Distributed peer to peer rideshare app

I'm interested in the concept of a rideshare app like lyft or uber that replaces the centralized entity with a distributed network.

Please forgive my limited knowledge, I am not a coder and only have basic understandings of cryptographic concepts. As I understand it, transactions would of course be processed by the blockchain. GPS information could be distributed as data packs like bittorrent between customers and service providers (drivers). It seem like the network required to route data would not be too intensive, should easily be able to be run over laptop or desktop computers. Is there any technical limitations that would prevent devices like smartphones or tablets with an internet connection from being able to support the network on their own?

My thoughts are drivers could ideally run the network from their phone, routing data between nodes. If phones are not able to effectively run the network then there would need to be a network of computers maintained to keep the network alive which would be more complicated, though likely still workable. It seems most traffic would be routed fairly directly as a customer would be sending their GPS into to the nearest available driver and vise versa and should not be too intensive.

When a driver receives a request, ideally for their safety there should be a function to give the driver the ability to assess the risk of accepting the request though some kind of reputation system, it wouldn't necessarily have to be tied to anyone personal identity, in fact I would think ideally not, but should have a ranking system, possibly reviews/comments in the style of lyft or yelp. Customers should also have a similar interface, which would also include the drive's rates/fees, and any additional information they share like make and model of vehicle, number of seats, acceptable range of service, cancellation fees ect.