Undervolting Through Hex Editor- SimpleMining

Comments

• mike_domike_do Member Posts: 25
    edited August 2017
    I am a complete novice to this, so I am still figuring out what happened. I think I just had a bit of a breakthrough, which I am sharing for those who are learning like me.

The code @wolf0 added in the VOI to do the offset was: D2 00 00 00 E6 00 F4 00

I don't know that I yet understand what D2 00 00 00 does, but I think it has to do with selecting the right "loop" - though I have no idea what that is.

It appears E6 00 F4 00 is where the -75mv magic is happening.

Referencing the data sheet for the regulator (NCP81022) I discovered that the E6 register is "special purpose offset" (a.k.a the Wolf0 register). :) Apparently the format in hex is to address register, 0xE6, then follow with 0x00, then data you're putting in the register, 0xF4, followed by 0x00. The F4 confused me for a while but knowing Wolf0 set offset to -75mV and talked about two's compliment in the past I started messing with hex/bin/dec calculators. Here's what it means:

0xF4 -> binary = 11110100
    binary -> two's complement: 00001100
    binary -> two's complement decimal: -12

So, -12. What the heck is that!? Then I remembered offsets are multiples of 6.25mv. Sure enough -12 * 6.25 = -75.

So, @Wolf0, if "stock" voltage is 1000mV and I want card at ~810 I want my offset the E6 register to be -30 (-30 * 6.25 = -187.5, 1000mv - 187.5mv = 812.5mv). To set E6 to -30 I should send it 0x22? Is that right?

• Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 329 ✭✭✭
    rhaegon said:

I remember when i modded my own BIOS (i had also NCP80122 VRM) and it worked for me only adding E6 00 XX 00 , D2 00 00 00 part wasn't necessary on my RX570 Nitro+, weird. I wish my uP9505 were so easy as NCP80122

Now that I think about it - the NCP81022's registers are NOT cleared on a warm boot. Naomi probably still had junk in 0xD2 - which meant I had to reset it before doing my undervolt. This could probably be omitted.