible MOBO) but $59.
  • DafaceDaface Member Posts: 9
    1x7990 + 1xR9 390 = 91.5 Mh/s
  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73
    edited September 2015
    Short question: on one of my miners (ubuntu, ethminer 0.9.91) I can successfully start miner but I only see these lines:

    ℹ 21:01:35|gpuminer0 workLoop 1 #6d29f6dd… #6d29f6dd…
    ℹ 21:01:36|gpuminer0 workLoop 1 #6d29f6dd… #6d29f6dd…
    ...

    I don't see any lines "miner .... " lines

    However I see that the load of the GPU (AMD 7950) is at 100%.

    How can I make sure that the GPU is actually mining and is there any option to show the "miner ..." lines? I even tried adding verbosity parameter "-v 9" but nothing changed.

    Anybody with similar issues?

    edit:

    hmm, it looks that the ethminer from ubuntu repository is built with less verbosity ... I complied my own version and I see full "miner ..." lines now ...
  • PansyfaustPansyfaust Member Posts: 29
    Only getting around 90Mhs with 2XR9 280X (1100/1500) and 1 7990(1000/1500)

    On win 7X64.
  • Marvell9Marvell9 Member Posts: 593 ✭✭✭

    bartab said:

    trotol said:

    with the help of Stephan: :)
    win7 x64 professional sp1 /// 5*hd7950 (1050/1250) ///8Gb ram+12GB page
    geth + ethminer
    124000000 h/s - max
    120000000 h/s - typical

    120 MHs / 5 cards --> that would be 24 MHs per single 7950 card :o . Well, this is very high number. I see others (mostly on Linux) getting approx 14 Mhs per 7950 card. Is there any Windows/Linux trick with ethminer? Which Catalyst drivers (13.x, 14.x, 15.x) are best?
    I was asking myself the same, seems like those are overclocked no ?
    5*hd7950 (1050/1250)

    mine clocks at 850 MHz, dunno if that 1050 is the clock


    I did some tests myself with clocks 1100/1500 but couldn't get more then 14 MHs on Ubuntu 14.04, drivers fglrx 15.20.2 (latest from fglrx-updates, equal to Catalyst 15.7 on Windows: http://www2.ati.com/rss/catalyst.rss). So, any hints on how to get those 24 MHs?
    I run standard clocks and get around 23.5 mhs/s
    on a 7 gpu rig i see hash rates as high as 166 mh/s and as low as 155 , when it gets cooler i will try a mild overclock and try and squeeze out another 1-2 mh/s per card
  • Marvell9Marvell9 Member Posts: 593 ✭✭✭

    @kenshirothefist I am wondering the same question.

    if there are some Ethminer or Geth API that exposes individual miners Hash rate like how they do it on nanopool?

    Taylor

    Actually if you do " geth attach" on your geth instance and then type "eth"

    you will see the curretn hash rate is displayed there its some big number not sure what unit of mesaure they use but it should be trivail to create a dashboard that pulls this number in realtime and displays it in mh/s

  • kenshirothefistkenshirothefist Member Posts: 73
    Marvell9 said:


    Actually if you do " geth attach" on your geth instance and then type "eth"

    you will see the curretn hash rate is displayed there its some big number not sure what unit of mesaure they use but it should be trivail to create a dashboard that pulls this number in realtime and displays it in mh/s

    Hmm, I see this number:

    hashrate: 72955810727690180,

    But this number does not make any sense at all. I'm mining with three rigs 165 Mhs + 25 Mhs + 15 Mhs therefore the total hashrate should be approx. 200 Mhs

    Moreover, after a minute this number changes a lot:

    hashrate: 5973435984647768000

    Now, what exactly is this number, what does it represent? Some number of accepted shares?
  • taylor_luktaylor_luk Member Posts: 16
    Daface said:

    1x7990 + 1xR9 390 = 91.5 Mh/s

    Do you want to share the individual hash rate, core/mem clock and volt for these cars?

    I have a 7990 does about 50MH undervolt at 950/1250mhz, that 390 must be close to 40MH.
  • TheWorldOwlTheWorldOwl Member Posts: 3
    edited September 2015
    Ubuntu 15.04, 3 x ATI Radeon 290x Sapphire = 72MH/s
  • DafaceDaface Member Posts: 9

    Daface said:

    1x7990 + 1xR9 390 = 91.5 Mh/s

    Do you want to share the individual hash rate, core/mem clock and volt for these cars?

    I have a 7990 does about 50MH undervolt at 950/1250mhz, that 390 must be close to 40MH.
    The 7990 is running at 1175 core and 1500 mem (cannot down clock mem on this card...)
    The R9390 is running at 1175 core and 1175mem(on this specific card syncing the mem and core clocks gives me the best result and keeps temps lower)
    Combined they run best at global work size of 16384 and 8192 with not much effective difference given average block time of 17s.

    The 7990's is running at 59mh/s and the R9390 at 32.5 mh/s
  • DafaceDaface Member Posts: 9
    Note these are at stock voltages.
    The 7990 can go to 1200core stable without voltage tweaking but temps do rise here...runs at 1.2v
    The R9390 can go 1225core stable with a slight voltage tweak to 1.192v but again temps start rising rapidly here so I prefer to run them a bit cooler at 1175.
  • MrYukonCMrYukonC Member Posts: 627 ✭✭✭
    Daface said:

    Daface said:

    1x7990 + 1xR9 390 = 91.5 Mh/s

    Do you want to share the individual hash rate, core/mem clock and volt for these cars?

    I have a 7990 does about 50MH undervolt at 950/1250mhz, that 390 must be close to 40MH.
    The 7990 is running at 1175 core and 1500 mem (cannot down clock mem on this card...)
    The R9390 is running at 1175 core and 1175mem(on this specific card syncing the mem and core clocks gives me the best result and keeps temps lower)
    Combined they run best at global work size of 16384 and 8192 with not much effective difference given average block time of 17s.

    The 7990's is running at 59mh/s and the R9390 at 32.5 mh/s
    Just so you know, the ethereum hash algo is quite sensitive to VRAM speed / clocks. I found that when I was underclocking the VRAM on my R9 280Xs to 1100 MHz, I was giving up a pretty big percentage of my hashrate vs running them at the stock 1500 MHz.

    I do of course undervolt the gpu core, but found that the kw/hash ratio more or less remained the same with the VRAM @ 1100 vs 1500 with heat being the only difference. So, when underclocking VRAM, you're really only slowing down your hashing and saving a little due to less heat -- and that savings due to less heat is probably negligible at best.
  • DafaceDaface Member Posts: 9
    MrYukonC said:

    Daface said:

    Daface said:

    1x7990 + 1xR9 390 = 91.5 Mh/s

    Do you want to share the individual hash rate, core/mem clock and volt for these cars?

    I have a 7990 does about 50MH undervolt at 950/1250mhz, that 390 must be close to 40MH.
    The 7990 is running at 1175 core and 1500 mem (cannot down clock mem on this card...)
    The R9390 is running at 1175 core and 1175mem(on this specific card syncing the mem and core clocks gives me the best result and keeps temps lower)
    Combined they run best at global work size of 16384 and 8192 with not much effective difference given average block time of 17s.

    The 7990's is running at 59mh/s and the R9390 at 32.5 mh/s
    Just so you know, the ethereum hash algo is quite sensitive to VRAM speed / clocks. I found that when I was underclocking the VRAM on my R9 280Xs to 1100 MHz, I was giving up a pretty big percentage of my hashrate vs running them at the stock 1500 MHz.

    I do of course undervolt the gpu core, but found that the kw/hash ratio more or less remained the same with the VRAM @ 1100 vs 1500 with heat being the only difference. So, when underclocking VRAM, you're really only slowing down your hashing and saving a little due to less heat -- and that savings due to less heat is probably negligible at best.
    For the R9 390's I get the best rate if I sync the mem clock with the core clock. Increasing the mem clock to stock simply degrades my Mh/s rate. Not by very much but around 300kh/s. So no point in wasting electricity and adding heat. Cards likely differ. With the 7990 it is exactly the opposite. If I underclock the mem on that it gives me a lot less Mh/s.
  • McolmanMcolman Member Posts: 5
    Hitting 45Mh on a 390X, modded miner. For those interested, it's for sale!

  • o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Member, Moderator Posts: 1,285 mod
    Daface said:


    The 7990's is running at 59mh/s and the R9390 at 32.5 mh/s

    Man I really need to pull my finger out on my 7990. It's only doing 45... One core seems wound back for some reason.

Sign In or Register to comment.