On the Fee Schedule

fsefse Member Posts: 2
I'm quite new to ethereum but after reading the white and yellow papers I must say I'm very excited about it! I, however, have a worry about the fee schedule. My background is in economics and I tend to focus on how such a schedule incentivizes people rather than the more computer science oriented parts. From that perspective I see three potential problems with the current schedule. Being new to this, I hope I've not misunderstood anything or missed if this already is a ongoing discussion.
  1. Data storage. Storing data in the ethereum blockchain is extremely cheap and there is no incentive to remove data that is not needed. This is potentially a huge problem as, unlike most other blockchain implementations, any data can be stored in it and therefore runs the risk of being exploited.

As a, maybe not completely fair but still illustrative, example: Storing one 32-byte word in Amazon's AWS for one month costs more than 800 000 times the cost of a single ordinary computational operation (see below for calculation). In ethereum the cost of storing a 32-byte word indefinitely is only 200 times the cost a computational operation. This is of course only the relative price, the absolute price is likely to still be lower at Amazon. This, however, incentivizes developers in ethereum to develop applications with a space–time tradeoff that does not reflect the true costs.

An example of this would be any Dapp with a bit of complexity (and it does not need to be much) which then would benefit from caching all incoming calls. E.g., a Dapp that require 4 000 fuel to complete, could for an extra 200 one-time fuel cost reduce all subsequent calls to a mere 20 (a single SLOAD operation). Imagine if most Dapp start caching every call and what that would do to the size of the blockchain.