Too late to look into mining?

yomommayomomma Member Posts: 3
Is it too late to get into mining? I am learning about it, and read about PoS, and wondered if it happened already.

Comments

• kekekekekekekeke Member Posts: 61
    This question gets asked a lot. It's up to you really. People will say it's too late, but just remember there's always other currencies to GPU mine. If you're interested and you have money to spare, I'd say why not? I'm no expert but PoS hasn't happened yet, it is expected to before 2018 from what I can gather.
  • yomommayomomma Member Posts: 3
    Thanks for the honest answer. You get so many conflicting statements, and I guess I will have to start small and see how I can expand.
  • EtherealmsEtherealms Member Posts: 60
    edited March 2017
    I have been in the same dilemna just getting started. Then I realized there will always be something to mine. For me also it is as much about the fun of it as well, I love playing with hardware and tuning it!
  • LickMyNvidiaLickMyNvidia Member Posts: 36
    One year ago next month everyone said don't do it! ETH is moving to PoS. I didn't listen, and have $6200, after expenses, in my pocket because of it. Like Etheralms said "...there will always be something to mine." If not, you will have had a learning experience. Just don't let it get out of control. Don't take out a mortgage to pay for it, don't "go with-out" to pay for it. If you want to a hobby, give it a try. Hobbies that have an ability to make you money are always better then hobbies that cost money.

Start small and let it grow on it's self. At the very least it will be fun!
  • yomommayomomma Member Posts: 3
    I think you experience says it all, and the others- who don't recommend it - are a bunch of tools.
  • vgmvgm Member Posts: 56
    If you assume people are intentionally giving bad advice, then you aren't doing your homework! I know from experience, because I'm a miner with multiple 6 x 480 rigs.