Undervolting in ethOS

813bits813bits Member Posts: 12
So i changed the timings on my cards (rx 470 4gb) in a Windows 10/Claymore environment, then I booted back to ethOS and adjusted my core and memory values at runtime in my local config and tweaked them until all cards were happy (settings below).

cor xxxx 1150 1150 1150 1130 1130 1140
mem xxx 2000 2000 2000 1900 1900 1950

They are running great and I want to undervolt them, which I found some suggested settings in another post:

1130/1900 @ 900mV-920mV
1140/1950 @ 940mV-950mV
1150/2000 @ 950mV-970mv

So the example voltage setting in ethOS looks like the following:

vlt xxxx 1.118 1.118 1.118 1.118 0 1.118

Show what would the setting be to undervolt the 1130/1900, would it be .920?

Thanks.

Comments

  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 322 ✭✭✭
    The vlt keyword doesn't work with RX cards - you're wasting your time.
  • 813bits813bits Member Posts: 12
    Wolf0 said:

    The vlt keyword doesn't work with RX cards - you're wasting your time.

    So are you saying that undervolting is NOT possible with ethOS? How about the powertune setting?
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 322 ✭✭✭
    813bits said:

    Wolf0 said:

    The vlt keyword doesn't work with RX cards - you're wasting your time.

    So are you saying that undervolting is NOT possible with ethOS? How about the powertune setting?
    I didn't say that. A VBIOS mod will undervolt.

    Powertune is... different. It instructs the driver to drop to a lower state, which will (almost certainly) have a lower voltage associated with it. However, you cannot control at all what voltage gets set, really.
  • 813bits813bits Member Posts: 12
    Wolf0 said:

    813bits said:

    Wolf0 said:

    The vlt keyword doesn't work with RX cards - you're wasting your time.

    So are you saying that undervolting is NOT possible with ethOS? How about the powertune setting?
    I didn't say that. A VBIOS mod will undervolt.

    Powertune is... different. It instructs the driver to drop to a lower state, which will (almost certainly) have a lower voltage associated with it. However, you cannot control at all what voltage gets set, really.
    So if I am understanding correctly, does that mean I could mod the bios (just like the straps) for voltage and it will maintain that setting? I would be willing to pay for those modded bioses that can get me running more efficient than I am now.
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 322 ✭✭✭
  • compoundgrowthcompoundgrowth Member Posts: 9
    Why not offer some advice for everyone about bios under volt? We are here to help and support each other right? Not just profit from each other.....
  • krymekryme Member Posts: 1
    So how much would it cost for you to provide me with a good undervolt my RX 470s (the latest model) 11256-31-21G and 11256-31-31G.

    I'm currently getting ~22.5 MH/s with some quick memory straps on the Samsung card and 23MH/s with the non-Samsung memory ones. With some OCs I was able to pull nearly 27MH/s but my power usage went through the roof.
  • DonVitoDonVito Member Posts: 1
    hi everyone I wonder if you can help me:

    I managed to overclock my GPU using your instructions. What worries me is its power consumption. Is there any way to undervolt it in bios?

    I made some test based on 1 GPU to give you an example:

    1 x Ellesmere RX 580 MS-V34113-F1

    ethOS local.conf:

    1 ----------------------------------
    globalminer ethminer
    globalcore 1050
    globalmem 2200
    globalpowertune 3
    flags --farm-recheck 200
    globalfan 50
    HASH = 25.19
    POWER CONSUMPTION = 167 WATT

    2 ------------------------------------
    globalcore 1150
    globalmem 2200
    HASH = 27.03
    POWER = 176 WATT

    3 -----------------------------------
    globalminer ethminer
    globalcore 1250
    globalmem 2200
    HASH = 28.21
    POWER = 181 WATT

    4 ----------------------------------
    globalminer ethminer
    globalcore 1350
    globalmem 2200
    HASH = 28.84
    POWER = 187 WATT

    5 ----------------------------------
    globalminer ethminer
    globalcore 1450 - unstable
    globalmem 2200
    HASH = 29.00
    POWER = 247 WATT

    6 -----------------------------------
    globalcore 1380 - unstable
    globalmem 2200
    HASH = 28.94
    POWER = 188 WATT

    The best results I have with test 4. with 2 x GPU the Power consumption = 352 Watt

    Is there anything I can do in GPU Bios to lower down the Power Consumption?
  • 54goof54goof Member Posts: 1
    So now that ethOS supports the voltage settings for RX, has anyone tried to mess with the settings for the RX 580? I have a some rigs I want to test out, but, have zero experience with undervolting
  • Wolf0Wolf0 Member Posts: 322 ✭✭✭
    54goof said:

    So now that ethOS supports the voltage settings for RX, has anyone tried to mess with the settings for the RX 580? I have a some rigs I want to test out, but, have zero experience with undervolting

    Just gonna warn you - if you plan to push your cards by raising the voltage... the voltage reported (and set) by EthOS is wrong. It's always higher than shown, in my tests (except when reading the idle voltage.)
  • theclamtheclam Member Posts: 75
    Thanks for heads up Wolf - you are certainly a trusted source!!! In my case i'm undervaluing slightly... so far so good, saved ~170watts at the wall for each 6 GPU rig.
Sign In or Register to comment.