Suitable HW for mining

fflffl Member Posts: 19
Any more information about what kind of HW would be suitable for mining? Thoughts on bottlenecks?

Comments

• fflffl Member Posts: 19
    This was initially a misfire from a total newbie. I managed to miss the entire mining section.

However, while I am here. Does anyone have any thoughts about running ethereum on this little fella?

http://www.parallella.org/board/
  • Maren85Maren85 Member Posts: 41
    If you've read the other threads etc on mining you'll see it's all up in the air right now, the writeups and guides are still being done and a lot of information will be gathered during the Frontier(dev) launch which should be anytime now as long as the Go team get finished soon.

There are some things better than others, from what I've read you need at least 2gig of decent RAM to be in the game. The GPU mining writeups are being done and it's already been added to the CPP program, I assume the others will be the same.

I read somewhere that the last generation of graphics cards are the most efficient and AMD over Nvidia as they have the better OpenCL drivers and optimizations.

I'm sure there will be plenty of official guides and comparisons done in time but don't forget it's no where near launch yet.

Hopefully frontier all goes smoothly without any major hiccups and us lowly users be using Ethereum pretty soon!

I've been following it for about a year and I seemed to have ages a decade in that time waiting for it, I wonder what the devs feel like!
  • ConradJohnsonConradJohnson Member Posts: 130 ✭✭
    edited April 2015
    Read the end of this thread - https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/2036/gpu-mining-software-nvidia-amd#latest

Just my unscientific research, but looks like AMD's openCL implementation is better hash per dollar.
  • StephanTualStephanTual London, EnglandMember, Moderator Posts: 1,282 mod