RX 470 mining

2456735

Comments

  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Hmm those undervolted 470 4gb numbers make it look like it has equal, or better hashrate/power consumption compared to 480 (if the 480 is like 100-125w for 25mhs)

    I wonder how the hashrate per power consumption of the 470 8gb fits in
  • coyotevcoyotev Member Posts: 42
    Nice. And what about temps?
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    Thanks for the measurements. But can you also post how much power it uses with ETH solo mining ?
  • TrantidonTrantidon Member Posts: 65
    What is the main reason to go for 470 instead of 480? Also how much did you pay for these cards please? I plan on something similar.
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
    I've made some edits. temps are really good and fan speed is very good also..but remember this is at rock bottom mode, once we get access to the mem clock changes and we can actually over clock then I expect this will change a lot.
  • YogiYogi Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    boysie said:

    I've made some edits. temps are really good and fan speed is very good also..but remember this is at rock bottom mode, once we get access to the mem clock changes and we can actually over clock then I expect this will change a lot.

    Thanks for posting all this info. Really helps to make decisions. How come you can't clock the memory ? Does it just kill the hashrate ? Have you tried 1875 / 2000 / 2125 steps ?
  • th00berth00ber Member Posts: 213 ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    If the card drop under the 200€ with custom fans (199€ for a Sapphire could be possible)
    With 20MH/s ETH + 450 MH/s SIA for 100W is a good deal with 2.5$/day of income
    Post edited by th00ber on
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    Yogi said:

    boysie said:

    I've made some edits. temps are really good and fan speed is very good also..but remember this is at rock bottom mode, once we get access to the mem clock changes and we can actually over clock then I expect this will change a lot.

    Thanks for posting all this info. Really helps to make decisions. How come you can't clock the memory ? Does it just kill the hashrate ? Have you tried 1875 / 2000 / 2125 steps ?
    its a bug in wattman It seems, fixed in next version according to amd. not much we can do until then.

    :(
  • StreetlightStreetlight Member Posts: 23
    edited August 2016
    Driver update. 16.8.1

    RADEON RX 470 NITRO+ OC 8192MB ver mem overclock...

    from 2000 to 2100. Wont let me go past 2100.
  • OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
    20 of these guys. Time to get started
  • StreetlightStreetlight Member Posts: 23
    edited August 2016
    Any one with a Radeon RX 470 Nitro+ OC 4096MB?

    What Mh/s are you getting? and how much can you overclock the mem to in wattman with the new 16.8.1 driver?
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭

    Any one with a Radeon RX 470 Nitro+ OC 4096MB?

    What Mh/s are you getting? and how much can you overclock the mem to in wattman with the new 16.8.1 driver?

    22.1Mh
    you can now change the mem but you wont want to..it offers nothing but crashing and a poor experience.

    I'm sticking with -20%/800 1750/800 dual mining @ 22/330
  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    boysie said:

    Any one with a Radeon RX 470 Nitro+ OC 4096MB?

    What Mh/s are you getting? and how much can you overclock the mem to in wattman with the new 16.8.1 driver?

    22.1Mh
    you can now change the mem but you wont want to..it offers nothing but crashing and a poor experience.

    I'm sticking with -20%/800 1750/800 dual mining @ 22/330
    may i know the ETH only mining hashrate? can we go 25MH?
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    eth only is no different....its still 22.1, just uses less power.
  • lex7lex7 Member Posts: 10
    RX 470 Nitro+ OC 8 GB
    my system fail with -20%/800 1750/800 i have 16.7.3 driver
    out of the box was 24.5 MH
    now run 25.28 MH with 2050 Memory
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    lex7 said:

    RX 470 Nitro+ OC 8 GB
    my system fail with -20%/800 1750/800 i have 16.7.3 driver
    out of the box was 24.5 MH
    now run 25.28 MH with 2050 Memory

    what power usage then? coz my 4g nitro is a huge power eater using stock clocks, but on 800 its around 110w at the wall for 22.1.

    that 4.9w per Mh.

    what is the stock mem on the 8GB? is it still 1750? or does it start at 2000?

    Boysie
  • th00berth00ber Member Posts: 213 ✭✭
    @boysie So with the current driver the max allowed freq for the memory is 1750 ?
    Because some review speak about 1950 MHz for the max stable value, so It seems that the value can be changed, no ?
    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2016/08/04/sapphire-radeon-rx-470-nitro-oc-4gb-review/12
    (With driver 16.8.1 for the test)
  • StreetlightStreetlight Member Posts: 23
    boysie said:

    lex7 said:

    RX 470 Nitro+ OC 8 GB
    my system fail with -20%/800 1750/800 i have 16.7.3 driver
    out of the box was 24.5 MH
    now run 25.28 MH with 2050 Memory

    what power usage then? coz my 4g nitro is a huge power eater using stock clocks, but on 800 its around 110w at the wall for 22.1.

    that 4.9w per Mh.

    what is the stock mem on the 8GB? is it still 1750? or does it start at 2000?

    Boysie
    Starts at 2000 nitro 8gb. max 2100
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    so the max on the 4GB is 2100 also. so if they can sort of the driver to actually allow it to work at all on ANY thing other than stock mem then the 4GB one might come into its own.

    and the reason you cant use 800 on mem is the min 2000 will not run on 800 even on a 480.

    this is one of the advantages of the 4GB is runs a lower clock and there fore can run a lower power setting.
    how ever 22 is a bit crap

    th00ber said:

    @boysie So with the current driver the max allowed freq for the memory is 1750 ?
    Because some review speak about 1950 MHz for the max stable value, so It seems that the value can be changed, no ?
    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2016/08/04/sapphire-radeon-rx-470-nitro-oc-4gb-review/12
    (With driver 16.8.1 for the test)

    I know, seen that already you Can increase it now with the newest drive but the entire system is unusable on ANYTHING other than stock mem...it wont even boot the cards some times. they are seen by windows but not by wattman and requires total power downs to try and recover them...the amt of BSOD I have seen so far is astonishing.

    I even tried this:


    Reset to stock
    run miner...works fine..22Mh
    reboot
    alter mem to 1775
    run miner - crash/bsod/nosignal/blackscreen you name it it happens
    recovering gets fun...booting up
    card might no longer work at all, its seen by windows but no settings available for it
    power down for 30 sec
    50/50 chance the card will now work
    opening wattman will prob take a few goes with bsod and hangs/black screens etc.
    when you finally get back in to wattmann reset settings
    reboot
    stock settings finally applied and back to square one.

    I managed a few times to actualy get the miner to run with some thing other than stock mem settings. but the MH was less than 20 every time, I even once managed to get wattman open and small adjustments to mem to take but never did the mem changes result is any thing other than less perf. and eventually It will crash and you are back to the list of recovery from above...which after the 10th time and 4hours is very tiresome.

    they don't work period.

    currently the 470s are rubbish unless you want a very low power low heat 22mh setting using the 4gb card.

    so not impressed so far...

    I'm fairly sure the hardware is ok, just AMD suck at drivers with these new 400's.

    I might give um one more go ripping out 5 and doing it with just 1, less to go wrong but I really think there is little that can be done with the poor quality drivers.

    in comparison my 390s can crash loads and mining doesn't even stop on that card. the system stays up and nothing breaks they are rock solid. 400's are pitiful stability wise. AMD should be ashamed they produced such dross.

    :(
  • th00berth00ber Member Posts: 213 ✭✭
    @boysie thanks for the review. I also think that RX 470 can be a good hardware.
    I hope AMD driver will be fixed soon and allow to really enjoy the RX 470 :)
    If the card can be stabilized with ~1900MH/z, It could be a strong 24MH/s for a low budget card with < 130W

    Will wait to see how it goes and check if I sell the last 7970 I got to save energy and pick 3xRX 470 instead
  • budhziebudhzie Member Posts: 9
    @boysie and all thanks for sharing

    here is my sharing my first experience with ethereum mining

    using 3 Sapphire 470 nitro+ 8GB OC, first using 16.7.3 default @~24.7MHps, total system load 530W, then tune a little with @boysie info here and from 480 thread, -20% core clock, all vcore @800, 2050 memclock (max), vmem @900 become @~24.5MHps but total system load decrease to 330-360W, seems great start for me.

    already tried 800 but give me bsod, quick setup with 900, maybe still stable with lower vmem, but i stay 900, too lazy for search best value :tongue:

    today update to 16.8.1 beta, all setting same with 16.7.3 with +50 memclock became 2100, bumped to @~25.3MHps with same total system load 330-360W, total hashrate with 3 rx470 8GB ~75.8-76MHps, @idle system using only 50W (h81, i3-4130, 4GB ram, 120GB SSD, seasonic x660), so quick calculation 1 card each use 104W max.

    this driver is good, i don't need to put dummy plug at inactive card for open wattman, and +50 for memclock really great, hope any oc tool support for this 470 in the future.

    got this card @~USD250, while rx480 8GB ref cost @~287. great deal for me to get this card because better cooling, better build quality, include backplate, 8pin power, and nice looking card especially that glowing led thing :flushed:
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    I managed to get 1 single card to run at 2000 mem clock once with 1050 power and -20 proc.....it went up an amazing 0.4Mh ....not impressed. After that every other attempt results in the normal BSOD tread stuck in driver or totally screwed system very difficult to recover from...the drivers are pointless...the Microsoft basic drivers do a better job :)

    I'm fed up of trying with these alpha builds...will send it off away from me in a limp state as is. an expensive piss poor card which is a shame...it looks it might have been quite good on paper...how wrong we can all be.

    at least the even more stupid expensive 8GB card gives u some thing close to acceptable.

    your 104w for 25.4 Mh seems unlikely but good luck if that's what you are getting...the 470 4GB OC is doing with -20/800 1750/800 110w @ 22Mh/330MH

    But not sure you are dual mining. it would seem to suggest the mem in the 4GB is piss poor quality and letting the 4704gb down massively making it a pointless card

    time to move on and never see this card again.
  • OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
    edited August 2016
    So far have mined with 1 Gpu over night. Multiple gpus have been acting weird. To install I've had to do multiple restarts, where sometimes the MB posts and other times it doesn't. I've got 3 cards hooked up so far. One attempt with pcie set to gen2 resulted in a crash. Trying pcie on auto now and seeing how far it runs with three cards.

    IMHO the drivers aren't totally stable yet. This is running Windows 10. I might try Windows 7 if things don't go well.

    The memory used in the XFX cards is the same as that used in the Asua 380 cards I believe and another 470 brand.

    3 cars average 63 Mh/s. Not going to bother OCing till the drivers are more stable.

    Also dual bios might yield some interesting things.
  • LogicaluserLogicaluser Member Posts: 214 ✭✭
    Wow... these are some downright abysmal results.
    It's a real shame we can't do any BIOS editing on windows yet.

    I mean shit... a R9 380 can do ~24.5mh at 1000/1750mhz, these RX470 should easily match/beat that if we were able to tighten the memory timings.
  • trotoltrotol Member Posts: 102
    edited August 2016
    somebody, please, post an url with the stock bios-dump, I need to check smthg
  • LeBleuLeBleu Member Posts: 13
    You get all the fuckings GPU's, they are all sold out of stock.

    How many hashrate do you get?
  • theclamtheclam Member Posts: 75
    @trotol my 470's come tomorrow if nobody posts a link, i'll dump mine for you...
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
  • zorvalthzorvalth Member Posts: 174
    what hash and power can you get with this rom?
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
    its just the stock OC rom used on the sapphire 470 4GB OC . so 22.1
Sign In or Register to comment.