RX 470 mining

cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
edited August 2016 in Mining
«13456735

Comments

  • hasher87hasher87 Member Posts: 7
    How and where???

    Looking forward to see RX470 performance in mining!
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    perf stats would be nice...a pic of a box is not really that useful. I'm guessing some one you knew had stock delivered today and now you have some ahead of the launch tomorrow.

  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭
    someone said 24mhs in another thread (at default clocks?) idk about power consumption, but since they're cheaper than 480s i might look for 470s over 480s
  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭

    someone said 24mhs in another thread (at default clocks?) idk about power consumption, but since they're cheaper than 480s i might look for 470s over 480s

    This card can do more than that !

    TEMP MAX at 59C
  • DRGDRG Member Posts: 31
    Can't wait to see some hash rates.
  • adasebadaseb Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭
    Yours is 8GB or 4GB?
  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
  • c2n14c2n14 Member Posts: 22
    Hi, everyone!

    @cscheat
    What's the TDP of your card?
  • frogmanfrogman Member Posts: 19
    cscheat said:
    can you post a "proper" scrnshot? Like FUll screen GPU Z etc?
  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    Confirmed mining speed with RX 470

    4GB = 20MH
    8GB = 25MH
  • th00berth00ber Member Posts: 213 ✭✭
    @cscheat because of the mem clock speed ?
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    @cscheat that's only true if the 4GB card has the slower mem, if you get a 4GB card with the faster mem than it should go the same speed as the 8GB, same happened with the 480s
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    there are even some 480's starting to be listed using 8100Mhz mem and these should hash even faster..maybe up to 29?

    912-V341-003
    • Core Clock: 1120MHz
    • Boost Clock: 1316MHz
    • Memory: 8192MB 8100MHz GDDR5 <<<<<<
    • Stream Processors: 2304
    • Crossfire Ready
    • VR Ready
    • FreeSync Ready
    • 3 Years Warranty.
  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭
    @boysie shouldn't the 470 4gb mem be able to OC'd to 8gb speeds and hash at the same speed as the 8gb?
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    tbh I'm not sure until I see it, this was true on the 480s 4G but I don't think will be the case for the 6600Mhz mem

    The 7000MHz mem though I'm not sure, it looks like the max on these is 2000

    I found this review: bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2016/08/04/sapphire-radeon-rx-470-nitro-oc-4gb-review/12

    he said he had his at 1950

    but another that had the old problem of not getting above 1800 from 1750.

    I think the wattman bug is lurking around still and causing issue but no idea what the max you can get to until I crack open the boxes sitting next to me in a few hours when I get home from work.
  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭
    @boysie nice im awaiting to hear your results
  • ksukhinksukhin Member Posts: 150
    How do people get a hold of these cards? Especially before they're released?
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
    so the card is in...doing just 1 at a time....

    1st issue, installing using the CD results in Wattman only allowing up to 1800 mem from 1750

    resolved this by removing and installing the wattman from the 16.7.2 driver set and using the drive directly onto the card.

    now wattman allows up to 2100 on this card.

    the power defaults to 1000 on mem

    setting 2100 and clicking apply results in black screen....so not good...tried 1950 and seemed ok but got a black screen as soon as miner started....

    then after reboot...miner crashes as soon as mining starts...reseting gcard...reinstalling and rebooting all have no effect ...miner now always crashed...rebuilding OS :(



  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    th00ber said:

    @cscheat because of the mem clock speed ?

    boysie said:

    @cscheat that's only true if the 4GB card has the slower mem, if you get a 4GB card with the faster mem than it should go the same speed as the 8GB, same happened with the 480s

    The reason is memory speed. Max is 1800MHZ ....

    see this

    https://i.imgur.com/n4rI6Pw.png
  • TimboSliceTimboSlice Member Posts: 76 ✭✭
    boysie said:

    so the card is in...doing just 1 at a time....

    1st issue, installing using the CD results in Wattman only allowing up to 1800 mem from 1750

    resolved this by removing and installing the wattman from the 16.7.2 driver set and using the drive directly onto the card.

    now wattman allows up to 2100 on this card.

    the power defaults to 1000 on mem

    setting 2100 and clicking apply results in black screen....so not good...tried 1950 and seemed ok but got a black screen as soon as miner started....

    then after reboot...miner crashes as soon as mining starts...reseting gcard...reinstalling and rebooting all have no effect ...miner now always crashed...rebuilding OS :(



    What were you getting for stock MH/s?
  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭
    boysie said:

    so the card is in...doing just 1 at a time....

    1st issue, installing using the CD results in Wattman only allowing up to 1800 mem from 1750

    resolved this by removing and installing the wattman from the 16.7.2 driver set and using the drive directly onto the card.

    now wattman allows up to 2100 on this card.

    the power defaults to 1000 on mem

    setting 2100 and clicking apply results in black screen....so not good...tried 1950 and seemed ok but got a black screen as soon as miner started....

    then after reboot...miner crashes as soon as mining starts...reseting gcard...reinstalling and rebooting all have no effect ...miner now always crashed...rebuilding OS :(



    Ouch... but are you saying it only mined successfully (at least temporarily) with 16.7.3? I'm surprised you had to resort to reinstall OS, I would have thought reinstalling the driver or trying a new psu cable may do the trick
  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭
    cscheat said:

    th00ber said:

    @cscheat because of the mem clock speed ?

    boysie said:

    @cscheat that's only true if the 4GB card has the slower mem, if you get a 4GB card with the faster mem than it should go the same speed as the 8GB, same happened with the 480s

    The reason is memory speed. Max is 1800MHZ ....

    see this

    https://i.imgur.com/n4rI6Pw.png
    Looks like the 1800max is due to 16.7.3 driver, 16.7.2 may work
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    some toys

    boysie said:

    so the card is in...doing just 1 at a time....

    1st issue, installing using the CD results in Wattman only allowing up to 1800 mem from 1750

    resolved this by removing and installing the wattman from the 16.7.2 driver set and using the drive directly onto the card.

    now wattman allows up to 2100 on this card.

    the power defaults to 1000 on mem

    setting 2100 and clicking apply results in black screen....so not good...tried 1950 and seemed ok but got a black screen as soon as miner started....

    then after reboot...miner crashes as soon as mining starts...reseting gcard...reinstalling and rebooting all have no effect ...miner now always crashed...rebuilding OS :(



    What were you getting for stock MH/s?
    stock was 22.1Mh dual mining....cant get it to run a second time though looks like not compatible with new windows 10 version 1607 :(

    trying to work out how I can get to 1511 which is not easy unless you have the iso to make new bootable USB's
  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    any solutions??? im using 16.7.3
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    cscheat said:

    any solutions??? im using 16.7.3

    I used C:\AMD\Non-WHQL-64Bit-Radeon-Software-Crimson-16.7.2-Win10-Win8.1-Win7-July9\Packages\Apps\CN\CNext\cnext64\ccc-next64.msi to install the 16.7.2 version of wattman, its not the card drivers causing the issue its wattman.

    so remove it all download and extract 16.7.2 ...no need to try and install but it will if you have a 480 attached.

    then run C:\AMD\Non-WHQL-64Bit-Radeon-Software-Crimson-16.7.2-Win10-Win8.1-Win7-July9\Packages\Apps\CN\CNext\cnext64\ccc-next64.msi

    then use device manager to update the 470 drivers from the CD.



  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    why not just use DDU to remove the 16.7.3, then fresh install 16.7.2 ?
  • cscheatcscheat Member Posts: 147 ✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Boysie, what MH are you getting ?

    I mean your 4GB RX 470
  • lex7lex7 Member Posts: 10
    edited August 2016
    tomorrow I get the Sapphire NITRO OC RX 470 version 8GB what drivers need to install
    16.7.3 or 16.7.2 ? I'm confused
  • boysieboysie Member Posts: 585 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
    hi all, so the news is not good

    Stock is 22.0/1 on this 4GB card (Sapphire NITRO OC RX 470 4GB)

    The problem is you can not change from stock settings on MEM clock, nothing works, mem has to stay as is or you simply lose any chance of maintaining even above 20Mh

    This is the exact same issue I had with my xFx 480 4GB and it was down to drivers and a crappy wattman app

    so leaving these all at 22.1MH dual mining with 330MH SC running around 210w at the wall on a single card and system. using a evga 1200 P2 @230v using 16.7.3

    STOCK
    2 cards + sys = (dual mining @ 30 DCRI)
    435w @ plug
    44.4MH/666MH

    2cards + sys = 445W (Dual mining @ 45DCRI)
    445w @ plug
    43.7MH/984MH

    3 cards + sys = (dual mining @ 30 DCRI)
    620w @ plug
    66.6MH/999MH

    3 cards + sys = 445W (Dual mining @ 45DCRI)
    647w @ plug
    65.5MH/1474MH


    stock settings





    there is light at the end of the tunnel, by using wattman from 16.7.2 you can see you should be able to get the mem up to 2100 although again simply changing the mem to anything other than stock is pointless as it just wipes out the MH


    the old setting that used to be the only good option also now works again, where you basically set -20/800 and 1750/800.

    NOT STOCK

    2 cards + sys = (dual mining @ 30 DCRI)
    297w @ plug
    44.1MH/661MH

    2cards + sys = (Dual mining @ 45DCRI)
    310w @ plug
    40.5MH/912MH

    3 cards + sys = (dual mining @ 30 DCRI)
    355w @ plug
    66.1MH/991MH

    3 cards + sys = (Dual mining @ 45DCRI)
    365w @ plug
    60.2MH/1354MH

    5 cards + sys = (dual mining @ 30 DCRI)
    600w @ plug
    110.2MH/1652MH

    5 cards + sys = (Dual mining @ 45DCRI)
    620w @ plug
    100.2MH/2264MH

    6 cards + sys = (dual mining @ 30 DCRI)
    730w @ plug
    132.2MH/1964MH

    6 cards + sys = (Dual mining @ 45DCRI)
    745w @ plug
    120.5MH/2710MH

    EDIT: @ 6cards miner crash.....will investigate later....5 running for now.
    Fixed by adding in setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100, all others have been removed

    @adaseb

    SOLO
    using -20/800/1750/800
    5 cards + sys
    520W @ plug
    110.3MH

    TEMPS:
    SOLO
    using -20/800/1750/800
    Auto fan no changes
    65-70 (cool evening)
    FAN RPM

    DUAL
    @30DCRI
    using -20/800/1750/800
    Auto fan no changes
    75
    FAN RPM 900

    @45DCRI
    using -20/800/1750/800
    Auto fan no changes
    75
    FAN RPM 1000

    EDIT: temps held really well at 75, had different cards getting different air it seems so I have below the best and worst using the @45DCRI setting above













    at wall 135w ish inc system for 1 card.












    Post edited by boysie on
Sign In or Register to comment.