Red Devil RX 580 8GB Straps

RyTEKRyTEK Member Posts: 40
I am used to running Red Devil 8GB RX 480s and have had great success copying the 1:1750 straps to 1:2000.

I was very surprised this weekend when I was tuning my 2 new Red Devil 8GB RX 580s and as I was copying the 1:1750 straps to 1:2000, I also saw 2:1500, 2:1625, 2:1750, 2:2000 and 2:2250. What is this 2nd set of timings???

I noticed that my hashrate did not improve when I copied my 1:1750 straps to 1:2000, but only improved when I copied 2:1750 to 2:2000 and 2:2250.

MY QUESTION: does anybody have experience copying the 2:1500 or 2:1625 straps to the higher straps???

Comments

  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    edited November 2017
    It depends what memsize and memchips on these devils. 8 GB Hynix is worst case.
  • RyTEKRyTEK Member Posts: 40
    Just to clarify... are you saying that 1625 straps may be good to copy to the higher straps if these are Samsung modules?

    I get what you are saying about Hynix, that the 1750 may be as tight as the timings can be pushed without error.
  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    RyTEK said:

    Just to clarify... are you saying that 1625 straps may be good to copy to the higher straps if these are Samsung modules?

    I get what you are saying about Hynix, that the 1750 may be as tight as the timings can be pushed without error.

    My experince:
    Samsung do best with native 1750 straps.
    Elpida do best with native 1500 straps.
    Hynix 4 GB do best with native 1500 straps.
    Hynix 8 GB do best with samsung 1750 straps.
  • RyTEKRyTEK Member Posts: 40
    Thanks @jukebox I will fire up GPU-Z to see what memory modules came on the Red Devil RX 580s. I did a forum search and I see that @boysie also had these cards - any additional tips Boysie?
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 591 ✭✭✭
    yep use 1.6.1 pbe and use the auto patcher, it seems they use a mix of mem, also dont change clock from default 1360. for some odd reason these cards are strange, they really did a number on them not my fev card, 480s were lush 580s are not so. if you can return them and get different ones.
  • RyTEKRyTEK Member Posts: 40
    edited November 2017
    @boysie @Jukebox thanks for the help! I actually downloaded PBE 1.6.3 and auto configed as suggested. Indeed, these cards have a mix of Hynix and Samsung memory. Am now running at 29.7mH/s (per card) with -cclock 1150 -mclock 2100. Now these RX 580s are hashing as well as my RX 480s, but just a few degrees cooler.
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 329 ✭✭✭
    @Jukebox Hynix 8GB isn't so bad, just don't use the shitty PBE timings.
  • JukeboxJukebox Member Posts: 640 ✭✭✭
    Wolf0 said:

    @Jukebox Hynix 8GB isn't so bad, just don't use the shitty PBE timings.

    I mean "bad" in context that need to use modded Samsung timings to implant.
Sign In or Register to comment.