Developing Guidelines for acceptable Promotion and Marketing on the Ethereum Forum

o0ragman0oo0ragman0o Member, Moderator Posts: 1,291 mod
Taking a breath from my dev work to make a long over due post...

For those that don't know me, I am an independent Ethereum developer, long time community member and one of the moderators of this forum. The global Ethereum community holds an enviable respect for its online and offline cultures which I'm proud to be a part of. By this, member behaviour on this forum very rarely warrants any kind of moderator intervention at all which is definitely a positive thing on any internet forum. My roll then is left to be little more than a manual spam filter and new accounts approver. This requires that I process the new applicants and flagged spam lists each day, or a few times a day.

Like any online forum, and more importantly, for a technical one like this, there is ever a struggle to keep the signal to noise ratio as high as possible. At the fore-front of that effort is to assess new applicants based upon very limited information. While many persistent attempts for membership are made daily by easily identifiable spammers as well as those of good intent, there is a wide grey area where the lack of provided information prevents an immediate decision to approve or deny membership. Where information has not been provided or is in the pattern of known spammers the applicant is typically blocked. These blocks have no doubt included many unfair false positives over which I feel quite uncomfortable.